We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High quality, fab food and considerate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Collingwood Arms Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“High quality, fab food and considerate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

This was our 3rd visit, always en route to or from Scotland. The hotel is clean and smart with lovely rooms and lovely Molten Brown toiletries and big beds with gorgeous sheets... and super food, nice bar... need I say more?? We stayed with 3 kids and a dog this time and there is beautiful countryside all around for walking. The A1 isn't far away and its very easy to get too. We will be going again and its always top of our list and to cap it all they posted the jacket I left behind before I'd had a chance to work out where I'd lost it! Full marks & highly recomended...

Room Tip: They all have lovely characterful features...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ki_BSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    45
    13
    10
    3
See reviews for
51
191
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival, the wonderful staff at the hotel made us feel welcomed and informed us of the dinner arrangements. We stayed in the Colossus room on the first floor. All the rooms are individual and named after Admiral Nelson's ships. The entrance had a nice wood burning fire on which filled e hotel with a warm peat/wood smell. The rooms were wonderful. It was warm, nicely laced out with a beautiful bathroom. They had Molton and Brown products and a nice rain shower. The bed and pillows were incredibly comfortable. After travelling around during the day, it was nice to have a warm shower and comfortable bed. There is a plasma television picking up Scottish TV broadcasts but this was rarely on.

The breakfast is held in the restaurant, where we got served by Laura. The restaurant was quiet and it's a table service for hot food with a cold buffet table. Laura gave us some ideas to go and visit North Northumberland, which were not on the tourist maps and brochures and were outstanding locations. Thanks Laura!

We booked a table for dinner. The menu changes every day. The food is delicious with large wholesome portions. The deserts are a culinary triumph! The Borders tart was amazing! Because the restaurant only hosts 8 tables, the place was very intimate and homely (with waiters). We had Iain serve us all evening and he was excellent and up for a wee bit of a blether, which keeps the evening entertaining. There's a wee bar in the front room, where its usually full of other hotel guests and other hotel's guests in the area. We retired to the lounge room, again with a wood burning fire and capped the evening with a wee dram and sherry.

The hotel is amazing. The staff are wonderful. The food is outstanding!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank J0JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

A very competent and decent hotel. Staff excellent. Food good but not over fussy or over varied. Interior decor spot on, modern trad mix. Rooms good but be sure to ask for a bath as some rooms are shower only. Wouldnt have thought ideal for young children as it is basically a formal but relaxed hotel. Bar area limited for somewhere to sit. Bathrooms are smart but the only thing I would change is the bathroom floors which looked a bit 'hospital' and slightly grubby. A fine hotel to be fair.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelledeverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

A very good lunch for my birthday and my brothers,a very good selection starters mains and sweets for a Saterday lunch.A large round table gave us plenty of room to enjoy our lunch in comfort,restaurant was very busy but the 2 staff coped very well,and the food was of a very good standard and the welcome equal to it.Would recomend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kennyd3650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Meant to write this review weeks ago....Second time we have been here and it gets better and better, Great staff, Great rooms, food great and the whole feel of the hotel is so relaxing...........................

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goodfood777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, England
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

We booked for a Monday lunch with family and were very pleased with the relaxed atmosphere, interesting menu and excellent food.
The pre-lunch menu selection was in the comfortable lounge / foyer, suitably insulated from the sleet and wind outside.
The service was helpful and efficient even though there were several unexpected diners
Coffee was served in the relaxed. Surroundings of the library, with handmade biscuits.
We had used the location as a staging post between Edinburgh and Newcastle on several previous occasions without experiencing the hospitality. Whilst we didn't need to stay overnight, the accommodation and welcome was tempting !
Good value indeed.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank NeilAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We chose the Collingwood Arms as the place to celebrate our silver wedding and booked several rooms for assorted family and friends. What a weekend!
From the moment we entered the hotel nothing was too much trouble. From adjoining rooms for the guest with children to the canapes and champagne . . . Kevin and the staff made us feel very special (without all the stuff and nonsense you experience in some establishments!). Thank you! We were 'given' the library as our central meeting point although I don't think we vacated it all weekend except to go to the restaurant or up to bed!
The food was excellent and the rooms were something else . . . go on, treat yourselves!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KD_Trencherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cornhill on Tweed
2.8 mi away
Tillmouth Park Country House Hotel
Tillmouth Park Country House Hot...
#1 of 2 in Cornhill on Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
22.4 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
13.2 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#1 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
8.8 mi away
Ednam House
Ednam House
#4 of 4 in Kelso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
8.7 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kelso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Collingwood Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Collingwood Arms Hotel

Property: The Collingwood Arms Hotel
Address: Main Street, Cornhill on Tweed TD12 4UH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Cornhill on Tweed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cornhill on Tweed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Collingwood Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grade II Listed, luxury Georgian hotel set in glorious surroundings with views over the River Tweed. For 200 years The Collingwood Arms Hotel has provided a colourful focal point for Borders visitors. Guests are greeted in front of an open log fire, while the library offers a homely and restful retreat. The hotel bar upholds the Borders reputation for great hospitality, warm oak, antique leather and a relaxed atmosphere for friends, old and new. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Collingwood Arms Hotel Cornhill On Tweed, England - Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing