We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful stay in a lovely house on Holy Island”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Links View

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dining room / kitchen Dining table (seating 8)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
28 reviews
Dining room / kitchen
Dining table (seating 8)
Tiles with details of St Cuthbert's story
Living room
Toyboxes
Hallway and stairs to first floor
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Family bathroom
Library
Stairs to second floor
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 4
Patio garden
The Castle
Sandham Bay
Across the sandflats to mainland, view of Cheviot and Hedgehope
View to the Farne Islands and Bamburgh Castle from the Heugh
St Cuthbert's Island with mainland beyond
Phil the grey seal
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Holy Island, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Bev S
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in a lovely house on Holy Island”
Reviewed April 12, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Links view is the ideal property for any large family or friends wanting to stay on the island. There was 11 of us, including 4 children under 6, amd we were easily all accommodated in this 3 storey house.
What was a nice touch was the fact there was toys, DVDs, books and games there, plenty to keep the children and adults occupied if it rained!
We found the property had plenty of room for us all, was really well equipped, and once outside the property you were literally 2 minutes to the beach and 5 minutes to the castle!
Booking it was made easy by Rachel, who answered any queries I had about the property and making payment.
Thanks again for a wonderful weekend!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view of the castle from the road outside the property, and.privacy of patio areas
Liked least: Having to leave the island!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 13, 2016
So glad that you all enjoyed your stay. We love staying there ourselves with 3 generations of our family together, so good to hear that Links View works for your family too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friederik...
2 reviews
“We will come again...”
Reviewed April 12, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We enjoyed another visit to Links View. We have been coming to Links View for nearly ten years. We love the house- it's a home from home. The kitchen dining room is particularly cosy, and the kitchen is equipped with anything you could wish for. The house is spacious and the beds comfortable! We will come again...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 13, 2016
Thankyou! Happy that you had a lovely holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avril D
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect setting for a family holiday or get together with friends”
Reviewed April 12, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Links View is an incredibly friendly house which instantly feels like home. It is spacious and well equipped and provides the perfect setting for a family holiday or a get together with friends.
It is in a fantastic location on the tranquil Holy Island. The ideal place for discovering the many hidden delights of the island and for endless walks through countryside and beaches. The castle is a short walk away as are the delightful village shops and quaint pubs all of which are very friendly and welcoming.
As a return visitor to the house my family and i have enjoyed wonderful holidays there and plan to enjoy more in the future.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 13, 2016
We're so glad you enjoyed your Easter holiday at Links View!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph J
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A welcoming house for a family holiday”
Reviewed April 20, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We celebrated our 45th wedding anniversary by taking the family (7 of us, including grandchildren aged 7 and 3) for a long weekend. We found the house welcomingly large and comfortable, especially the lounge and the dining kitchen. The toys and books provided for visitors added to the feeling of being at home. A larger outdoor area, perhaps with garden furniture, would have been welcome, but there is so much to see and explore that the whole Island becomes your playground and there is in the very air the sense of being safe and blessed. A Holy island in spirit as well as in name!
Verdict? The children want to know when we are coming back!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 20, 2015
We're happy that you enjoyed your anniversary weekend! Now the weather is warmer, the garden furniture is coming out. Hope to see you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen U
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Coastal walks, warm and cosy house, family together...”
Reviewed March 4, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Now part of our regular meeting points, we have spent successive February, 4 generation family weekends at Links View and love the location and house. We have everything we could wish - even books to our liking! Thanks to Rachel for a very efficient service.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 7, 2015
Great to hear that all four generations enjoy the house and Island! Like our bookshelves, we want Links View to provide something for everyone :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goudric
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed February 11, 2015 for a stay in August 2013

A magical place. Have had several happy stays at Links View - it is a home from home, in a great location. The house feels like a real home. It is within walking distance of a couple of great pubs. It's a great setting to totally unwind and refresh. My boys always sleep really well when we stay here. There are great walks across the island. Lots within the house to entertain kids on rainy days. Nearby harbour to launch kayaks, Lots of fantastic beaches and picnic spots. Great cafe just over the causeway. What more could you want or need?

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 12, 2015
Thankyou for your review - delighted that you enjoy the house and feel at home!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friederik...
2 reviews
“A house full of character and warmth”
Reviewed January 26, 2015 for a stay in October 2014

We've been coming to stay regularly at Links View for nearly ten years. It's always a pleasure to stay at any time of year. The house is welcoming, spacious and well equipped with all mod cons. It's a great place to stay and unwind whether you visit with children, friends or on your own. A real haven away from all the bustle of everyday life and a great base for exploring the island.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The big family dining kitchen
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 26, 2015
Thanks for your comments - it's great to welcome back repeat visitors and know that they love Links View as much as we do!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing