We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent local pub with good food.”
Review of The Cottage Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunstan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cottage Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Dunstan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Decent local pub with good food.”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

This was our choice for dinner on our first night in the area (the B&B we chose does not offer full board). It was a very quiet monday night in early march, so not a lot of customers and we were offered our choice of a table in the restaurant or the bar. We chose the bar as the restaurant is a large room in a newer construction in the back with a lot less atmosphere than the original bar area. We also got to join in the pub quiz which just happened to be that night.
My starter included a substance referred to as kipper custard, which I couldn't resist but it wasn't worth the anticipation - seemed like it had been frozen and the components had separated out. The rest of the food was good, though, and for the price (35 quid) would be hard to beat.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pyjamaslug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    74
    43
    18
    21
See reviews for
60
122
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2014

we stayed at the cottage in on a winter break deal - 4 nights, my husband and I & the dog - his first holiday away.
We had a lovely stay, the people were friendly, the food was good, the place was clean, lovely grounds and we had a good, quiet nights sleep. I would recommend these deals - great value for money. One small point - would have liked daily/or two day change of towels, but I'm sure if I had asked, they would have done so.
Great areas around for walks & visits. Most shops/pubs welcomed the dog too which was great.
Will definitely go again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond north yorks
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Recently stayed at this place and can honestly say have never stayed any where like it before!!No heat on in our room when we arrived on a cold February day and there after they were in consistent with the heating!!You don't go away to stay in freezing rooms!!one night after we had eaten our meal that was also of a poor standard we returned to our room and the heating had been turned off at nine thirty!!!!Not a very pleasant experience and would never stay there again!!!

Room Tip: Just make sure you mention the heating when you book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susiema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed at the Cottage Inn on a winter break deal. It is the fourth time we have stayed and we always enjoy our weekends here. The accommodation is clean and comfortable, and is in a really peaceful setting. The staff are lovely, and the food is gorgeous, huge portions and excellent quality the breakfasts are also fabulous. There are some lovely walks and its just a short walk into the beautiful little fishing village of Craster. We cant wait to go back !

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cooky_678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Thank goodness we'd only booked one night! The bath wasn't clean, the water was tepid and the loo didn't flush, so we had to move rooms. There was no hot water in the new room or bulbs in the light over the bed. The only bayonet ones in the hotel so no spare bulbs! We only had tepid showers the next morning as well. Evening meal was fine and the lady in charge was v friendly and apologetic and we weren't making any sort of fuss, anyway. When we came to pay, in the absence of the owner, she did not feel able to make a reduction but talked to a family member who said to knock £15 off. This made it the same price as other places in the area which would have had the expected facilities. Emailed the owner to express my concerns but have had no reply so posted this ... I have never put in a complaint about a hotel/inn before but feel people need to be warned!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ROSIE1234341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mills, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

I spent Christmas at the Cottage Inn. The pub was well decorated and the staff were friendly. My room was clean and perfectly adequate although I suffered with the cold when the heating decided to go off a couple of times. I was told a temperamental boiler! Food in the pub was excellent although the portions were enormous - do have the small options unless you have a large appetite. However I was very disappointed with the Christmas meal. A HUGE portion. Too much turkey on the plate, a rasher of bacon completely undercooked, soggy roast potatoes, half an apricot (?) and a Yorkshire pudding!! And then another plate of completely overcooked vegetables. Such a shame. But otherwise I would recommend the Inn ... but not for the Christmas lunch.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North east england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 17, 2013

My wife and I spent a great weekend here, Walking the fantastic beaches with simply unbelievable views. OK so the rooms could do with refreshing, but they are clean and serviced daily. The food was fantastic, the staff were so friendly, the atmosphere created by mixing with the locals was superb. dont listen to the negative reviews on here you can't please some people can you?

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thebroons_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunstan
2.1 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
4.7 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
3.3 mi away
Newton Hall
Newton Hall
#1 of 1 in Newton by the Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Fishing Boat Inn
The Fishing Boat Inn
#1 of 2 in Boulmer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
6.0 mi away
Beadnell Towers
Beadnell Towers
#2 of 8 in Beadnell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Joiners Arms
The Joiners Arms
#1 of 1 in Newton by the Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Inn

Property: The Cottage Inn
Address: | Northumberland Coast AONB, 5 The Village, Dunstan, Alnwick NE66 3SZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick > Dunstan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Dunstan
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run guest accommodation (all en-suite), traditional bar, separate restaurant & conservatory, large beer garden & car park. Set in 5 acres of woodland garden. Within walking distance of the pretty fishing village of Craster and the fantastic ruins of Dunstanburgh castle. Ideal for a relaxing short break. We offer well appointed rooms with good quality locally sourced food including lobster when available and excellent real ales. Free wifi in public areas. Dog friendly bar & accommodation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cottage Hotel Dunstan Village
The Cottage Inn Dunstan, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing