We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little jewel of a hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tillmouth Park Country House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
darlington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A little jewel of a hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We have just returned from a two night stay at this lovely country hotel. We received a warm welcome from the reception staff and a complimentary glass of wine so we were off to a good start. Our case was taken up to our room for which we were very grateful as we were in room 12, a bit of a steep climb. The room was an attic room, with a high ceiling and decorated in keeping with the rest of the hotel. It was very clean with fresh towels each morning, there was a really good power shower too which I might have taken it home if at all possible. We visited using a Groupon voucher so only paid £99 for the two nights which made it brilliant value for money. We ate in the hotel restaurant on the first night and found a varied choice on the menu. The food was good and the lady serving was very attentive. Could I suggest some background music in the dining room just to add a little atmosphere? The cost of the wine at £7.00 per glass I thought was expensive or maybe I am just out of touch. The hotel itself is quite grand with a gallery staircase, billiard room and sitting rooms, all very in keeping with the period of the hotel. The grounds are fabulous to stroll around and there are various spots to sit and enjoy the view. All in all this was a brilliant little break which we totally enjoyed. Thank you to the staff of the Tillmouth Country Park Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benjohnson60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    62
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
30
224
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely couple of nights here. The room was big and very comfortable with good views over the fields. The staff were extremely welcoming and helpful and the food was excellent. It was a great base to discover the borders and we liked the fact that it was in its own grounds and felt like a peaceful retreat. Lovely feel to the place inside. We would recommend this hotel and would very keen to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marleyton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar
Level Contributor
90 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed on a groupon vouvher of 2 nights bed and breakfast for £99 which was incrdeibly good value. We stayed in Garden room 2 which is a slight walk from the main building which could be awkward in inclement weather. (we were fortunate in that respect) The bathroom was excellent with a powerful shower over the bath and loads of hot water. The bathrobes were a nice touch and they were of good quality. We both remarked on the cleanliness everywhere and the main building was quite fascinating with its period furniture and decor. The staff throughout the stay were friendly and helpful and very efficent. Special mention must be made of Shirley in the dining room who made us feel very much at home and was wonderfully professional in a very friendly manner. The breakfasts were excellent each day and there was more than sufficent choice. The evening menu was good but if there was any criticism it would be that it was not as varied as it might have been. There was an additional specials sheet each night but it was very limited. Having said this the food was excellently prepared and served. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay which was helped by some nice and weather and some lovely walks in the grounds. It was to celebrate my wifes birthday and I certainly gained some brownie points on this occassion.

Room Tip: As has been said previously there are some steep stairs which may prove difficult for people with mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fletch91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. We could not find fault with anything. It was like staying in someone's beautiful country home and was in a fantastic setting with beautiful surrounding countryside. Our room was huge and had wonderful views of the garden. The staff were lovely, and the food was fantastic. We will definitely return. A special thanks to Shirley and all the staff who made our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natalie160582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed here in May 2013 for a spring salmon fishing trip. We were in room 14 which is almost in the stratosphere but it is a great room. It was a bit of a slog up there as I also had a load of TV production gear with me but that's my only gripe really. The place has a great country house atmosphere with lots of wood panelling, galleried landings and stained glass which was apparently salvaged from 19th century cruise liners (the family who originally owned the house were in shipping). The food is really very good without being showy. They use high quality ingredients and they cook them simply but expertly. The venison with dauphinoise potatoes was exceptionally good. Breakfast is always top class. A special mention goes to the staff who make the service excellent without being intrusive. There is a bar but we never went as the staff will bring your drinks to the lounges which are very comfortable. There is a rod room but we just left our 15ft salmon rods propped up by the front door ready to go in the morning. For shooting folk there is a very good gunroom. My fshing party had a great stay at Tillmouth Park and we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Room 14 is up three or four flights of stairs and along a few corridors. If you're not so nimble...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank storkontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne & Wear
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We visited last weekend when the weather was at it's best, hot and sunny (very rare!).
I loved this place, the staff are so friendly and the Hotel itself is amazing and would be great for a wedding venue.
Our room was huge and very clean. Although not particularly modern and a bit dated, it was in keeping with the hotel.
We did a lovely walk from the Hotel along the river and didn't see a soul. Well worth it.
The food at the Hotel was lovely.
The only thing I would comment on is what someone has said previously - a little background music would be good in the dining room/lounge/bar at mealtimes. If the dining room is busy then it's okay but if it's quiet, it can be a little uncomfortable.
Will definately return for a special occasion!

Room Tip: We upgraded to a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank armstrg2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We are currently sitting in the lounge of this lovely hotel writing it's review. This is one of the friendliest hotels we have stayed in and the reception staff deserve a special mention. We booked room no 14 and were warned of the steep climb up the stairs to the top floor. I cannot lie, it is indeed a steep climb, but worth it and gives an opportunity to burn off some of the excesses of the weekend ! It is also the quietest hotel room I have ever been in, what a joy ! This is a charming hotel and I reccommend it wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cornhill on Tweed
22.0 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
10.4 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
24.8 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Chirnside Hall Hotel
Chirnside Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chirnside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
9.4 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#1 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bamburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tillmouth Park Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tillmouth Park Country House Hotel

Property: Tillmouth Park Country House Hotel
Address: Cornhill on Tweed TD12 4UU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Cornhill on Tweed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cornhill on Tweed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tillmouth Park Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Tillmouth Park Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Alnwick
Tillmouth Park Country Hotel
Tillmouth Park Country House Hotel Cornhill On Tweed, England - Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing