We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shoulder of Mutton”
Review of Shoulder of Mutton

Shoulder of Mutton
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shoulder of Mutton
Ranked #2 of 2 Longhorsley B&B and Inns
Geordiland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Shoulder of Mutton”
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Made to feel welcome the second we arrived and were allowed to check into our room early. Room lovely and clean and beds confortable. Ensuite toilet and shower very clean. Staff couldn't do enough for us and the breakfast was gorgeous. Lovely to have butter portions served with the toast instead of toast soaked in margarine when served. Refills of tea and coffee throughout the breakfast. Nice beer garden at the back of the pub. Would definately stay again
Thank you

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cazjack2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    15
    9
    5
    4
See reviews for
23
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Called in on a whim for Sunday lunch (08/01/12). They serve it from 12 - 6, but you need to book if you want to be in the restaurant. We found a table in the bar near the roaring open fire. The barman was lovely, a really pleasant young lad who clearly suits working in hospitality and made us feel incredibly welcome. Unfortunately the chef who carved our meat was the exact opposite!! The beef was good, as were the veg and gravy; the only thing that let the meal down was the yorkshire pudding as they were definitely not homemade. My husband had the Dutch Apple Crumble to follow, which was flavoursome, but not crumbly enough for his liking. We would both, however, recommend the coffee.
We are happy to recommend the Shoulder of Mutton and are keen to return to test their non-Sunday meals out.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KPrice69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 20, 2011

carvery was cold even though it was only 1 oclock on a sunday some other diners also commented on this a good day spoiled by cold food

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bill b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

very good menu for a week day great selection,we had drink in the bar prior to our meal and went through to our table we all had the daily roast turkey in this case moist turkey and good selection of 3veg all good.only a small choice of sweets as we were late for lunch 1430 by this time so we had rubarb crumble and custard and some had the poached pears superb.
could not fault staff or the service both in the bar or the restaurant would recomend it to anyone great value for money to.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kennyd3650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

went for the cavery 14/8/11.... meet nice, veg nice and fresh, yorkshire puddings (Ant Bessies) wot a let down!!!
wated ages for table to be cleared after eating... then went to the bar to order a sweet, was blanked by the owner/manager.....she kept on looking over but still made small take with a regualor. When she did come over see give us the bill!!! hmm icame to order dessert!!! when dessert was served i was told "In future we should only go to the CAVERY once for veg... when questioned that it was a covery, she informed me that its a cavery not a buffet!!! ( must then the TOBY they dont do a cavery but a buffet!!!) then we were chased after in the car park as they forgot to charge for the 1 dessert....A note to the good customer service costs nowt!

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank toonie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2011

staff very helpful arranged for our room to be ready earlyer than check in. staff advised us on local taxi company to use. room was lovely and clean and exactly how it was advertised on their site. beds very comfortable . the bathroom and toilet where across the landing both very clean and practical. the breakfast was served between 8 and 9 which Was really good . I would recommend this place to any one very good value for money and will stay there again my self.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fabnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorkshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Travelling north just off the A1 all we really wanted was a plate of sandwiches and a pint. What we eventually got was an excellent Sunday carvery in pleasant surroundings, served by a helpful waitress and chef.
We had often passed The Shoulder of Mutton in Longhorsley and seen their sign but until last weekend had never called in.
Their restaurant was still full of diners even though this was mid afternoon and whilst we were eating even more came in presumably for an early evening meal. They serve until 6pm.
The carvery is split into 3 tariffs. A small plate which my wife chose had a choice from two of the roasts, beef, turkey or ham. The regular is a larger portion from two of the three and for an extra pound you can have all three. What made this meal more memorable was the vegetables. They were actually crisp and edible and not the mushy mess that is characterised by one leading pub carvery chain. The gravy also tasted as if it once had an association with the meat and greatly added to the flavour.
Sadly the carvery is just a Sunday event and so we will have to wait and plan for the next opportunity to sample their culinary delights.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank journeyman064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longhorsley
1.1 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
3.7 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
357 reviews
9.0 mi away
Premier Inn Ashington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Northumberland Arms
The Northumberland Arms
#3 of 29 in Morpeth
178 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Beresford Arms
The Beresford Arms
#1 of 1 in Whalton
147 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Dyke Neuk Inn
The Dyke Neuk Inn
#23 of 29 in Morpeth
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoulder of Mutton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoulder of Mutton

Property: Shoulder of Mutton
Address: East Road, Longhorsley, Morpeth NE65 8SY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Morpeth > Longhorsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Longhorsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shoulder of Mutton 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Shoulder of Mutton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoulder Of Mutton Longhorsley, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing