We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“tranquil location with scope to entertain young...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Links View

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dining room / kitchen Dining table (seating 8)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
28 reviews
Dining room / kitchen
Dining table (seating 8)
Tiles with details of St Cuthbert's story
Living room
Toyboxes
Hallway and stairs to first floor
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Family bathroom
Library
Stairs to second floor
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 4
Patio garden
The Castle
Sandham Bay
Across the sandflats to mainland, view of Cheviot and Hedgehope
View to the Farne Islands and Bamburgh Castle from the Heugh
St Cuthbert's Island with mainland beyond
Phil the grey seal
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Holy Island, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Helen J
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“tranquil location with scope to entertain young teens”
Reviewed January 6, 2015 for a stay in November 2014

This was our second time at this property over the long weekend of bonfire night. It's the ideal location for an accessible, amenity-packed rural escape. My daughter loved the freedom she had to safely explore the village (shops) with her friends and to imagine herself cut off from the world. The adults enjoyed this even more! Bracing walks to the castle and beach and back to a fabulous family kitchen - the heart of our home away from home - OK for muddy boots after a long walk but also good for fine dining! It was a great property and location to share with friends and youngsters; all the creature comforts to avoid fights over beds, pillows, shower etc. with plenty of space to get lost and find a quiet spot.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 7, 2015
We are delighted that you enjoyed the house and Island so much, and that your daughter and her friends found plenty to entertain them too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucyMB_13
Newton, Massachusetts
1 review
“Elegant house with loads of personality on a captivating island”
Reviewed January 5, 2015 for a stay in July 2013

I absolutely love Holy Island and I absolutely love this house, which is why I've been back a couple more times with various friends and family members (who love it too).

Holy Island never gets old—unlike its relics and charms, which go back to the misnamed Dark Ages: Viking raids, monastic destruction, saintly sagas and miracles, the Lindisfarne Gospels, priory and pilgrims, and so on (you needn't be religious to get into all this).

This island is one of the rare places you can let kids romp pretty much unsupervised. They love it, and don't attempt to run away when the tide's out. Even in this small, safe space, there's lots to discover, whether along the shore (look for the little stone beach hut full of found treasures), through the village (look for great little shops selling fudge, Lindisfarne mead, and Celtic housewares), around the harbor (look for the castle, limestone kilns, birds and seals and whatnot), or in the dunes (look for the toddler we mislaid in 2011).

Links View is beautiful and extremely practical: elegantly decorated (wallpapered in William Morris), furnished, and equipped. Its layout is unusual, with two upstairs wings. Fabulous kitchen for big family meals, lovely living room, four great bedrooms, and the main bathroom looked brand new. The house was clean, with everything ready for us. The owner/manager is very responsive and accommodated our odd arrival time (she must be used to that, with the tides). I'm trying to think of a downside or problem for the sake of a "balanced" review, but actually can't come up with anything. Even the weather was surprisingly good—which isn't unusual, apparently, as Holy Island has its own little offshore microclimate. Hoping to get back in 2015 and this time will take a trip to the Farne Islands.

Btw—we didn't really lose our toddler in the dunes. We tried, but she wasn't having it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The combo of elegance and character
Liked least: One of the mattresses was a little soft... that's all i can think of.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 7, 2015
Thankyou - we are so glad that you enjoy your holidays at Links View so much, like many of our repeat visitors. And glad to hear about your toddler :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nph32
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Outstanding in many ways”
Reviewed January 5, 2015 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is a truly remarkable house. Ideally located near the centre of the village, it is a very short walk from all of the main sights of the Island. I like staying here so much that I am a regular visitor to this property. Some of the highlights for me include: the ease of booking; the spacious and well-equipped kitchen (with everything you would need for cooking, baking etc (as well as a dishwasher!)) and dining room; the interesting collection of books in the library in the upstairs hallway; and the private patio. The house is ideal for families with young children (there's a great toy collection and board games!) or groups of friends looking for a nice place to spend a holiday. There are also great amenities within a couple of minutes walk (including the village shop, coffee shop and a few pubs). The highlight of staying here has to be the amazing walks and fabulous beaches - ideal for all types whether it be an energetic hike around the island or an evening stroll around the picturesque harbour. Every time I stay in this house, I feel like I am on a proper retreat and I leave with a real sense of relaxation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spacious kitchen and dining area
Liked least: Nothing at all
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 8, 2015
So glad you had a good holiday and enjoyed entertaining in the kitchen. We have designed so that it is large enough for entertaining family gatherings and well equipped for any cook.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shaguilop
Mar del Plata, Argentina
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2017
Muchas gracias por su revisión encantadora! We are so pleased that you enjoyed Links View's charm, comfort, space and location.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing