We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tillmouth Park Country House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Splendid.”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is the sort of hotel that Mrs Simmo absolutely adores. It was booked as a birthday treat (for me) and we found it excellent. I would accept that it was not the type of hotel everyone would like - it doesn't have all the fripperies of the 'chain' hotels where when you walk into a room you could be almost anywhere in the world! When you walk into the Tillmouth Park you know you are undoubtedly in a English Country House (although it's very nearly Scotland!). The rooms are tastefully furnished or at least our was, I'm sure all the others are too, with period furniture, the staff are welcoming and helpful and the bottle of champagne on our arrival was appreciated. One of the great benefits of independent hotels is often the quality of the produce they use to prepare the meals. Tillmouth Park was no exception in this respect. One of our decadent treats is to have an afternoon tea followed by a late dinner! I can thoroughly recommend the home made fruitcake and wholemeal scones. Dinner was well cooked and featured local produce which was well cooked and well presented. The same could also be said of breakfast which is served at the table rather than a help yourself buffet - wonderful! We will return!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simmo5810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    65
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
34
232
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I would recommend this place to everyone who would like a stay away from buzzing cities. This is the perfect place to chill out, eat good food, have a whiskey in front of a roaring fire sat in a comfortable armchair. Very clean rooms, beautifully decorated, comfortable bed. I can't fault anything! Staff is friendly and helpful. Food is briiliant. Just go there!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, UK
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We dine at Tillmouth 2 or 3 times a year and it is always an enjoyable evening. This time the restaurant was very busy and we were seated in the dining room off the main restaurant which was very cosy and just as stunning as the main room.

Service under the watchul eye of Shirley was, as always, excellent and the meal was perfect. Looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila_Gray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed with a group of friends and it really is a unique historic building but more than that the staff are outstanding, without exception. Perfect balance of friendliness and professionalism clealy well trained and motivated by the wonderful husband and wife management team. We opted to eat in both nights and the food really punches above its weight. A good size menu with a great balance of choices and the food excellently cooked and presented.
There really is so much to see and do in the area we should have stayed longer but maybe thats for another trip. If you are looking for five star concierge assisted service, spas and "snap to attention" staff then this is probably not for you. But if you want wonderful surroundings, friendly and efficient staff you'll get to know, unpretentios good cooking and a realaxed atmopshere then this is defintely worth a trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Innspiration
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We booked in for one night as we had driven up from the South and were due in Edinburgh the next morning. We had found the hotel on line and booked direct. Our (upgraded) bedroom was the size of a tennis court, with a large and comfortable bed and the softest pillows I have ever found in an hotel. Dinner was excellent and breakfast was even better. We did not have our dogs with us but clearly they would have been welcome. The staff were all charming and helpful and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: There is no lift so disabled guests should ask for a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foliat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cramlington
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Classic Victorian country house, with grand entrance hall, staircase and giant stained glass window making for an impressive arrival. Friendly and helpful staff. State rooms off the balcony and most others on top floor, but our last minute booking placed us in one of the two "garden rooms" in the (former laundry) annexe about 40 metres walk from the main building. The room was large and comfortably furnished with a well equipped modern bathroom, so only lacking a view. Did not dine, but the breakfast was cooked to order and excellent quality (e.g. Eyemouth kippers as a hot option were top notch) and as much of everything else as you could eat. Grounds included pleasant gardens and a riverside walk for the more energetically inclined (down a steepish bank).

Room Tip: If you want to splash out, go for a state room off the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is a beautifully situated old fashioned country house hotel. Approached by a long driveway the building and grounds are really lovely. Booked by phone and Elaine explained the features of all the rooms, which are very individual. We settled on one of the "state rooms", room 4 "Tillside". The room was large and nicely furnished, with a 6ft wide four poster, two armchairs, a chaise longue and attractive old wooden wardrobe, dressing table etc. There were 3 large windows overlooking the gardens and a pleasant en suite bathroom.
Best bits
Lovely room, quiet, lovely views. Very good dinner. Beautiful setting.
Worst bits
Despite the quietness, we slept really badly. The mattress was thin and felt old. Small old TV seemed lost in the room - needs a 40in flat screen.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzieNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cornhill on Tweed
10.4 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
461 reviews
22.0 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,226 reviews
24.8 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#1 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
408 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
204 reviews
8.6 mi away
Chirnside Hall Hotel
Chirnside Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chirnside
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tillmouth Park Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tillmouth Park Country House Hotel

Property: Tillmouth Park Country House Hotel
Address: Cornhill on Tweed TD12 4UU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Cornhill on Tweed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cornhill on Tweed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tillmouth Park Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Tillmouth Park Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Alnwick
Tillmouth Park Country Hotel
Tillmouth Park Country House Hotel Cornhill On Tweed, England - Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing