We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pilgrims Way”
Review of Holy Island Hikes

Holy Island Hikes
Reviewed June 17, 2018 via mobile

If you want to achieve something that is on many people’s bucket list, and follow in the footsteps of people who have taken this route for centuries, you will not be disappointed. A couple of key points though...follow the route marked by poles from the first lay bye on the causeway from the mainland side. Allow at least 70 to 90 mins unless you are an experienced walker. Also best to walk in bare feet across the sands. It can be slippy in places so walking sticks would help (but we managed without, although only just avoiding a couple of falls!). Always be aware of the safe tide crossing (the tidal times can vary, and refer to the causeway, not the pilgrims way, which can be 45 mins less than the causeway times). However, using common sense you can cross safely and enjoy the experience. We walked back on the road to make it a little easier and quicker, and allowing for more time using the causeway. Enjoy!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank 211milesw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary G, Owner at Holy Island Hikes, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2018

I am glad you are as enthusiastic about the pilgrims way as I am. Holy Island Hikes leads many walkers across the pilgrims way as it is our most popular walk. I would urge walkers doing the pilgrims way without a guide to seek more advice on timing as the figures you give would have water through the poles - not a good situation to be in. I allow 2 hours for the walk but I talk a lot about natural history and local history and always finish at the priory which was after all the pilgrims destination.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"worth a visit"
in 3 reviews
"day trip"
in 2 reviews
"gunn"
in 6 reviews
"pilgrims"
in 4 reviews
"shoreline"
in 2 reviews
"path"
in 4 reviews
"route"
in 3 reviews
"tides"
in 5 reviews
"highlights"
in 2 reviews
"guide"
in 6 reviews
"causeway"
in 4 reviews
"walks"
in 3 reviews
"history"
in 6 reviews
"wildlife"
in 2 reviews
"priory"
in 2 reviews
Filter

7 - 11 of 29 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2018

Short visit and a lot of walking and climbing but worth the effort if you appreciate architecture etc and aviw at the end of it. A lutchens masterpiece in stone.... little history of the original cacstle.... small and there are little furnishings. this visit was slightly disappointed. Great photo however from the top and this is the top being on a volcanic outcrop that dominates the area.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary G, Owner at Holy Island Hikes, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2018

You did not use my business Holy Island Hikes which offers guided walks on Holy Island. Your review would be more appropriate for Lindisfarne Castle which is run by the national trust.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2018

What a beautiful and peaceful place. Our first visit and won't be our last. From travelling on the tidal road, parking up to walking all around the island its amazing. Beautiful litl church and ruins. Nice tiny harbour. Nice coffee shops and great for dog walking. Keep an eye on the tide times due to the road being tidal.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank 67beem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2018

We walked the Pilgrim's Way across the sands at dawn with Mary. She was easy company, very well informed about the history, geography, birdlife and modern life on Lindisfarne and was cheerful, punctual and friendly. It was so much better than driving across the causeway - a memorable experience.
Thank you Mary for being such a good guide.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank 690cmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2017

My friend, Anne, and I decided to fulfil our wish of walking this path but felt we needed a guide to help us. I contacted Mary Gunn, of Holy Island Hikes who responded swiftly to my request and agreed to meet us at 3 pm on Monday 30th October.

Mary was an excellent guide, pointing out things of interest along the way, commenting on the wonderful birds and flora which grace this beautiful area. She also pointed out seals on the shoreline. explained the history of the walk and of the island and answered our many queries. She is the only guide who lives on Holy Island and her local knowledge is awesome!

If you are thinking of embarking on this beautiful walk, please consider contacting Mary who, throughout, was a lovely walking companion and helped us get the most out of this `wish list' walk. Thank you, Mary.

Date of experience: October 2017
3  Thank Glastonbury13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holy Island Hikes also viewed

Holy Island, Northumberland
Holy Island, Northumberland
 

Been to Holy Island Hikes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing