We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant. Shame we could only stay one night...”
Review of The Cottage Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunstan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cottage Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Dunstan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tynemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Brilliant. Shame we could only stay one night...”
Reviewed June 9, 2011

We arrived via the rear of the building (road to craster) and came up the gravel drive to the car park. Upon getting out of the car we were greeted by three chickens who were wandering in the scenic gardens. Staff were very friendly and we were personally shown to our room by one of the (new) owners. The double room we had booked had everything you would require for a short stay, warm, comfy and quiet with an immaculate en-suite bathroom. We were advised to book for dinner, due to the restaurant being subject to a large number of bookings (always a good sign).

After a visit to Craster village itself, we came back and sat in the bar area by the open fire before ordering from menu. Good selection of local ales. Fully recommend the food, even if passing. A first for a starter of fresh home-made crab and whisky soup was delicious. This was followed by the lamb jenny and a home-made cheesecake washed down with a bottle of wine. Decision to eat in the bar area was a wise one, given the party of 23 in the adjoining restaurant. We were made to feel welcome by the new owners, with the promise that the bar would be open as long as we wished.

The room was warm and comfy, and slept like a log, with no noise from outside.

Breakfast of choice had to be fresh and famous local kippers which were delicious.

The food was so good, we did enquire if we could take the chef home with us upon check out.

Will most certainly make a repeat visit, and the inn being dog friendly is a bonus.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoeColl87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeccaFleur, Owner at The Cottage Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
As the new tenant of the hotel I would like to advise anyone with a booking at the hotel to get in touch with us as the previous tenant has not informed us of all the bookings that were made before we took over on the 5th May. This is leading to guests arriving of whom we have no knowledge and for those who have paid deposits or paid in full we have not received payment from the previous tenant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    74
    43
    18
    21
See reviews for
60
122
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

Excellent service from booking to leaving!

We booked at short notice but the friendly attitude on the phone and willingness to try and accomodate us gave an immediate feel that we had made a good choice.

Arrived late afternoon on the Saturday to be welcomed by friendly staff and a real fire (very welcome on a cold, grey day!). Shown to our room which was basic but everything you could need. Rooms are warm, beds comfy and shower is hot and powerful.

Decided to have dinner in the Cottage Inn and would go back for the food alone! Very reasonably priced and amazing freshly cooked meals, service with a smile and the option to dine in the more formal restaurant or in the pub part by the fire if you wish.
Dinner was complimented by a varied drinks selection available from the bar and even the opportunity to try local made drinks like Lindesfarne Mead.

Went to bed full and content....breakfast the next morning was just as good with the famous Craster Kippers or a Full English with the ingredients clearly being fresh and local (definitely not store bought!) and good coffee. Wish we could have taken the chef home with us as the quality was amazing.

Was a shame to check out that morning, and will definitely be checking in again soon!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarlyElyse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2011

This is a very friendly and comfortable place to stay in a stunning part of the Northumbrian coastland with easy access to just about every local attraction. Wi Fi in the some of the bedrooms is a bit patchy at the moment. We suggest eating out but in every other respect it is delightful.

Room Tip: we suggest the rooms furthest from the bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank serena_north
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2011

stayed over at the cottage inn for a couple of nights, everything about our stay was fantastic, staff friendly , very helpful , excellent place for meals and very dog friendly which was a bonus

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cutierosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Embleton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

After recent trip out for day stopped at the newly reopened cottage inn to check out new management. Very pleasantly surprised to find such a warm welcome and cosy atmosphere, we decided to try food and so glad we did! Great value for money and lovely real ales! Going back next Sunday for lunch if we can get in as it's got it's excellent reputation back with the hard work of it's new management team that have only been there since may! Well done!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bevscottstringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

New management are very friendly and made us feel welcome. We had lunch, which was served within 10 mins of ordering, which was surprising because of how busy it was. The meal was delicious and portion size was very generous. All staff were polite and attentive. We will definitely be making a habit of eating there. Thank you to all.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimnJac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2011

Had Sunday lunch, delicious. Good value for money and very tasty! All staff were very friendly and attentive even though they were very busy. Definitely worth a repeat visit. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimnJac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunstan
2.1 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
4.7 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
3.3 mi away
Newton Hall
Newton Hall
#1 of 1 in Newton by the Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Fishing Boat Inn
The Fishing Boat Inn
#1 of 2 in Boulmer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
6.0 mi away
Beadnell Towers
Beadnell Towers
#2 of 8 in Beadnell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Joiners Arms
The Joiners Arms
#1 of 1 in Newton by the Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Inn

Property: The Cottage Inn
Address: | Northumberland Coast AONB, 5 The Village, Dunstan, Alnwick NE66 3SZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick > Dunstan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Dunstan
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run guest accommodation (all en-suite), traditional bar, separate restaurant & conservatory, large beer garden & car park. Set in 5 acres of woodland garden. Within walking distance of the pretty fishing village of Craster and the fantastic ruins of Dunstanburgh castle. Ideal for a relaxing short break. We offer well appointed rooms with good quality locally sourced food including lobster when available and excellent real ales. Free wifi in public areas. Dog friendly bar & accommodation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cottage Hotel Dunstan Village
The Cottage Inn Dunstan, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing