We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Belmont”
Review of Belmont

Belmont
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holy Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Belmont
Ranked #9 of 9 Holy Island B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Well maybe I Got this wrong But this B & B is a home firstly then a B & B yes it do,s have the odour of Farne the dog and yes he lives there too but the Lady( Exxxxxx) that runs this B & B as lived there all her life the room was as you would need after a days walking warm clean and comfortable the breakfast was tasty hot and well cooked all i would say if you want to stay in a city grade B & B then stay in one but this B & B is on Holy island and a credit to the island Thanks Great stay at the Belmont

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahanddavid2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 21 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2012

Asks a bit too much money for what is delivered, but comfortable room, not ensuite but across a corridor, breakfast needs improvement, ours had been cooked long before pre-arranged time. But the lady is nice and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stugrmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

I'd booked this B&B whilst walking the St. Cuthbert's Way, and the other reviews here left me somewhat apprehensive. However, I found the place to be perfectly acceptable for the price, although I have to say that the other places I stayed at on my walk had higher standards for the same price. On Holy Island itself most other places I looked at in advance would have cost about double of what I paid here.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SwanseaTina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

This place was a nightmare, arrived in pouring rain and had to take off waterproofs outside front door before being allowed in. Lady immediately wanted full balance of payment. No tea or coffee making equipment in room. Asked for porridge for breakfast she said no, also for fruit. Told not to put wet clothes on bed. Watching TV ,she said it was too loud! Very poor breakfast, the most unfriendly B+B I have ever stayed in. Like .a penal institution! not worth £80 per room

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
16  Thank andrew d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Agree with the previous reviews. High price for very mean service, poor facilities and portion control at breakfast. We chose this as it was all we could get at the time we booked for what we were prepared to pay. We paid the same and less elsewhere for much, much better.It really is a place of last resort. It is a sad reflection on the beautiful Holy Island. We walked the Northumberland Coast Path that week and this was by far the poorest accommodation we had. Portion control at breakfast and the "boarding school head mistress" demanding the front door key before we got to the front door was an unfortunate ever lasting memory. Certainly not the type of hospitality one would expect to encourage tourists to return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Fowlis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Stayed at the Belmont Holy Island. Asked for £80 cash by landlady. No tea/coffee or TV. Shared bathroom and toilet. Bad smell of dogs. Room old and out dated, and not very clean. No hand towels given just bath towel. Asked could we have breakfast at 08:15 am and was told she did not start breakfast until 08:30 am. got up in the night and left waited for the tide to go out and drove off the island. The island is fantastic but do not stay at the Belmont. AVOID AT ALL COSTS.

Room Tip: Stay at the manner Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank christiegareth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

i stayed here on the 15th of may 2011. on arrival we were shown to our rooms and promptly asked for cash payment £40 per person or £80 per a room. room had no tea/coffee or television.we had to share bathroom and toilet with other room.we asked the landlady if we could get a bus or taxi in the morning and were told they did not have that kind of service here.breakfast was very poor consisting of one sausage,two rashers of bacon and a fried tomato.we also got 4 slices of toast which when we asked for more were given 1 slice between us.we booked a taxi from the pub much to our landlady surprise. overall a very poor place to stay and would avoid at all costs

Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
11  Thank clarkmarnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Belmont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmont

Address: TD15 2SD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Holy Island
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Holy Island
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Belmont Holy Island, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing