We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Guided tour

Went to St Cuthbert’s island and the Lindisfarne castle with Mary. She was a fountain of knowledge... read more

Reviewed September 5, 2020
michaelc863
,
Cambridge, United Kingdom
via mobile
Simply stunning

Holy Island is one of the most stunning and natural places I have been to the wildlife is amazing... read more

Reviewed August 15, 2020
Ghosthunter75
,
Bedlington, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 43 reviews
  
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveler rating
40
2
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
40
2
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guided walk enjoyable walk day trip visit lindisfarne car park well worth a visit gunn pilgrims route causeway tides wildlife saints walks priory school sights
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 43 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2018

Short visit and a lot of walking and climbing but worth the effort if you appreciate architecture etc and aviw at the end of it. A lutchens masterpiece in stone.... little history of the original cacstle.... small and there are little furnishings. this visit was slightly disappointed. Great photo however from the top and this is the top being on a volcanic outcrop that dominates the area.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary G, Owner at Holy Island Hikes, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2018

You did not use my business Holy Island Hikes which offers guided walks on Holy Island. Your review would be more appropriate for Lindisfarne Castle which is run by the national trust.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2018

What a beautiful and peaceful place. Our first visit and won't be our last. From travelling on the tidal road, parking up to walking all around the island its amazing. Beautiful litl church and ruins. Nice tiny harbour. Nice coffee shops and great for dog walking. Keep an eye on the tide times due to the road being tidal.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank 67beem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2018

We walked the Pilgrim's Way across the sands at dawn with Mary. She was easy company, very well informed about the history, geography, birdlife and modern life on Lindisfarne and was cheerful, punctual and friendly. It was so much better than driving across the causeway - a memorable experience.
Thank you Mary for being such a good guide.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank 690cmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2017

My friend, Anne, and I decided to fulfil our wish of walking this path but felt we needed a guide to help us. I contacted Mary Gunn, of Holy Island Hikes who responded swiftly to my request and agreed to meet us at 3 pm on Monday 30th October.

Mary was an excellent guide, pointing out things of interest along the way, commenting on the wonderful birds and flora which grace this beautiful area. She also pointed out seals on the shoreline. explained the history of the walk and of the island and answered our many queries. She is the only guide who lives on Holy Island and her local knowledge is awesome!

If you are thinking of embarking on this beautiful walk, please consider contacting Mary who, throughout, was a lovely walking companion and helped us get the most out of this `wish list' walk. Thank you, Mary.

Date of experience: October 2017
3  Thank Glastonbury13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2017 via mobile

Loved the holy isle have an enjoyable walk round seeing some interesting culture as you go around the light house, castle (closed due to extensive repairs when we visited) Wish we had been there longer to walk more. Will definitely be back

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews