We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hay Farm House Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I've stayed at Hay Farm three times and I immediately feel at home from the moment of arrival. Room excellent, (I always have the same one), breakfast and evening meal, should you choose that option, are beautifully cooked and presented. Always looking forward to my next trip. RTM

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cam24, Owner at Hay Farm House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Many thanks for the great review. Looking forward to seeing you all again in August.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
78
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Drighlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Before booking this b&b I read the reviews and was intrigued that everyone who wrote a review rated it as excellent.
How right they were. The owner Tina excels at making you feel completely at home. The room we stayed in was very clean, well decorated with fresh crisp linen on the bed. The complimentery tray lacked for nothing with a large choice of different teas and coffee,hot chocolate and bottled water. On the bedsides were a small bag of delicious chocolates, very nice. The en-suite was spotless with everything that would be needed if you forgot your own toiletries. And it's true the towels are as everyone mentions thick and very fluffy. The position of this establishment means that the views from the windows are incredible. Its very quiet so you're guaranteed a great nights sleep.
The breakfast that Tina provides is excellent. The choice is varied and the quality of the food is amazing. Everything is local produce and very fresh.
Hay Farm House is definately no run of the mill establishment. It shows that Tina has a passion for what she does. We will have no hesitation in recommending this b&b to anyone. It is simply the best.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cam24, Owner at Hay Farm House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for the terrific review. Our aim is exactly that, to make you feel at home in lovely relaxing surroundings with scrummy local produce. Hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
Level Contributor
103 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This was our second visit and we loved it as much as the first! Greeted like old friends, we had the same comfortable and spacious room, the same warm welcome and a breakfast that is, without doubt, the best we have experienced (and we've had a few breakfasts!) Tina is a great hostess and we will return whenever in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterandbrenda_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cam24, Owner at Hay Farm House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Hi,
Thank you for your kind comments. Glad you like it so much. Looking forward to seeing you all in August 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Hay Farm provides the most lovely Bed and Breakfast accommodation and has a very welcoming and friendly host. There is great attention to detail and everything you could wish for has been thought about. The house is very comfortable and relaxing and spotlessly clean. And then there's the breakfasts! - a wonderful choice and beautifully prepared. All this and a super setting in the Northumbrian countryside close to the Cheviot Hills.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cam24, Owner at Hay Farm House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2012

A beautiful B&B in a beautiful part of the country, with superb service - the host Tina went out of her way to make us feel welcome and ensure we got the most out of our visit. The room was clean, bright and beautifully decorated, with an amazing view of the countryside and real attention to detail, including chocolates by the bedside. The property is in a very quiet and peaceful location, great for a relaxing break. Breakfasts are worth mentioning also - fantastic choice, with locally sourced produce where possible and homemade preserves. Because of the rural location, there's very few pubs or restaurants nearby, which would probably be the only (minor) downside for us. The one pub within walking distance was not serving food while we were there, which was disappointing, but dinner is offered at the B&B, which was very nice. We felt really comfortable and at home at Hay Farm, which was down to the impeccable service and warm and friendly atmosphere created by Tina. We would definitely come back again and recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the house have fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cam24, Owner at Hay Farm House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for the super review. So pleased you enjoyed it here and hope we will see you again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

A beautiful part of the country, we were looked after brilliantly from arriving to departure. Fantastic breakfasts highly recommend the evening meals as well, room was spacious, spotless, very clean, with lots of little extras. You will always get a very warm and friendly welcome from Tina and her family. We would not hesitate to book again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edenbridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

From the moment we arrived, Tina made us feel extremely welcome. She was very accommodating in catering for my particular dietary requirements and nothing was too much trouble - even preparing breakfast scotch pancakes late one night especially for me. The Sunday roast on the day we arrived was excellent and the breakfasts were extraordinarily comprehensive and delicious. The accommodation - well-equipped bedrooms and lovely dining room and lounge with an open fire (very welcoming on wet and windy evenings) - were spacious, clean and tidy but also unpretentious and homely. The situation was idyllic and, even though we were not particularly blessed with the weather, we simply could not fit in all of the wonderful places to visit. The house is set in ideal walking country, so we hope to be back again and will bring friends with us next time. We know they will love it as much as we did.

Room Tip: The double room we stayed in was smaller than the other two, we understand, but it was definitely n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cam24, Owner at Hay Farm House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for you lovely comments, so pleased you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cornhill on Tweed
4.5 mi away
Tillmouth Park Country House Hotel
Tillmouth Park Country House Hot...
#1 of 2 in Cornhill on Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
17.5 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Estate House
The Estate House
#1 of 2 in Ford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#1 of 2 in Crookham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
9.2 mi away
Caroline House
Caroline House
#2 of 4 in Spittal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Old Mill B&B
The Old Mill B&B
#1 of 18 in Wooler
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hay Farm House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hay Farm House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hay Farm House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Hay Farm Ford & Etal Country Estate | Ford & Etal Country Estate, Cornhill on Tweed TD12 4TR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Cornhill on Tweed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cornhill on Tweed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hay Farm House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hay Farm House Bed and Breakfast on the beautiful Ford and Etal Country Estate in Northumberland; situated midway between the vibrant city of Newcastle upon Tyne and historic Edinburgh. We are only just over an hours drive from either and only 15 minutes from Berwick on Tweed Railway Station on the main East coast line. Coast or countryside this is the ideal location for visiting the many attractions of the splendid ' Secret Kingdom' of North Northumberland and the wonderful border region of Scotland.Hay Farm enjoys an elevated position giving spectacular panoramic views over the surrounding countryside. To the south the mystical Cheviot Hills, a walkers paradise on the edge of the Northumberland National Park and to the west over the Scottish borders with the Eildon Hills in the distance.We have 3 beautifully appointed guest rooms with a well stocked refreshement tray, mini fridge, flat screen tv, exceptionally comfy beds and ensuite with super, thick, soft, fluffy towels.Our breakfast menu is extensive, with something to suit all tastes and we offer a tasty, hearty two course supper 3 nights a week and succulent two course dinner with a Sunday roast at the weekend. We use as much locally sourced produce as possible. A varied and interesting vegetarian option is always available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Hay Farm House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hay Farm House Bed And Breakfast Cornhill On Tweed, England - Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing