We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful pub. Fantastic food.”
Review of The Coach Inn

The Coach Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Lesbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $23
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A quintessential, picturesque English pub with an award winning flower arrangement featured around the grounds, large beer gardens to the front and rear serving a light bites, British Classics and refined al a carte menus to suit all tastes.
Reviewed September 12, 2018 via mobile

Noticed this place on way way for a day trip to nearby Howick. An old stone building with plenty of character and lots of eye-catching colour by way of flowers and planters. Also a nice external area with sturdy straw parasols at the tables. Found it impossible to resist on the way home and so called in for a late Sunday lunch. We were very warmly greeted by a friendly gentleman. There were about 5 choices on the board. Not too expensive at £10.95 each. Two of us opted for beef, and one went for pork. The meals arrived in good time, with the veg being presented on a single communal plate. The whole meal was beautiful, but special mention for the succulent quality of all the meats which literally melted in your mouth. Would fully recommend and will return if I'm ever back in the area.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank 35stephenf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (420)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 420 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2018

Nice village pub with friendly staff and fellow customers and just 250 yds from our holiday home. Only downside,it does not stock my favourite tipple("Wood's" rum).

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank deepsKidsgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2018

Had a good meal at this pub. tasty home made food, quite location in a country village.
Nicely kept outside. The only negative comment is that there are signs of dampness on the inside walls next to the door to the kitchen.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2018 via mobile

Stopped off for a drink with the family. We didn't eat but very nice little spot. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank DarrenO312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2018

We were staying in a cottage at Bilton, Alnmouth when we spotted this beautiful little pub as we were driving by and it was just a couple of minutes away from where we were staying. We went along for dinner that evening with our two lively cocker spaniels. If you've ever tried eating out with dogs in tow, you'll know it can be a bit of a mixed bag in terms of reception. Happily, the Coach Inn staff were very welcoming and bringing the dogs in wasn't a problem, in fact they were positively welcomed, the pub owners had a dog in the bar themselves. Although the dinner menu was fairly small the food was fabulous. I had a fresh Lasagne al forno, which was delayed by a few seconds because it looked so good on the new serving dishes that the chef wanted to take a photograph to put on Facebook. It tasted every bit as good as it looked. We asked if we could order some sausages for the dogs and the staff were more than happy to bring those (the dogs scoffed them down in no time). All-in-all, a really enjoyable visit, so much so that we went back again on the last night of our stay and had the same lovely reception and meal (this time freshly baked steak and ale pie - fabulous). A really welcoming pub, well worth a visit.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank AndyLaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coach Inn also viewed

 
Morpeth, Northumberland
 
Alnwick, Northumberland
Alnmouth, Alnwick
 

Been to The Coach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing