We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gumpy B&B owner”
Review of Belmont

Belmont
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holy Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Belmont
Ranked #9 of 9 Holy Island B&B and Inns
Edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gumpy B&B owner”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I spent a week on Holy Island in a cottage across from the B&B. We were parking our car just outside this B&B. On the last morning we packed our car and went for a walk to St Cuthbert's Island. My daughter managed to get water in her Wellington Boots. When we got back to the car she sat on the back of the car and we pulled the boots off and emptied them in the road. The owner of this B&B then stuck her head out of the window and complained as we were messing up the road outside her B&B and said that it was now a complete tip. I was flabbergasted that someone could complain about emptying water onto a road on Holy Island, espcially as it had essentially rained or snowed most of the week we had been there. I wasn't best pleased and the conversation didn't go well. I was slightly worried that maybe I was being a little unfair to someone who was stressed about getting ready for new guest in her B&B. Having read the above reviews, it seems that maybe I was not. I enjoyed my week on Holy Island and certainly recommend it as a place to stay. If the owner of this B&B typically behaves as she did with us, I would recommend finding somewhere else to stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
11 Thank KenRice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    3
    4
    11
See reviews for
4
6
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stayed at many B and B's on Holy Island and this was the worst by far. It was more a home than a B and B. Lady of the house very forthright and a bit intrusive. Breakfast although organic, was small in size, not very tasty and had obviously been cooked quite a while before the arranged time. Met her dog even before seeign it, could be smelt throughout the house. On tyhe up side, the bed was very comfortable and enjoyed a goods night sleep. However on getting ready to leave as in still packing the lady of the manor came in and stripped the beds!!!!! It felt more that we were intruding on her life and not staying at a B and B. No tea/coffee facilites either as there have been spillages in the past!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vicki R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Well maybe I Got this wrong But this B & B is a home firstly then a B & B yes it do,s have the odour of Farne the dog and yes he lives there too but the Lady( Exxxxxx) that runs this B & B as lived there all her life the room was as you would need after a days walking warm clean and comfortable the breakfast was tasty hot and well cooked all i would say if you want to stay in a city grade B & B then stay in one but this B & B is on Holy island and a credit to the island Thanks Great stay at the Belmont

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahanddavid2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
356 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 473 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Asks a bit too much money for what is delivered, but comfortable room, not ensuite but across a corridor, breakfast needs improvement, ours had been cooked long before pre-arranged time. But the lady is nice and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stugrmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

I'd booked this B&B whilst walking the St. Cuthbert's Way, and the other reviews here left me somewhat apprehensive. However, I found the place to be perfectly acceptable for the price, although I have to say that the other places I stayed at on my walk had higher standards for the same price. On Holy Island itself most other places I looked at in advance would have cost about double of what I paid here.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SwanseaTina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

This place was a nightmare, arrived in pouring rain and had to take off waterproofs outside front door before being allowed in. Lady immediately wanted full balance of payment. No tea or coffee making equipment in room. Asked for porridge for breakfast she said no, also for fruit. Told not to put wet clothes on bed. Watching TV ,she said it was too loud! Very poor breakfast, the most unfriendly B+B I have ever stayed in. Like .a penal institution! not worth £80 per room

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
16 Thank andrew d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Agree with the previous reviews. High price for very mean service, poor facilities and portion control at breakfast. We chose this as it was all we could get at the time we booked for what we were prepared to pay. We paid the same and less elsewhere for much, much better.It really is a place of last resort. It is a sad reflection on the beautiful Holy Island. We walked the Northumberland Coast Path that week and this was by far the poorest accommodation we had. Portion control at breakfast and the "boarding school head mistress" demanding the front door key before we got to the front door was an unfortunate ever lasting memory. Certainly not the type of hospitality one would expect to encourage tourists to return.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Fowlis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holy Island
0.0 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,248 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eat & Sleep Lindisfarne
0.0 mi away
The Lindisfarne Inn
The Lindisfarne Inn
#14 of 46 in Berwick upon Tweed
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmont

Property: Belmont
Address: TD15 2SD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Holy Island
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Holy Island
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Belmont Holy Island, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing