We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unrivalled - homely and extremely welcoming.”
Review of Tankerville Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tankerville Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Eglingham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unrivalled - homely and extremely welcoming.”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Passing through for lunch with my other half and dropped in by chance.
The relaxed, friendly and customer-orientated service - mixed with the homely atmosphere brought about by the guitar playing around the fire and general Sunday lunch chit chat - made the outing a real treat.
The actual Sunday roast was the best pub meal we have probably ever had.
This may be our new 'local' - even if it is 100 miles from home!!
The day was so pleasurable, we are now looking into staying for a weekend.

Room Tip: We didn't stay the night - we only had lunch, so cannot comment on the 'rooms' etc. That...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    20
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
26
186
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Just happened to pass this little gem when we were in the North East and stopped for lunch.Not busy,nice country pub atmosphere goog food and allowed our dogs in the bar when we ate lunch.Think the landlord was french and the place was full of pictures and furniture from France.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALD20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

On holiday with friends spoilt for choice on the menu everything was excellent from starters to finish the service was excellent with the waitresses looking after us all the way through our meal so would recommend this find .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank suenles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We found the tankerville arms by googling a place to go for food while we were saying in Alnwick . We had an amazing 3 course meal , fab food , service and location . Got to recommend the chocolate mousse and guest ales ;) . Really wished we had booked to stay the night but sadly had reserved another location .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minxycookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Always great food and ambience. A little on the pricey side, but worth it. Not a pub for miles around that can rival the charm and foody delights :) Have never stayed as we live too close now, but in the past we considered living in eglingham because its such a lovely village, and the pub was certainly one of the factors.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W0lfH0und
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monpazier, France
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We spent a very happy two nights at the end of August at this fantastic inn. George and Mary were so professional, but very friendly and welcoming. Our two labradors were petted and spoilt to their hearts' content. The food and drink were superb - especially the langoustines and scallops (catch of the day). No problems either with the restrictions of my gluten-free diet.
We were in 'The Suite' and loved the attention to detail: bunch of grapes; fluffy towels; excellent quality toiletries; fresh milk in the fridge.............all in all a truly wonderful place!

Room Tip: If taking dogs, go for The Suite - it's huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

First came here in 2009 when we were on holiday near Whittingham. Visited again a couple of years later when in the area and also again twice last week as we were on holiday again near Whittingham. Whether you eat in the restaurant or the pub, whether it's lunch time or evening the food and service are excellent. The pub obviously has a good chef and the staff are friendly, helpful and clearly well trained. The pub is also used by locals which is nice to see as they must find the atmosphere welcoming and relaxing as we did.
This is a great village pub with lovely traditional decor, great atmosphere and fab food. It was obvious from reading the write ups in the holiday cottage where we were staying that others thought the same as us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princessgyorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eglingham
5.7 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,246 reviews
7.9 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
6.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler
14.7 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
368 reviews
7.5 mi away
Alnwick Lodge
Alnwick Lodge
#21 of 68 in Alnwick
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tankerville Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tankerville Arms

Property: Tankerville Arms
Address: 15 The Village, Eglingham, Alnwick NE66 2TX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick > Eglingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Eglingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury village inn close to Alnwick Castle and Gardens. Ideal centre for walking, fishing and cycling holidays. Close to Holy Island, Bamburgh, Hadrian's Wall, Northumbria National Park and the Cheviots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Tankerville Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tankerville Arms Hotel Eglingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing