We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for couples”
Review of Beacon Hill Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Longhorsley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beacon Hill Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great for couples”
Reviewed August 31, 2011

I've recently returned from a fantastic and very relaxing holiday here with my partner. We stayed in the delightful wood cottage, this was a little smaller than some of the cottages but this wasn't an issue at all - cosy, warm and well equipped. The on-site facilities are numerous and high quality (tennis court, swimming room, spa, game room, and lots of private lovely countryside. The owner is very friendly and runs an extremely professional service, and lots of optional extras (such as advance ordering of lovely home-cooked meals, and grocery shopping) add to the pleasure of staying here. There's lots to do in the nearby vicinity and Newcastle is nearby for those who want a dose of city life. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 77K_Evans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
371
105
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Beacon Hill Farm is a wonderful holiday destination for families with everything you could want to help make the holiday good for parents as well as children of different ages. There is a play barn, tractors to play on, the swimming pool, the list goes on. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ingazco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

These cottages are excellent. Set miles away from the main roads they are quiet and undisturbed, to the point that we never locked our door during the week we stayed. The facilities are top notch. We stayed in Kestrel cottage which is large, has three bedrooms, three bathrooms, televisions, i-pod docks, sky tv, dvd player and a big kitchen with everything you could want.

The leisure facilities are all superb. You can tell that the owners work on the principle that if it's worth doing it's worth doing well. We used the swimming pool every day, and there is a steam room, sauna, laconium, really well appointed gym, rooms to relax and beauty treatments on offer if you want them. There is a tennis court, football pitch, trampoline, games room (pool, air hockey, table football) and a play barn for the youngsters. Everything is well appointed and in first class condition.

The owner, Alun, and other staff are all really helpful. If you ask they tell you the best routes to places to avoid traffic jams, where the best places to eat are, and where the best attractions in Northumberland are. The land for miles around is also owned, so you can go for walks, have campfires in the woods, and overall have a great holiday.

If we come back to Northumberland we'd certainly come back here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TonyfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pakistan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Its often hard to find a holiday which has the perfect range of activities for both adults and childrens alike... but this is THE place for everyone! It is simply perfect!
We stayed at Kestrel Cottage... a group of 6 adults and 2 children (ages 6 & 8 yrs old). Outstanding 5 star accomadation, clean, modern and spacious. The kitchen had everything anyone could need during their stay, and a lot more! The tv lounge had a huge range of books to curl up and read in front of the amazing log wood fire (which the owner Alun showed us how to light and we ended up using it every day!!!). The ipod docks were appreciated after a long day out (also ipod dock and tv in the gym!), and the DVD player was great for the kids, as well as the huge range of cartoon channels on satellite.
We did a barbecue daily on our own private terrace which was great fun... and there was also the option to do a 'campfire' down in the woods... but the weather did not permit that and we missed that!
The facilities were brilliant -- we often got exclusive use of the swimming pool, jacuzzi, laconium, and gym! This was due to Aluns helpful hint in the welcome letter (which contained loads of great tips ranging from eating places, places to visit localy and tips on facilities in the farm) which ensured that we used the swimming pool at 'off-peak' times. The tennis courts were also free whenever we wanted them... and the kids loved spending time on the football pitch and trampoline, the outdoor playing area with the slides, the tractors, the indoor playing barn, and also air hockey and table tennis in the games room!! They even had a go in the cricket nets. Only the croquet lawn was left out!! :)
It was lovely watching the kids play tennis while reading a book lying on the sunbed / lounger in the reading room (conservatory) next to the pool, from where there is a complete view of the court. There was also a breakfast room which also overlooked the tennis courts but did not manage to try that!
Tea and coffee facilities were everywhere... in all the buildings (swimming pool, gym, breakfast room) .. and that was a lovely touch!
The Harry Potter Trail in the woods was great fun for all ages... although unfortunately we didnt finish it as it started pouring down with rain and we didnt have any boots to wear!
The spa should also be tried. I had a facial done... and the prices are vey reasonable and the spa very relaxing.
We had planned to visit a number of local attractions... but couldnt drag ourselves away from the farm. There was just too much to do there... it was the perfect mix of leisure and activities and relaxing.
Would definitely love to go again... and recommend it wholeheartedly to everyone!!
Just an added word for those who it might be useful too... Kestrel is perfect even for the disabled.. has all the facilities required.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PakRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeeen
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Just spent one week in Kestrel. Agree with everything said in other review dated 11 July 2011. I believe that all the cottages are of a similarly high quality, but with differences in layout - so see which one suits you best. Kestrel is single level, quite large, wide hallway, large dining kitchen, 3 large bedrooms, 2 with ensuites and 1 large shower/bathroom, large square lounge. Cottage was very well furnished/equipped; comfortable, clean and relaxing.

We were only here for a week and found the on-site leisure facilities great. We have two girls 4 and 8 who used the pool every day. For the adults (in the spa) there's also a jacuzzi, treatment room, gym, steam room and sauna and a relaxing area for adults.

There's a ton of things to do in the area no matter your preferences, would highly recommend both the area and this particular establishment.

We travelled from the North of Scotland on a personal recommendation from a friend and have been delighted.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zingy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Just back from a wonderful week with the family. Beacon Hill Farm is a beautiful beautiful place and the location is out of this world.

Our kids are aged 6 and 8 and they had a free run of the whole area - they loved it. We used the swimming pool and spa on average 4 times a day - really lovely facilities.

We stayed in Beech Cottage - a lovely upside-down style cottage with the living accommodation upstairs and bedrooms downstairs to make the most of the amazing views over Northumberland. The cottage was lovely, clean, spacious and very well equipped.

On arrival at the cottage we were met by owner Alun who gave us all a tour of the farm on his golf buggy - a highlight for the kids!

Northumberland is such a beautiful area and Beacon Hill is well-located for visiting all areas. Meg's Lake is a lovely little walk close by too. We booked a day's fly fishing instruction on Meg's Lake. Thoroughly recommend this - you'll get Gary's details from Alun.

Maybe the highlight of the holiday was the Harry Potter trail in Beacon Hill's 40-acre wood. The objective is to find all 20 Harry Potter characters within the wood and note down their unique numbers. The kids totally loved this - we found all 20 and the kids received a prize from Alun.

A throroughly enjoyable and relaxing holiday - and the weather was very good to us too. We'll definitely be returning to Beacon Hill Farm - thanks for a great holiday Alun!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fraser34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDINBURGH
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

We have just returned from our first visit to Beaconhill and have already booked our next holiday there.

We stayed in Elm cottage, which has the most breathtaking views and we were lucky enough to witness the spectacular sunsets.

The cottage itself is beautiful (oh those beautiful duck cushions ...) fully equipped and immaculate. The finishing touches like fresh flowers, a pint of milk and cake made us feel really special and welcome.

The pool and spa are first class - that laconium really takes some beating - and it's easy to find a quiet time when you end up with the whole place to yourself. Likewise, the beauty salon is the perfect place to be pampered; the one hour facial was so relaxing I fell asleep.

We loved roaming around the woods - we didn't get around to sizzling sausages but we will next time. The football pitch was great for letting off steam, as were the trampoline and tractors.

There is so much to enjoy at Beaconhill, we ran out of time to do everything. We can't wait to return (280 days to go) and enjoy Alun's wonderful hospitality again.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsCMrCthelittleCs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longhorsley
3.1 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
5.1 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
365 reviews
20.3 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Premier Inn Ashington Hotel
14.4 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,509 reviews
19.9 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Hill Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Hill Farm

Property: Beacon Hill Farm
Address: Beacon Hill Farm Beacon Hill, Longhorsley, Morpeth NE65 8QW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Morpeth > Longhorsley
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Longhorsley
Hotel Class:4 star — Beacon Hill Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beacon Hill Farm has 15 4 & 5 star Gold Award cottages set in 20 acres of gardens in the centre of a 360 acre estate near the Northumbrian coast. We also have 3 luxury Shepherds Huts sleeping two. We have a fabulous Spa easily accessed with a short walk through the gardens from all the cottages. Morpeth the nearby market town has a wide range of restaurants and pubs. Beacon Hill is a wonderful place from which to discover the beauties that Northumberland offers from the heritage coast to Alnwick Garden. We are ideally positioned to visit the many National Trust properties in the area. PLEASE NOTE:- The cottages are let for 7 nights minimum from April til October. The Hideaways are available for short breaks all the year round. WE DO NOT ACCEPT PETS. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beacon Hill Farm Longhorsley, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing