We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel and Hosts”
Review of Lindisfarne Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holy Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lindisfarne Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Holy Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel and Hosts”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Great hosts, big, warm, very clean, well equipped room, genuinely friendly welcome, excellent breakfast, lovely relaxed atmosphere, competitive price and ideal location. 10/10 for the perfect small hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CricketJames48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    41
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
57
210
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

A very friendly and warm welcome from Sean & Jackie. Stayed in the twin room and have to say that it was very clean ( I used to work in hotels so know that the cleanliness of this hotel is excellent). Breakfast was delicious & just the thing to get you going on those lovely long walks of the Island. I'm a frequent visitor to the Island but this was my first stay in this accommodation & I would stay there again. A great experience in a fabulous place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Treena_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

A spur-of-the-moment drive to Lindisfarne..... The weather was very very nice, fortuitously caught the tide and the light across the tidal flats was beautiful, greys, silver, blue, white clouds!!!!!!
Having walked the township, decided to have a late lunch at Oswalds and can highly recommend the food. The serves were nicely proportioned and filling and beautifully prepared and cooked, very pleasant flavours. The chef was a young Australian man....good chef.
Four weeks later, I took my daughter on the drive to see Abbey etc and to have lunch here again.....she too was impressed with the quality of the food......same chef, had dessert this time, and same attention to good tasting food ...... Devonshire tea....big tick......coffee very good.
Garden very pleasant........ Can recommend highly

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank florafen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We had a fantastic stay at the Lindisfarne Hotel. A warm and friendly hotel our hosts Sean and his lovely wife Jackie were wonderful. Lovely room with great view of countryside. Room 6
big, clean with everything you need and fantastic comfortable bed you could get lost in! Nothing was to much trouble. Big well cooked breakfast to keep you going for the day.
Fabulous Island with lovely friendly people, great walks and wonderful food and drink.
Lots to see and great wild life.
We can recommend the Crown and Anchor and the Manor House for food, service and drink.
Pilgrim coffee shop and the Stables for tea and home cooking.
We were really lucky and had fantastic weather for the beginning of March.

Room Tip: We can recommend room 6. Big, comfortable with view of countryside out of one of the windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heather l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

even in the depth of a grey and windy February. The hotel itself is immaculately clean, the owners could not have been more helpful and kind. The disabled ground floor accommodation was amongst the best thought through that we have experienced: sink and toilet at the right height and easy to access; a sturdy shower chair provided for transfer from my wife's own wheelchair; appropriate mirror height; a wheelchair accessible desk etc. In addition to the en suite toilet there is a separate disabled toilet next to the Gents and Ladies on the ground floor corridor.
The bed room was spacious and the double bed very comfortable.
The dining room is functional and the breakfast was well cooked and used fresh ingredients.
The only thing we missed was a lounge area with easy chairs and a fire - but these are both available at a local pub, The Ship Inn (where the food was good and the beer first class) and at the excellent Pilgrim Coffee shop - which serves very good coffee and a range of fresh cakes and delicious scones. Both of these are no more than two minutes walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: Room 11 on the ground floor is perfect for a wheelchair user/person with limited independent mobilit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pablo393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

A return visit to Holy Island for us but this was our first stay at the Lindisfarne Hotel, we'll definitely return, the hotel was immaculately clean & the hosts were very friendly.Very warm welcome, arrived 2pm on a Saturday & our room was ready, Sean prepared us some fresh coffee and brought it up to our room, most refreshing.
We stayed in Room 3, a large spacious room with super-king bed, which was very very comfortable (melted into it when we got back from a walk around the island on a very blustery day) The shower room was adequate, great being able to warm your towel on the radiator ready for when stepping out of the shower.

Cooked to order breakfast most substantial & delicious, setting you up well for the day ahead.

Sean had told us when we arrived if we needed anything just to ask, in fact you don't have to ask, the care & attention you receive comes naturally, an example being we took a bottle of wine just incase we fancied a pre evening meal drink & without any prompt or request we came back from a day out to find the wine in an ice bucket ready chilled for us, they'd even left crystal wine glasses so we could enjoy it in style. Thank You Sean it was a lovely touch.

Room Tip: Room 3 looks out to the west so you can enjoy the sunset from the comfort of your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NorthumberlandTopCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Two nights at the hotel - on my own - and it was all I could have hoped for. Great deal, location, peace, room comfort - though tiny shower room, and great breakfast.
Shaun, the owner / host was exceptional - friendly, yet not intrusive, informative without overload, cheerful and a real character - he even put my boots to dry and brushed the mud off - and provided earl grey tea bags in my room
I hope to return - with the same beautiful blue skies...

Room Tip: Ask Sean which would suit you best - mention shower pressure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ladylex2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holy Island
7.4 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
371 reviews
11.7 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,203 reviews
13.7 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
198 reviews
10.3 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#1 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
404 reviews
4.0 mi away
Eat & Sleep Lindisfarne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindisfarne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindisfarne Hotel

Property: Lindisfarne Hotel
Address: Green Lane, TD15 2SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Holy Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Holy Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE LINDISFARNE HOTEL ON HOLY ISLAND IS RUN AS A B N B ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lindisfarne Hotel Berwick Upon Tweed
Lindisfarne Hotel Holy Island, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing