We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”
Review of Manor House Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holy Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manor House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Holy Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We visited Holy Island whilst touring Northumberland for a winter break - we checked-in for one night (pre-booked) to discover there was just one other couple staying, so we were somewhat bemused and disappointed not to have been given a better room. There must have been a nicer room available. Ours was at the back of the hotel; it was small and tired and could have done with a good vacuum. There was no view which was such a shame as the front of the hotel has beautiful views of the Priory and sea. The end of the bed had a piece of foam stapled to it as the corners were sharp. This was a very 'bodge job' and fell off, giving us a few jabs as we passed the bed. The bathroom was tiny, had no bath and was in need of updating.

We ate in the restaurant and the food was disappointing. My 'slow cooked' lamb was tough and I struggled to even cut it. The starter however was as expected and service was good.

During the night there was a wild storm making the windows and doors rattle and squeak all night, so sleep was a no go. We awoke, shattered to a power cut, which meant we couldn't have a cooked breakfast. Cereal and cold croissants were therefore the only choice. We completely understood this was unavoidable but we expected a discount to be offered upon checking out. After querying the price, we were given £5 off. It was £95 b and b a night, which we thought was very poor value for money. Overall, we wouldn't stay or eat here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mister B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    103
    46
    22
    16
See reviews for
61
212
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The Manor House Inn is a smallish white house next to the ruins of the12th c Lindisfarne Priory a stunningly beautiful place, wild and windblown, close to Lindisfarne Castle renovated by Sir Edwin landseer Lutyens and site of a lovely wild specimen garden by Gertrude Jekyl, populated by the spirits of the monks and saints who once walked here. The Venerable Saint Bede was nearby at Jarrow, Lindisfarne was founded by St. Aidan, St. Cuthbert was a monk of Lindisfarne, and later the Bishop of Northumbria, before he moved to nearby Melrose.
We had a lovely room on the upper floor with a window commanding a breathtaking view of the small bay and the castle in the distance. The pub/hotel model can mean un-remarkable lodgings and meals but this was not the case here. The room was large and comfortable with lots of light and views. My wife and I and two friends, traveling together on a month long jaunt through England, France and Spain chose this as our halfway stop on the way from Durham to Kelso and Melrose Scotland.
It was 18 August 13 and starting to get cold and windy but just right for walking and taking photographs and the brilliant sun and strong wind were captivating.
We arrived late afternoon just in time for a cup of tea in the room and then down to dinner, we had made reservations when we booked which were probably not necessary as the restaurant was not full. The food was a delight, fresh herbs local meats and vegetables light reduction sauces with fruits and herbs, just extraordinary when one is sitting overlooking a 12 century monastery ruin.
And the cost...very modest.
In short we definitely plan to go back to Lindisfarne Island and to the Manor House Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ethan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We have stayed here several times.The hotel itself is lovely in every way except one;the surly,unfriendly attitude of the landlady(and one other staff member.The restaurant waiting staff were very nice and accommodating though).Unfortunately we have experienced this on each visit.Enough is enough!There are other places to stay on Holy Island(admittedly not many though on a small island),but if a friendly welcome is important to you then don't stay here!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank birdwatcherNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Susan & I spent a wondeful 3 nights at the Manor House early December 2013. The team at the manor house where so friendly and efficent. Our superb room had a view of the harbour and onto the castle. The food was fantastic local products cooked to perfection. Throughout our stay we felt totally relaxed in a very friendly atmosphere. All this for a very reasonobale price.

Room Tip: chose a room overlooking the castle or Priory
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barrysusan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

had a wonderful evening meal here last week during one of our visits to the island. Never disappoints. staff wonderfully helpful, meals tasty and generous, atmosphere warm and welcoming. definately will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrealouise68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretna, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

After walking around the island we decided to stop off here for a snack, the food was good, the hostelry was clean and efficient, the staff were OK, only thing to say was there was a lack of atmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesCurrie51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Once again we have had lovely meals at the Manor, with the Chef going to extra trouble to make sure that our daughter's 14th birthday meal was special. We are greeted with hugs when we arrive and it is always so sociable, with a fun atmosphere, especially on Sunday lunchtimes! All the Staff are so attentive and nothing is too much trouble; we can't wait to see you all soon!

Room Tip: We didn't stay this time, but all the rooms are cosy, clean and beautifully decorated; room 3 is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4407KR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holy Island
11.6 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
7.2 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
4.0 mi away
Eat & Sleep Lindisfarne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Lindisfarne Inn
The Lindisfarne Inn
#13 of 45 in Berwick upon Tweed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
4.3 mi away
Brock Mill Farmhouse
5.5 mi away
The Sunningdale Hotel
The Sunningdale Hotel
#1 of 8 in Bamburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Hotel

Property: Manor House Hotel
Address: TD15 2RX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Holy Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Holy Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Manor Hotel Holy Island
Manor House Hotel Holy Island, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing