We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”
Review of Barnacre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barnacre
Ranked #1 of 1 Longhirst B&B and Inns
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed July 31, 2010

Just returned from a week self catering in Barnacre and loved it. Great location in a quiet village which has a half hourly bus service to Newcastle/Alnwick and is only a few minutes drive to Morpeth. Druridge Bay with its beautiful unspoilt beaches is a short drive away and a little further afield are Cragside, Bamburgh and Alnwick to name but a few other places worthy of a visit.
Linda and Jenny had done a great job of cleaning the vast accommodation prior to our arrival. The accommodation is great for large groups, with 5 bedrooms, 2 lounges with Sky TV/Video/DVD, large dining room (with a table large enough for ten of us to sit around), kitchen with everything you could need, laundry room, ensuite bath/shower room, additional shower room, another bath/shower room and a chill out conservatory area opening onto a courtyard with a water feature. Oh and I musnt forget - the secret room, which has a pool table in it. The floor plan divides the living area from the sleeping area, which ensures those going to bed early/getting up late arent disturbed by those who are up.
We took the pedestrian route to Longhirst Hall which is only across the road and accessible with a pushchair. The grounds are well worth a visit (disappointingly we didnt see any red squirrels) and if its the right season you might have the opportunity to watch a game of cricket on one of the two pitches. The newly opened Collingwood Bar in the hotel offers reasonably priced bar meals, with a daily special which includes a pint/wine/soft drink for £9.95. The hotel now offers a Spa, but as expected, the prices are high.
We had a dog with us and unlike a previous reviewer we didnt experience any problems with the owners dog, which was friendly. Wifi is provided and there is a landline (with honesty box) for those unable to get a reception on their mobile. Hope to return again soon!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0sie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    5
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2010

Barnacre is located in longhirst village, a short drive from Morpeth centre. It is very close to longhirst hall. We opted for the B&B - family interconnecting room. Rooms are massive and immaculately clean. Room had TV with standard channels, tea/coffee facilities, dryer, fresh towels etc. and it was cleaned everyday without fail.

It is always cold in northumberland and rooms being massive, it takes a while to heat up. Breakfast was between 8-9 with cereals, juice, veggie/meat sausages, toast, eggs, beans etc. We found it satisfying. There's a large lawn outside with chickens roaming freely and a dog. If you fancy a bit of exercise, there's table tennis(balls and racquets) in the garage. Sky TV is in the lounge which was very cosy. The pace wasn't that busy when we went - so we sort of enjoyed the lounge area which had videos, dvds, games - plenty to do there.

Linda is a wonderful host and she manages the huge place quite well. The only thing probably barnacre suffers from is its location - a drive from centre. You won't find any restaurants outside - more like a residential area. But Morpeth is only 5-10 min drive and there are plenty of restaurants. We tried the Indian restaurants - don't go to Saffron as the service is pretty bad. Tandoor Mahal was great. Plenty of bars there as well if you fancy.

I would recommend if you are going with family or families or with mum/dad. You could easily drive to Alnwick and see castle/gardens or drive to beautiful bamburgh castle with lovely sandy beach or even go to holy island (careful about tide times). Barnacre is great as a base.

If I'm nitpicking then I would say the shower cubicle could be a little bigger and the place could do with wifi and computer. Maybe open a restaurant and a bar - it would do well as the longhirst hall is tasteless. A few staff could make it livelier.


I would still give it four stars as we had a jolly good time.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prash123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2010

Is this the same Barncre B&B me and my partner stayed at for a nice relaxing weekend in an idyllic village with a lovely host and a very laid back and relaxing feel. We came up in December to get away from the rush of Christmas shoppers for a 2 night stay, the place was very nice. The dog the comment before alludes to was so gentle and caring, all it wanted to do was play. Me and my partner found loads to do just to un-wind, the beach is only at a stretch 3 miles down the road and the amount of places to visit and walk around on the door step is staggering. All in all, we have booked to go back.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobGemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2009

I had a two night stay at Barnacre in Morpeth in Sept. Room itself was lovely and the hearty breakfast was excellent.

Watch out for the dog though - there is a large alsation dog at the B&B. As I was leaving the alsation made on unprovoked attack on my dog, knocking me over and biting my dog; according to the owner this has happened before. I'd check they have it under control before booking.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveler0161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longhirst
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Ashington Hotel
6.4 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
5.5 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth...
#23 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
2.6 mi away
Morpeth Court Luxury Serviced Apartments
2.5 mi away
Stepping Stones Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnacre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnacre

Property: Barnacre
Address: Longhirst Village, Longhirst NE61 3LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Longhirst
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Longhirst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barnacre offers B&B or self catering accommodation. The adjoining Granary is also available for B&B or self catering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Barnacre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnacre Longhirst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing