We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinarily good holiday cottages in a beautiful part of England”
Review of Beacon Hill Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Longhorsley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beacon Hill Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Just spent one week in Kestrel. Agree with everything said in other review dated 11 July 2011. I believe that all the cottages are of a similarly high quality, but with differences in layout - so see which one suits you best. Kestrel is single level, quite large, wide hallway, large dining kitchen, 3 large bedrooms, 2 with ensuites and 1 large shower/bathroom, large square lounge. Cottage was very well furnished/equipped; comfortable, clean and relaxing.

We were only here for a week and found the on-site leisure facilities great. We have two girls 4 and 8 who used the pool every day. For the adults (in the spa) there's also a jacuzzi, treatment room, gym, steam room and sauna and a relaxing area for adults.

There's a ton of things to do in the area no matter your preferences, would highly recommend both the area and this particular establishment.

We travelled from the North of Scotland on a personal recommendation from a friend and have been delighted.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zingy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (588)
There are newer reviews for Beacon Hill Farm
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

551 - 557 of 588 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2011

Just back from a wonderful week with the family. Beacon Hill Farm is a beautiful beautiful place and the location is out of this world.

Our kids are aged 6 and 8 and they had a free run of the whole area - they loved it. We used the swimming pool and spa on average 4 times a day - really lovely facilities.

We stayed in Beech Cottage - a lovely upside-down style cottage with the living accommodation upstairs and bedrooms downstairs to make the most of the amazing views over Northumberland. The cottage was lovely, clean, spacious and very well equipped.

On arrival at the cottage we were met by owner Alun who gave us all a tour of the farm on his golf buggy - a highlight for the kids!

Northumberland is such a beautiful area and Beacon Hill is well-located for visiting all areas. Meg's Lake is a lovely little walk close by too. We booked a day's fly fishing instruction on Meg's Lake. Thoroughly recommend this - you'll get Gary's details from Alun.

Maybe the highlight of the holiday was the Harry Potter trail in Beacon Hill's 40-acre wood. The objective is to find all 20 Harry Potter characters within the wood and note down their unique numbers. The kids totally loved this - we found all 20 and the kids received a prize from Alun.

A throroughly enjoyable and relaxing holiday - and the weather was very good to us too. We'll definitely be returning to Beacon Hill Farm - thanks for a great holiday Alun!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fraser34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2011

We have just returned from our first visit to Beaconhill and have already booked our next holiday there.

We stayed in Elm cottage, which has the most breathtaking views and we were lucky enough to witness the spectacular sunsets.

The cottage itself is beautiful (oh those beautiful duck cushions ...) fully equipped and immaculate. The finishing touches like fresh flowers, a pint of milk and cake made us feel really special and welcome.

The pool and spa are first class - that laconium really takes some beating - and it's easy to find a quiet time when you end up with the whole place to yourself. Likewise, the beauty salon is the perfect place to be pampered; the one hour facial was so relaxing I fell asleep.

We loved roaming around the woods - we didn't get around to sizzling sausages but we will next time. The football pitch was great for letting off steam, as were the trampoline and tractors.

There is so much to enjoy at Beaconhill, we ran out of time to do everything. We can't wait to return (280 days to go) and enjoy Alun's wonderful hospitality again.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrsCMrCthelittleCs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

What a brilliant find, Beacon Hill cottages are even better than described on website. We have had a wonderful week in Northumbria, plenty of exploring of the local area. The facilities as Beacon Hill are second to none, the Harry Potter trail and sausage sizzle in the private wood are not to be missed and will keep you entertained for hours without going off site. The Spa is very relaxing and the gym a great way to work off that extra piece of cake. Alun(the owner) and Tony (the handyman) have thought of everything to make your stay unforgetable. Cant wait to return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sgamble64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

We've been holidaying at Beacon Hill now for about 10 years. Each year we find there's more to do as the children get older. (Three boys, 10, 8, and 4).
Have just returned from another blissful trip there. Highlights this time were camp fires in the woods (x2), football, swimming, games room (love the new air hockey game!), Rothbury Town fair, Embleton Bay.
Am already looking forward to next year's trip there.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank West_London_family43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

We spent a week at Beacon Hill cottages as we headed to the North East to see Take That and thought we'd make a week of it. We found the cottage (Wood cottage) to be well equiped and very ccomfortable beds! The pool and spa are also well kept and maintained but Alan (the owner) is right that it is well used between 4 and 6pm! It was half term week so alot of children, but I don't get a choice of when I go away as a teacher, but the children were all very well behaved and polite and didn't bother us at all.

We would recommend these cottages!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ljog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

This was our 2nd stay at Beacon Hill Farm and our first stay in Quarry House. It had everything you could possible want and the whole family aged from 2 - 45 found plenty to do and had lots of fun together.
This will certainly be a annual event where we enjoy time together in such a peaceful, attractive venue.
Our grandson found the indoor playground and the sit and ride tractors a huge attraction.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dawn186394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longhorsley
20.3 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,266 reviews
3.1 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
19.9 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
384 reviews
14.4 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,535 reviews
12.7 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#3 of 5 in Alnwick
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Hill Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Hill Farm

Address: Beacon Hill Farm Beacon Hill, Longhorsley, Morpeth NE65 8QW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Morpeth > Longhorsley
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Longhorsley
Hotel Class:4 star — Beacon Hill Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beacon Hill Farm has 15 4 & 5 star Gold Award cottages set in 20 acres of gardens in the centre of a 360 acre estate near the Northumbrian coast. We also have 3 luxury Shepherds Huts sleeping two. We have a fabulous Spa easily accessed with a short walk through the gardens from all the cottages. Morpeth the nearby market town has a wide range of restaurants and pubs. Beacon Hill is a wonderful place from which to discover the beauties that Northumberland offers from the heritage coast to Alnwick Garden. We are ideally positioned to visit the many National Trust properties in the area. PLEASE NOTE:- The cottages are let for 7 nights minimum from April til October. The Hideaways are available for short breaks all the year round. WE DO NOT ACCEPT PETS. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beacon Hill Farm Longhorsley, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing