We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holy Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Crown and Anchor
Ranked #3 of 9 Holy Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good.”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed here for one night after completeing the St Cuthberts Way. We had a lovely warm welcome by the lady behind the bar. Our room was clean and comfortable, and had good views of the Abbey and the harbour too. We had a 2 course evening meal which was very enjoyable and breakfast the following day was equally as good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrfox2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    93
    25
    9
    7
See reviews for
66
165
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Room was very clean and well equipped, staff very friendly and helpful. Evening meal was absolutely superb. Actually wanted to stay another night but...work called...
Breakfast was great - everything available but the choice is yours.

Room Tip: Room 1 has an excellent view all round
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SSNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We arrived late onto the Island and everywhere seemed to stop serving food at 8.00pm; however the very friendly bar-staff said they would see what they could do, and served us one of the best fish and chips that we've had for a long time. The beer is very good as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stopped off here for a well deserved pint after visiting lindisfarne castle, lovely beer garden overlooking the sea and cast,e, great friendly staff. Didn't on this occasion but have ate here before too and it was fantastic

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank mrshearer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

This is a friendly pub and really good food is served. The dining room is simple yet very adequate. Prices are fair.You get the impression that the food really is being prepared to order and is fresh.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lothian
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We decided to take a trip to the Crown & Anchor for two nights on our one workng motorbike. They folks could not have been more helpful, guiding us towards a spot we could park that wasn't suitable for cars and helped avoid having to carry luggage a great distance. They allowed us to put our luggage in the room early, as we'd arrrived before the tide cut us off.

Lunch comprised the best pub food; dinner was an amazingly good surprise. We asked if we could take the lamb bone home for the dog and by the time we left we had five lamb bones in a bag (and a fat dog a few days later).

Our room was very clean, well equipped, although the ensuite shower room was on the tiny side, clean, but given its size could have done with some hanging pegs on the back of the door.

Staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and we managed to scare the lockup barman witless as we went to and fro the beer garden to the toilet late on when they didn't realize we were still out there. Ghosties! You know who we are ;-)

The island seems to have a stitch-up policy of all accomodation costing between £95 and £105 per night. However if we were to stay there again - likely - we'd defintely stay at the Crown & Anchor. Good luck guys, we really appreciated your service and enjoyed our stay thanks to you.

Room Tip: Our room didn't have a great view, it looked onto the square, but that was quite pretty in itsel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DizzyFishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband, 10 yr old son and I spent one night here on August 23, 2012. We stayed in the family room which was very spacious with wonderful views of the harbor, the Priory and the sheep in the field right outside. Our room was clean (always my biggest gripe) with modern decor. It was colorful and bright. A working television with a variety of cable channels kept my boys happy during down time and the selection of teas/coffee allowed me to get my morning pick me up without delay. The staff was lovely and attentive. The location on the island could not have been better! Easy access to the harbor, the Priory and the castle from the front door! We were even lucky enough to get parking right outside the pub (very few spaces in the immediate area.) Sleep quality was average. The bed was a bit uncomfortable (for me) and I could feel the springs in the mattress. My husband and son slept just fine. There were also a few people hanging outside late at night after we went to bed and I could hear them loud and clear from our closed window talking and laughing. There is bench below our window so this will obviously invite guests that want to talk/smoke outside. This is really no fault of the hotel's but just thought it should be noted it's not very sound proof. Maybe the bench can be moved so not to sit directly underneath guest rooms?? Also, upon check in, the staff informed us we had a table reserved for meals which made dining in very convenient if we wanted - and we did! The food was great! Full English for breakfast - delicious! Fish and chips for lunch - fantastic! And dinner - chicken curry, pasta bolognese and Penne pasta dishes received no complaints from us! All was fantastic. We would absolutely, without question stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xann00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holy Island
7.2 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
380 reviews
13.6 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
461 reviews
4.0 mi away
Eat & Sleep Lindisfarne
4.5 mi away
The Lindisfarne Inn
The Lindisfarne Inn
#14 of 46 in Berwick upon Tweed
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown and Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown and Anchor

Property: The Crown and Anchor
Address: market place, TD15 2RX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Holy Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Holy Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Crown And Anchor Hotel Holy Island
The Crown And Anchor Holy Island, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing