We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent apartment in good location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Four Mill Wharf

View from 4 Mill Wharf of the harbour, estuary, and the sea beyond.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from 4 Mill Wharf of the harbour, estuary, and the sea beyond.
View through the arched feature windows of the apartment. Lounge area of the open plan living space
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
77 reviews
View from 4 Mill Wharf of the harbour, estuary, and the sea beyond.
View through the arched feature windows of the apartment.
Lounge area of the open plan living space
Lounge and dining table.
The beautiful feature windows.
Oak floor, architectural features and kitchen facilities.
Shower room with large walk-in shower.
New for 2019. Reconfigured bedroom with European size double bed. Sweet dreams.
A warm welcome awaits you!
Berwick old bridge from Tweedmouth.
Berwick Royal Bridge.
Award winning conversion exterior.
View Berwick light house from the apartment and as you stroll into town.
River Tweed and Berwick's historic bridges.
Berwick town from Tweedmouth.
Picturesque span of Berwick old bridge.
Stunning old bridge, vantage point for seal watching and sea views.
Stroll to Spittal beach and get the sand between your toes.
Crisp winter view of the bridges of Berwick from riverside walk.
Winter sunset over the Tweed from riverside walk, January 2016.
A visiting seal watching the tourists.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
17Kenny
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent apartment in good location”
Reviewed August 4, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This apartment has everything you will need. It overlooks Tweed dock with its swans and sometimes seals. There is a Spar a newsagents a pub and a couple of takeaways less than 100 metres away, the town centre is is a short walk over the bridge. A very nice welcome with home made cake and wine, milk in fridge and tea and coffee available. The apartment is finished to a high standard including a walk in shower. We would have preferred a firmer/larger bed but that's just a personal thing. The secure parking space was a little tight but our Ford Kuga wasn't really a problem. We enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this property.

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 5, 2017
Thank you so much for your review. As you say the apartment is well located for all amenities and we are glad you enjoyed your welcome pack. Seals and swans in the dock today as we were servicing the apartment and very dramatic clouds and seascape out of the windows. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you back for another visit.
regards
Keith and Louise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 16, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 17, 2017
We are glad you had a good time and that you got to see some seals! We appreciated you stripping the bed and how beautifully clean and tidy you left the apartment in the true spirit of self catering. We have been enjoying the hot sunshine ourselves today with a trip through the amazing Northumbrian countryside to visit Hadrian's wall and the Vindolanda Roman fort. Off tonight for live music at the pub. It's all go! Thank you for your kind review. We would love to welcome you back for another stay.
regards
Keith and Louise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hilary199...
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely appartment”
Reviewed July 2, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Spotlessly clean and the owners, Keith and Louise were very welcoming. Within walking distance of the town. good view of the town and the hundreds of swans but unfortunately on several of the evenings that we were there a number of lorries parked overnight in the carpark opposite which blocked the view. Well equipped-especially impressed with the number of hangers for clothes. Would just mention 2 things- the carpark space is quite tight-we have an Audi A3 and it only just fitted-you would struggle with anything much larger. The other is that the bed is a 4ft bed and as we have a king size we found this too small really.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 3, 2017
We are glad you thought the apartment was well equipped. What a shame your view was occasionally obstructed! The apartment is on the first floor and we usually find that you still have views out to sea and to the lighthouse when lorries and ships are part of the dock view. We advertise that the car space is suitable for an average sized car, however guests have parked both a Citroen C5 and a Jaguar XF there. Luckily you did manage to park your Audi! There is easy parking in front of the apartment if guests do not want to use the space. Thank you for your review and we hope you had a good break.
regards
Keith and Louise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storytell...
1 review
“Good location and welcome.”
Reviewed July 2, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The bottle of wine, flowers and homemade cake were appreciated. Everything you need is available but we would have preferred better towels and pillows. The internet server failed while we were there and Keith was very helpful in getting it replaced.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 3, 2017
Oh dear, our first three star review! We are sorry the pillows and towels did not live up to your expectations. There are spare pillows in the cupboard in addition to the ones on the bed. The towels are 100% thick cotton and we provide a bath towel and hand towel each. Unfortunately you did not let us know about your dissatisfaction with the pillows and towels. Had we known we would have done our utmost to make sure you were happy. We acknowledge that the breakdown of the internet hub was disruptive.The BT engineer had to come out and the hub had to be replaced which took a few days. We apologise for that disruption but as you say we did everything in our power to get it back on for you as soon as we could. Hub is now working ( honest gov!) and Louise will have a good look at the pillows and towels to see what the problem is. Thank you for your review.
regards
Keith and Louise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarryChel...
Cheltenham
2 reviews
“Week in Northumberland .”
Reviewed June 19, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The apartment was well placed for all the restaurants , take aways and even a Garden centre.It was a joy to wake up and have sun streaming into the lounge and then sit down and watch swans and seals in the harbour. Everyday an ever changing scene greeted us out of the lounge window. We had meals at the Queens head and Grill on the Hill which both offered excellent food and a friendly service. Alnwick gardens the Farne islands (we visited with northern experience) and the stunning northumberland coast are a must.

Date of stay: June 2017
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 2, 2017
Hi,
Glad you had a good week. There was lots to see the week you visited with plenty of wildlife attracted by the sunny weather. We were delighted to see dolphins off the end of the pier last week as well as swans and seals. the sun certainly is lovely when it comes through the arched and round windows of the apartment. Thank you for a lovely review . We would love to welcome you back to Northumberland again.
regards
Keith and Louise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stay70040...
1 review
“Good location for exploring the borders.”
Reviewed June 12, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Warm and comfortable flat. Lovely view over River Tweed,especially early morning..Just the place for a peaceful and relaxing holiday.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 25, 2017
So glad you had a peaceful and relaxing time. Many thanks for your kind review.
regards
Keith and Louise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce S
1 review
“"A cut above all the rest" - book well in advance.”
Reviewed May 29, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This apartment proved to have everything necessary for those who wish to have a home from home.
The convenience of the lift is a great bonus.
The gated parking area is very secure - just a point here...we drive a Citroen C5 and the space alloted for parking for number 4 proved to be quite tight for the width of our car. It was manageable with care. We did observe that smaller cars were the norm. It is also possible to park at the front of the building.
The apartment is modern, stylish and neutrally decorated with a seaside theme which certainly suited our tastes.
All the appliances worked perfectly, the crockery and utensils were spotlessly clean and I certainly (like another reviewer) did not need my favourite little knife from home. There is an abundance of items to cook with, casseroles etc. - just as you would have in your own home.
Hot water on demand - what a convenience!
What can I say about the view - this is paramount - the view was constantly changing through the arched windows. Yes, one looks out on the docks and there are little boats coming and going all day. This was fascinating to us observing the life of the harbour, the wildlife, gulls fighting with crows, a sea otter swimming in the harbour...a pair of ducks made their home on the harbour wall.
Yachts beyond the harbour and one graceful yacht tied up for the night...such a beautiful vessel. We also had a large cargo boat arrive to be loaded with oil seed rape...quite a performance...sorry we missed it leaving harbour as high tide was 2 00 am.
The swans...oh, the swans. I counted over 70 in the harbour one day and that is just a fraction of them.
I don't think you could get more central accommodation - beach, small shops, take-aways, large supermarket - what more would you need?
We don't eat out a lot but we did have lunch at The Barn at Beal which is a favourite of ours over the years and no holiday is complete without a meal there.
Our other meal was at The Queen's Head in town....can I recommend this restaurant to you......this was our first time there and we were impressed with the service and the quality of the food. In seaside parliance 'push the boat out here' !!
Finally we would like to thank Keith and Louise for setting up this wonderful apartment. If you like cleanliness, modernity and tasteful decor in a room with a view then this apartment is definitely for you.

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 30, 2017
Hi Joyce,
Thank you so much for your lovely review. You obviously enjoyed all the things we love about the apartment, first and foremost the view and the wildlife. So pleased you saw the otters and the swans are an endless source of fascination as they patrol in and out of the dock. Hope all was well with you when you got home and so pleased that you enjoyed the apartment.
regards
Keith and Louise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing