We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dog and child friendly, friendly place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cottage Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunstan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cottage Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Dunstan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Dog and child friendly, friendly place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stopped here on our way down the scenic Northumbria coastal route, went as a couple but have noted where it is for future reference, we often travel with dogs and young children and places that truly welcome both are a God-send. The playground looked epic, and liked the look of the beer garden on slightly less cold and windy days. The meal didn't blow my mind, but has hearty and comforting and liked the selection of dishes - both nice gamey and less adventurous choices. Nice friendly welcoming staff. An excellent choice, especially for families and walkers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gracie7475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    72
    40
    18
    21
See reviews for
58
117
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West of Scotland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Great quality food, friendly staff, warm welcome and they let dogs in (better behaved than some kids I say). Brilliant.Check out their upcoming winter room/breakfast/dinner deal. Amazing value for money and if the rooms are half as good as the food it will be a wonderful 2 night minimum deal.
Finding the place is the trick. Follow the road to Craster and when in a small wooded area watch for their sign on the left before an stone arch.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pippajaydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

the accommodation is very good, children's playground was a great hit with our grandchildren. There was an extra bed for the youngest child in our bedroom, but there was still enough room. Very good breakfast

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank magret1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Our travel company booked us in here as we walked St Oswald's Way, so we didn't know what to expect, but we had a happy stay here. A short walk from the coast and in beautiful surroundings. We had a lovely view from our room, comfortable beds and a much appreciated bath. Only problem with the room was that the walls were thin, so the tv next door kept us awake and woke us early. Fresh strawberries for breakfast were lovely.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank RMFerguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed there with my girlfriend and a load of friends whilst doing the Coast & Castles cycle route from Newcastle to Edinburgh.
When we arrived there was a small mix-up with my booking, but once I'd shown the young lady on reception a copy of my confimation email she realised she'd been looking at the wrong day in the diary! Good start . . . . . There was a large garage to store all our bikes which was good. Our room was a reasonable size, clean, but looked a bit tired and there was a hint of damp. Bathroom was nothing special and the shower was too low for me, but I am 6'1" so am used to this minor inconvenience when staying in hotels.
The bar & restaurant area was good and service was friendly. We were allocated a large table at one end of the restaurant where we could make lots of noise away from the more civilised guests. Food was good and service reasonably efficient allowing for the size of our party (17).
WiFi non-existent in my room as was the mobile phone signal. Better wifi in the bar area though. Breakfast was the usual selection.
They let two of our friends camp in the large garden and I think they got breakfast too for £5 each which was nice of the management. They were also allowed to share someone's bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights, ate in for 3 nights. Staff all very friendly and helpful. Was able to eat in the pub and conservatory with our dog with us. Car parking difficult to find at rear of property as when we arrived it was raining heavily and the car park is at the back of the Inn down a track. Better signage and details of parking when booking would be helpful, especially when arriving late in the day. Puddings, we thought over priced, when the small main courses very filling at 7.95 paying 5.25 for ALL the puddings available seemed high when you see the size of the pudding portions. But they did taste good! Room basic, but clean and comfortable. Good advice given re places to visit locally. Amazing sights to see locally. Wonderful coast.
If you have a sat nav - use it - we did not and road signage not easy to follow!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 423SueC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Pleasant pub close to Craster and coastal walks. Friendly welcome and service. Reasonable but unremarkable breafast. Comfortable rooms spoilt by musty smell and sense of dampness. The winter offer at £5 per night looks tempting, but you have to stay 2 nights, eat in at night and take the breakfast at £10 per head ... so not quite as good as it first seems.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edenholme54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunstan
0.0 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
0.0 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
0.0 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Beadnell Towers
Beadnell Towers
#2 of 8 in Beadnell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Fishing Boat Inn
The Fishing Boat Inn
#1 of 2 in Boulmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Joiners Arms
The Joiners Arms
#1 of 1 in Newton by the Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Inn

Property: The Cottage Inn
Address: Dunstan, Alnwick NE66 3SZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick > Dunstan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Dunstan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run 3 star guest accommodation. Set in 5 acres of woodland garden. Within walking distance of the pretty fishing village of Cratser and the fantastic ruins of Dunstanburgh castle. Ideal for a relaxing short break. We offer well appointed rooms with good quality locally sourced food including lobster when available and excellent real ales as featured in the good pub guide 2008. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cottage Hotel Dunstan Village
The Cottage Inn Dunstan, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing