We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ship Inn
Nearby Hotels
$168
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria Hotel(Bamburgh)
$205
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Purdy Lodge(Belford)
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queens Head Hotel(Berwick upon Tweed)
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed(Berwick upon Tweed)(Great Value!)
$77
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$209
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$127
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Newton Hall(Newton by the Sea)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
271 results
Traveler rating
142
80
24
17
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
142
80
24
17
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubreal alejacket potatofish and chipssteak and ale pieevening meallocal seafoodbeautiful islandgood sizecrabowners and staffhome cookedperfect staystayed for nightslasagnalog firewarm welcome
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
165 - 170 of 271 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Food in restaurant disappointing. Payed £9.95 for bangers & mash. Bangers had one side uncuttable & unchewable. Disgusting texture of mash proved to be dried potato. Would not dream of eating there again. Hight ratings for this restaurant not deserved. Mens toilet facilities disgusting.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Can't compare our stay here with previous comments on trip advisor, the staff couldn't have been more helpful if they had cut up our food for us. It is a typical small island pub with rooms accommodation, not a city centre boutique hotel. The staff did explain what time the lunch and dinner times were and whilst there were a bit prescriptive for us townies, "that's when we eat on the island". food menu was small but hot and plentiful We loved the quaint customs and mixing with the locals who were very accommodating. Our bedroom was again a typical pub bedroom, not corporate just homely BUT the bed was fabulous like sleeping on a giant marshmallow, toilet was a little noisy but did not distract from sleeping with curtains open to see more stars than I have seen in a life time. Happy to return anytime.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Debveiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I was really surprised and shocked to read a review posted on September 1st as it couldn’t be further from the truth!

I have visited and stayed in the Ship Inn on numerous occasions and sampled the genuine fantastic hospitality offered by the owners and staff.

All the rooms are exceptionally clean and welcoming offering high quality beds, linen, comfy pillows and lovely big soft white towels. There is a complimentary tray containing a selection of teas, coffees, milk and biscuits and the bathrooms are always well stocked with toiletries.

The food is cooked beautifully and of a high quality and standard served in a cosy restaurant adjacent to the bar, which offers a wide selection of beers wines, and spirits and is reasonably priced. What more could you ask for?!
Coincidentally my most recent visit was on Sunday September 1st for a one night stay – the day the negative review was posted.

We were welcomed on arrival and asked if we needed any help getting our bags out of the car. Our room was delightful (Room 1) clean, cosy and inviting and as usual with everything we needed.

We booked in for dinner in the evening, were personally greeted, showed to our table and looked after throughout the meal, which by the way was outstanding. I tucked into the large portion of haddock and chips but couldn’t resist a taste of the mouth watering lamb shank.

After a couple of drinks ,some good company and a deep restful sleep the following morning a first class chef cooked a plentiful delicious full breakfast to order served with hot toast, lashings of tea and plenty of TLC.
The whole experience was wonderful and just what we needed to recharge our batteries.

As always, I delayed leaving, as departing this unique island is difficult but I have already planned my next visit and will head straight back to the Ship Inn.

Don't let's ask for the moon. We have the stars – all FIVE of them!

Room Tip: All 4 rooms are lovely but I like the four poster in Room 1
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine7556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed overnight in room 3 (apparently their best) the Bathroom was in need of a good clean,dust,spider webs and stained walls, plenty of towels all different shades of white, the towel rail was not cleaned, lamps out in mirror,
Nice chaise Longue in Bedroom but it was stained and feature lamp above it was out. Mattress very hard.
Full English Breakfast was over greasy and the poached egg was sloppy.
I have stayed in much better accommodation for a lot less money.
I would rate the Bedroom as 2 star 3 at best and a fair price would be £90/night not £130.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keith_powell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have just spent the most wonderful three days on Holy Island, priviledged to have shared the island with the locals when the causeway closed. The luxury we enjoyed at the Ship Inn was only matched by the hospitality and warmth shown to us by every member of staff during our stay.
I have to thank our waiter for enduring our giggles at a malapropism on ordering from the dessert menu.
We can't wait to return to experience more.

Room Tip: The island is the only fitness centre you need and there is no charge, and the swimming pool is the North sea
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews