We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Split”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tillmouth Park Country House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Split”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

The rain limited our options when away at Tillmouth, so the break was rather mixed. On arrival, there was a beautiful meandering tree lined drive which opened to the back of a very fine building. The interior had handsome oak panelling and lots of stained glass panels. We were welcomed with a complimentary glass of wine, after which we were shown the public areas and dining room on the first floor. All very grand, with large fireplaces, oil paintings, period ornamentation and groups of comfortable sofas and armchairs.
We were then shown to our room and our hearts sank on entry. The 'antique' furniture was like something from a hostel for the homeless. The tv was in a corner near the ceiling and was about the size of two pocket handkerchiefs. There were fine views from the windows, but, unfortunately, the windowsill was about the height of my wife's upper lip, so she could only see the sky! I immediately returned to reception to request an upgrade, but there were none available.
We moped for a bit, and then realised that the room was very clean and a good size, the bathroom likewise, and the bed roomy and soft. Perhaps the online photographs led us to expect too much. It must have been worse in the trenches!
In the evening, we found that the menu didn't have a single option for a meat free/ gluten free diet so we went to Berwick and made do with a few emergency sandwiches sitting in the sun on the defence ramparts overlooking the sea. On return, we sat in the hotel bar for a while and then retired to our room. The tv turned out to be watchable.
The next day, the staff in the breakfast room were extremely friendly and helpful and we negotiated suitable repasts that were not on the menu. We sat in one of the lounges for a couple of hours, reading and completing crosswords, while the rain lashed at the windows. It felt serene and we had the place to ourselves. After a while, however, the feeling crept over me that I had somehow become an involuntary member of an old people's retirement home. We decided to brave the weather.
We went to a private country house that opens its doors two days a week. It is called Manderston Hall and contains lots of interest, including particularly detailed and well preserved plaster mouldings and a silver plated staircase! The rain held off long enough for us to view the well tended gardens and walk down to the lake. We had a very pleasant tea in the café.
I feel obliged to rate this establishment as 4 out of 5 because of the strong positives - the upkeep of the grounds, the grandeur of the building itself and the unusual qualities of the public areas. The staff were very obliging and the general ambience in and around the hotel is very peaceful. Breakfasts were very good, though we didn't sample the evening meals. I think we could have requested a gluten free option, but we didn't ask as we prefer to eat earlier in the day.
I don't know if we were unlucky with our room (number 10), but I wouldn't stay in it again. Although warm, clean and comfortable, the furnishings were more cheap, seaside B&B than elegant country house. The dressing table put me in mind of Diana Dors dressing room, with a preposterous crocheted cover on the box of tissues and a cheap tin tray for drinking glasses.
Some judicious refurbishment could transform a stay here, though other rooms may already be better quality. On a voucher deal, the break was good value, but I wouldn't pay the usual tariff.

Room Tip: I would ask about upgrades. Some rooms have four poster beds, though I don't know if they will b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    64
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
34
230
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Just stayed at Tillmouth Park Country House for three nights, the staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble and very friendly, we had an evening meal there the first night and it was excellent as were the breakfasts, again nothing too much trouble for the staff. The room was beautiful overlooking the gardens at the back. If there was one fault and this is only minor it was that the toiletries weren't replenished throughout our stay but I had taken my own so this didn't cause a problem, the tea and coffee supplies were replenished each day.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maudles123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

While visiting the Borders we needed just one night and found an offer for one night's dinner, bed and breakfast with a glass of wine on arrival. It looked good on the internet so we booked. Wow, a pity we could only stay one night as we were so impressed on arrival. The drive from the gatehouse is a delight with rhododendrons at the moment and the charming receptionist's welcome was exemplary. The day was cool so were were directed to a lovely lounge with an open fire and given our glasses of wine while our bags were transported to our room. We had been placed on the very top floor, a nice big room with a view over the parkland towards the river. The furnishings were chosen to be in-keeping with the Victorian origin of the house but were nearer the servants end of the scale compared to the other parts of the hotel we saw later. No doubt, if we had been on a higher price tariff we would have been offered a more superior room. The dining room where we ate later is lovely, with a floor to ceiling window giving a view of the parkland. The menu was suitably chosen for a hotel with a sporting link; fishing and shooting can be arranged, with elements involving game associated with the area. The meal was excellent and the wine choice good. Likewise, breakfast was well up to expectation. The whole hotel has been furnished and decorated in a style appropriate to its origins. The artworks are suitably period and can be found in the stunning central lounge on the first floor as well as the drawing room and on the superb staircase and gallery. I would very much hope to be able to stay here again when I next need to visit the Border region.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Had a great one night stay here on Sunday.The room was ok but other rooms looked much better at a supplement.The staff were excellent very polite and happy in their work.they made our stay very enjoyable.Try their bloody mary it's the best one I have had.Evening meal was nice but maybe needed a bit of gravy or extra sauce with the meal.Puddings were excellent.Breakfast again a high standard.The grounds are worth walking around and nearby Twirzel bridge and castle are worth walking too.We would stay again but probably in another room

Room Tip: Lower floor rooms seem better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geordieginge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

I have just returned from a 2 night stay and have to say this was one of the total get away from it all breaks I have ever had which is what I was looking for.
All the staff were friendly and helpful, and the food was excellent.
This is an old stately house and is furnished to suit so does not have all the mod cons of new hotels if you want modern book with Premier Inn or The travel lodges.
Thank you to all the staff for making our weekend a good one.

Room Tip: Has lots of stairs so some rooms are not suitable for the less mobile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myralowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed here for 2 days over May bank holiday. Not sure what to expect but what a lovely surprise.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our bags were whisked away to our room whilst were were led to the lounge area for a complimentary glass of wine.

The lunch menu although limited the sandwiches were freshly made with home cooked meat.

Our room was beautiful and very spacious.

We ate at the hotel and the food was delicious. The staff were very frIendly and also greeted us by our name which I thought was a very personal touch.

What a wonderful experience will defiantly stay there again as there are still plenty of golf courses to try.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julieb59l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England
Level Contributor
81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

A wonderful venue in the fantastic borders countryside. The Tilmouth is a lovely example of how it was once possible to live, and gives us the opportunity to experience a slice of history. The building truly reflects it's country house status and is set in peaceful surroundings. The staff and service in general make you feel special and add to the feeling of being transported in time. The food was great and our room..the Sir Walter Scott suite was incredible. Some well known names have stayed here including, Nicole Kidman, Colin Firth and Robson Green. The hotel is not cheap but then quality has a price and this is well worth it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnhaywoodandsandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cornhill on Tweed
10.4 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
454 reviews
22.0 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,203 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Collingwood Arms Hotel
The Collingwood Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cornhill on Tweed
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
9.4 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#1 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
404 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tillmouth Park Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tillmouth Park Country House Hotel

Property: Tillmouth Park Country House Hotel
Address: Cornhill on Tweed TD12 4UU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Cornhill on Tweed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cornhill on Tweed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tillmouth Park Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Tillmouth Park Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Alnwick
Tillmouth Park Country Hotel
Tillmouth Park Country House Hotel Cornhill On Tweed, England - Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing