We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunday Lunch”
Review of Cottage Inn

Cottage Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Dunstan
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Alnwick
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

A plentiful roast lunch packed with flavour. Vegetables were served separately enabling you to have as much or as little as you want. Extra gravy at no extra cost wasn't an issue. Plenty of choice if a roast lunch isn't your thing. For those with a smaller appetite you can choose a lesser portion.
Sweets were very tasty too I can recommend the rhubarb cheesecake which arrives with doddingtons ice cream. We will be going back

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hilary39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    52
    13
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice food, friendly pub”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Had an evening meal when staying at the local caravan site. Dog friendly. Food came extremely quickly which is always a bit suspicious but I think we were the first to order as the quality was very good. Beer nice and very good location. Looks like they have amazing room deals for the winter.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrP_DrJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Evening meal”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

While staying in the village we ate at the Cottage Inn twice. Both nights were very good meals, with food well presented. Particularly liked the idea of 2 portion size options on many dishes. Dining room pleasant and spacious. Pub traditional English pub and dogs are welcome too (they even get a little treat!). Friendly service. Believe new owners took over about two years ago and they have improved it. Nice and clean.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Family friendly eatery in great location”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stopped off at The Cottage Inn on the way from Rennington Village to Howick Gardens. We had not booked and none of us has been here before so we did not know what to expect.
The Cottage Inn is very conveniently located and the facilities are great. You can eat inside a more traditional pub environment, you can eat in a conservatory dining area or you can eat outside on either the patio or large lawn area.
It's a family friendly, dog friendly place and the surroundings are lovely. There were loads of couples and families clearly enjoying themselves which was nice to see.
Food is served all day. One thing I'd say is, the place is set up to assume you've been there before which can be slightly confusing. You order and pay for food at the reception desk area. You need to order and pay for your drinks separately from the bar despite the two being in extremely close proximity. We ordered food from what we found out was a more lunch time menu and while we were eating the evening menus were being put out. We've have preferred to wait a short while and order off the evening menu but we will know for next time.
The service was generally good and the food was nice. It was a little pricey but this is perhaps partly down to the area the pub is located attracting tourists. The puddings were pretty expensive, all at almost £6 each but they were to die for! I recommend the strawberry and rhubarb cheesecake.
If you're looking for a good place to eat in a convenient location where you won't be hassled, then this place is definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JuleJo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Great value, child (and dog) friendly!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is a large village pub, slightly off the beaten track, but a good alternative to the pub in Craster. We were staying round the corner so used the place often during our week in Northumberland, whether for pre-dinner drinks or for food. OK selection of beers and a huge garden, with only about ten tables - plenty of room for kids to run around without spoiling it for others, but there is also plenty of space inside if you want to eat there.
And where this place really makes it is with its food - very high class pub grub. We first tried it at 2pm on a Sunday in August after an exhilarating walk to Dunstanburgh Castele, but though it was crowded we easily found a table in the garden and service was prompt and very friendly. And the meal - traditional roasts - was great and extremely good value. The menu offers large and small portions, a very sensible option My adult son and I went for large - and it was huge - about five slices of beef, Yorkshire pudding and roast potatoes covering a large plate - and then the dish of boiled and crushed potatoes arrived, along with the dish of mixed vegetables - we were glad we'd worked up an appetite! Delicious ice creams to follow, tea and a few pints and the bill, for four adults was still only around £60.
We returned later in the week for a more formal evening dinner in the dining room (not a bad wine list) and while this place is not trying for 'fine dining' the meal was far from rustic.
As Michelin says - worth the detour.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank meic_watkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cottage Inn also viewed

 
Alnwick, Northumberland
 

Been to Cottage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing