We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holy Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Crown and Anchor
Ranked #3 of 9 Holy Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We had three of the four rooms between our family of two parents, two grandparents and three children. We stayed for three nights. The hotel is in a perfect place right next to the priory and with views over to the castle. It is a short walk to a beach where we saw seals and found some great rockpools. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the coffee and fresh milk in the room is a nice touch. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was fantastic - we ate here every evening. Staying on Holy Island when the day trippers had to leave because of the tide felt quite special. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s_gabriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    93
    25
    8
    7
See reviews for
65
163
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Our stay at this pub was nothing but perfect. The hotel is ideally situated next to all amenities and attractions. We received a warm welcome by our hosts. Our room, as was the food was perfect. I cannot fault this place. the Crown and Anchor doesn't need Trip Advisor at all. It's reputation and warm welcome does it all for them. We will definitely be back again.

Last piece of advice.... Aft dinner, walk down to the old lifeboat station and listen to the spooky whaling of the seals in their hundreds on the sandbanks... You will never experience anything like it in your life... fact!!

Room Tip: If your lucky enough to get a room available in this popular place.... Take it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunray7580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This wasn't actually our first choice of overnight stop on Lindisfarne when we were booking on the internet, but the others couldn't fit us in on the night we wanted, as it turned out we were more than satisfied with what we got. Only one of the other places was in as good a position - with a view of both the priory and the castle. Food was good, fresh and local, including oysters and locally caught lemon sole. The people running it are very pleasant and we had a large room which was clean and bright. There was one of the best drinks trays I have seen in a long while in the room well stocked with tea, coffee and hot chocolate (milk fresh from the kitchen, not those useless little pre-packed tubs), coffee percolator etc. Departure has to be by 10am which is a bit early if the tide is still in but not really a complaint since I am sure you could sit and drink coffee in the pub while you wait if you had finished exploring the rest of Lindisfarne. Parking is available just outside.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisy22008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Popped in for a meal I had fish, chips & peas my other had burger & chips. Starters we couldn't fault. Fish hot, crispy & lovely. Other half said burger was just as good. Both our chips were room temperature, and looked distinctly white although cooked. We won't be back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DivingFrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

My husband and I decided to go on a road trio for our holiday this year. We'd drive to places we were interested in and if we liked it, we'd get a room and stay over. That's what we did at Holy Island.

The Crown and Anchor is located right next to the Priory. It's a very peaceful location but right in the middle of the Island. We asked if there were any rooms available and there was 1 left. It was room 2 and although there was no en-suite, there was a private bathroom down the hall. We said we'd have it. The landlord wanted to show us the room before we committed ourselves though, an excellent practice in my view, so took us up to the room. It was bright and cosy. It also had a sea view, and a great view of the priory. We couldn't believe our luck. It cost £70 for the night.

The room was wonderful and cosy and had all the facilities you'd expect. The bathroom was fully equipped with bath and shower as well. And there was also a full breakfast included, which was excellent.

Highly recommend this place - lovely staff, lovely rooms and all very welcoming. It made Holy Island a wonderful experience for us.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saraplattsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
498 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Staying on the island for a week we visited the three watering holes. This one comes out bottom, I'm afraid. After two visits and finding the relatively small range of drinks on offer and the tetchy disposition of whomsoever it was served us we decided for the other two outlets as being more welcoming. We didn't sample the food or stay overnight so it could well be that this establishment scores well there but certainly not as a place to drop into for a relaxing drink.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OLDGIT71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed here with my 12 year old son. We both really enjoyed it, newish couple running it and i hope it works for them. Becomes very much a local when the tides in and the island is cut off. Owners and staff are really friendly, food is very good, we ate in both nights and really enjoyed it. The beer was really good and at times quite strong :-) .Would definately go back and thinking about it in October

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Covbusinessman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holy Island
7.2 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
380 reviews
13.6 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
461 reviews
4.0 mi away
Eat & Sleep Lindisfarne
4.5 mi away
The Lindisfarne Inn
The Lindisfarne Inn
#14 of 46 in Berwick upon Tweed
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown and Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown and Anchor

Property: The Crown and Anchor
Address: market place, TD15 2RX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Holy Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Holy Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Crown And Anchor Hotel Holy Island
The Crown And Anchor Holy Island, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing