We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb place for a relaxing break”
Review of Stonecroft B&B

Stonecroft B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunstan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stonecroft B&B
Ranked #2 of 3 Dunstan B&B and Inns
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb place for a relaxing break”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We arrived at Stonecroft last Tuesday afternoon for a three night break. We were welcomed by host, Sally, with tea and lemon cake, which I must say was very tasty and most welcome after a 150 mile trip. The room which we stayed in was superb; spotlessly clean with a well-stocked hospitality tray (including Sally's homemade shortcake biscuits) and those little touches that earn it a well-deserved four star rating (mini fridge, bathrobes/slippers, toiletries, fruit, fresh flowers) and unexpected extras should you need them (binoculars, sewing kit, umbrella!!). After a comfortable night's sleep we woke up to our first breakfast and we weren't disappointed; plenty of choice with something for everyone. We opted for the Northumbrian breakfast; very tasty, cooked freshly to order and a great start to the day ahead.

For your evening meal, why not try the Cottage Inn, only a couple of minutes' walk away? Try the pork with black pudding mash - very tasty. If you don't mind a short drive, try the Joiners Arms in nearby Newton by the Sea.

All in all we had a fantastic short break. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone looking for a home from home relaxing break in this lovely part of Northumberland.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulDonny55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pontefract, West Yorkshire UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed here again this Aug 2012, our second visit. Again, everything was superb. Spotlessly clean, many thoughtful little extras, the best breakfasts, Sally's friendly yet natural hospitality. Why is Stonecroft only no 32 on Trip Advisor? Every review has been excellent.
Stonecroft is about a mile's walk to Craster, a beautifully picturesque small fishing port. Pre-book the Craster fish restauant or you won't get in- a testament as to how good it is. We failed to get a table in August, but enjoyed their take away fish and chips as we sat overlooking the harbour.
Howick Hall nearby is wonderful. You can wander for hours in the somewhat wild yet enchanting gardens.
It is such a lovely place from which to explore the area and staying with Sally makes it all the more delightful.
Best bits: Lemon cake on arrival, shortbread biscuits, local produce used in breakfasts, bottled water.....I could go on.

Room Tip: Both rooms are identical- both en-suite, comfortable and same sized
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ThisWorldisNotmyHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
84 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We have just returned home from a 7 nights stay at Stonecroft. This is an excellent b&b. It is spotlessly clean, tidy, and everything is thought of to make your stay comfortable by Sally who is the loveliest host you could have. The breakfasts are delicious with a huge variety to choose from. Sally will make you a packed lunch to take out or a flask and lemon drizzle cake - which we took with us each day (and missing it now we are home)! This is a fantastic place to 'come home to' while enjoying a holiday in Northumberland. We will be back. Thank you Sally XXXXX

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cats41Nottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astra
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

We stayed here for three nights and throughout the stay the host Sally was superb. The property was spotlessly clean, the room and the en suite were spacious. Sally had thoughtfully provided an abundance of extras, too many to list, and she was always available to provide local knowledge if requested. The breakfasts and packed lunches were ample and delicious. The property is in an ideal position for touring a magnificent part of the country.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank astra69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aviemore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Lovely B&B. I'm sure there are lots of nice B&Bs out there; what made this special was the warmth & friendliness of our host, Sally. We didn't have a car - Sally very generously offered to pick us up from Alnmouth. Sally prepares delicious breakfasts & lunches and puts a lot of thought into the little details that make a stay special. The room was beautifully presented, clean and comfortable - we slept really well. We both look forward to staying again one day. Thank you very much Sally.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
887 reviews
494 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

We stayed here two nights while visiting friends who were camping nearby at Dunstan Hill. Very warm welcome, clean and comfortable room with ensuite bathroom. Abundant toiletries in bathroom including soap, shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, hand lotion, hairspray, first aid kit, shaving set, nail polish remover, sewing kit etc. etc., a very nice touch. Room was also well equipped with coffee & tea tray (including decaf), small fridge, hairdryer, books, magazines, games, tourist info, hot water bottles, wine glasses, corkscrew, binoculars etc. Breakfast was excellent with a choice of about 8 cereals, fruit compote, grapefruit etc. Large choice of cooked breakfasts which were delicious. Free wifi was also available. Off road parking in front of the house. Price was very fair and lower than similar accommodations in the area so definitely great value. There was one restaurant a few doors away and several others within a mile or two.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WeeLuv2Travel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2009

We first discovered Stonecroft B & B nearly 10 years ago and have been back almost every year since, sometimes more than once. Rooms are spacious and well-maintained with lots of little extras, Sally is an excellent hostess and provides a wonderful breakfast. Stonecroft is in a quiet location but close to coast and towns and is excellent value for money. Can't fault it.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stonecroft B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonecroft B&B

Property: Stonecroft B&B
Address: Dunstan, Alnwick NE66 3SZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick > Dunstan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Dunstan
Hotel Class:4 star — Stonecroft B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Stonecroft B&B Dunstan, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing