We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Collingwood Arms Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Birthday lunch”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

A very good lunch for my birthday and my brothers,a very good selection starters mains and sweets for a Saterday lunch.A large round table gave us plenty of room to enjoy our lunch in comfort,restaurant was very busy but the 2 staff coped very well,and the food was of a very good standard and the welcome equal to it.Would recomend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kennyd3650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    47
    13
    10
    4
See reviews for
51
193
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Meant to write this review weeks ago....Second time we have been here and it gets better and better, Great staff, Great rooms, food great and the whole feel of the hotel is so relaxing...........................

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goodfood777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, England
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

We booked for a Monday lunch with family and were very pleased with the relaxed atmosphere, interesting menu and excellent food.
The pre-lunch menu selection was in the comfortable lounge / foyer, suitably insulated from the sleet and wind outside.
The service was helpful and efficient even though there were several unexpected diners
Coffee was served in the relaxed. Surroundings of the library, with handmade biscuits.
We had used the location as a staging post between Edinburgh and Newcastle on several previous occasions without experiencing the hospitality. Whilst we didn't need to stay overnight, the accommodation and welcome was tempting !
Good value indeed.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank NeilAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We chose the Collingwood Arms as the place to celebrate our silver wedding and booked several rooms for assorted family and friends. What a weekend!
From the moment we entered the hotel nothing was too much trouble. From adjoining rooms for the guest with children to the canapes and champagne . . . Kevin and the staff made us feel very special (without all the stuff and nonsense you experience in some establishments!). Thank you! We were 'given' the library as our central meeting point although I don't think we vacated it all weekend except to go to the restaurant or up to bed!
The food was excellent and the rooms were something else . . . go on, treat yourselves!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KD_Trencherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The moment we walked through the door at the Collingwood Arms Hotel, we felt extremely welcome! The room was very spacious/comfortable which overlooked the lovely gardens to the rear. The food was of a high quality and the wine list reasonably priced.

The Collingwood Arms Hotel is a real gem nestled in the Northumberland countryside, close to the Scottish boarder. We will certainly return next year!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PBlakeborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed last year at the hotel for two days and the stay was lovely with the rooms beautifully furnished, the staff could not do enough and the breakfast and evening meal really good. We went back this December and again had a lovely relaxing stay. We were shooting in the area, and the inn is well set up with a gun room etc. the drying room could have been walmer, but the breakfast on offer was great to set you up for a day in the field, the warming fires on your return very welcome! The ambience in the evening was great with the pre-dinner nibbles. We will definitely be going back next year! The staff could not do enough for us.

Room Tip: All of them are lovely! We paid for a suite the first year, but unless you are staying for a long br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

What a wonderful place to base yourselves when enjoying the country sports that abound Northumberland. Kevin and the team made us feel very welcome and thank god for the drying room! The Colling Wood Arms Hotel is very worthy of the consistently excellent reviews and will definately feature in next year's foray to the north.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cornhill on Tweed
2.8 mi away
Tillmouth Park Country House Hotel
Tillmouth Park Country House Hot...
#1 of 2 in Cornhill on Tweed
330 reviews
22.4 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,203 reviews
13.2 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coldstream
69 reviews
12.1 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#1 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
404 reviews
8.7 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kelso
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Collingwood Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Collingwood Arms Hotel

Property: The Collingwood Arms Hotel
Address: Main Street, Cornhill on Tweed TD12 4UH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Cornhill on Tweed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cornhill on Tweed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Collingwood Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grade II Listed, luxury Georgian hotel set in glorious surroundings with views over the River Tweed. For 200 years The Collingwood Arms Hotel has provided a colourful focal point for Borders visitors. Guests are greeted in front of an open log fire, while the library offers a homely and restful retreat. The hotel bar upholds the Borders reputation for great hospitality, warm oak, antique leather and a relaxed atmosphere for friends, old and new. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Collingwood Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Collingwood Arms Hotel Cornhill On Tweed, England - Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing