We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Holiday Cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Backhill Bothy

View from the Bothy deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the Bothy deck
Bothy wing before conversion, the other 3 wings and courtyard form the owner's house the Bothy with its raised sun deck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
View from the Bothy deck
Bothy wing before conversion, the other 3 wings and courtyard form the owner's house
the Bothy with its raised sun deck
Lounge area in daylight
Lounge area in the evening
There is plenty of space!
Kitchen in daylight
Kitchen in the evening
Why not invite friends to supper?
View for the dishwasher!
Bedroom can be either twin beds or 1 superking double
Bedroom
Shower room with walk-in deluge shower and demister mirror
Garden room
View out from Garden room
View out from Garden room towards Holy Island
Autumn view from deck towards Cocklawburn beach
Autumn view from deck
All you need for a picnic, just provide your own food and wine!
Double dog kennel adjacent to Bothy for exclusive use of your dogs
Our nearest beach at Cocklawburn looking towards Berwick
Our nearest beach at Cocklawburn looking towards Holy Island
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Helen J
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Holiday Cottage”
Reviewed April 1, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We loved everything about the Bothy, its very, very comfortable and spacious and has everything you could possibly need. An added plus is that it's in a lovely quiet secluded location and the views from the sun room are wonderful. We had a wonderful stay and look forward to going back. Thank you very much to John and Trish who really looked after us and for your hospitality.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, views and very friendly owners
Liked least: There is absolutely nothing to dislike about the Bothy
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 2, 2016
It was a pleasure meeting you and we look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazel N
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“5 Star Home from Home”
Reviewed February 25, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

The Bothy was a wonderful place to stay, beautifully presented, well equipped, spacious, everything you need. The icing on the cake was the great sun room,warm & cosy with lovely views. We used it every day even though it was February and really cold outside. We look forward to returning in warmer weather when we would be able to take advantage of the fabulous decking, glass of wine in hand enjoying the views and quietness.
The Bothy certainly ticked all the boxes. Peaceful and quiet with all the home comforts. Location good with easy access to the A1, Berwick, the Borders, Holy Island and local beaches.
Trish and John were very welcoming, helpful and friendly without being intrusive. Would highly recommend.
Thanks for the welcome gift of wine and biscuits, much appreciated.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 19, 2016
Hopefully next time the weather will allow you to make use of the deck!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather R
1 review
“What a Little Gem”
Reviewed October 17, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

What a Gem this property is from the Bedroom right through to the garden room it's absolutely perfect, relaxing extremely comfortable, lovely country views from every room right down to the beaches which are beautiful. There is every utensil you can think of if you wanted to cook some meals if not there are some nice eating places not far from Backhill Bothy. From the decking there is a large lawn area which our dog beau enjoyed exploring as well as the beaches. Nice personal touches from the owners John and Trish who were on hand if you required any further information. We will certainly be booking Backhill Bothy again in the very near future. Heather, John & Beau.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience of the property
Liked least: Going Home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 9, 2015
Great comments, thank you so much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PoppyFlow...
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“So pleased we found this cottage”
Reviewed October 12, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed here the first week in August. We had high expectations given the reviews about this accommodation on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. In fact, it was even better than we expected. John and Trish had even left us a bottle of wine and some lovely biscuits to welcome us. The size of the accommodation is extremely large for two people which is great. I got up early most mornings and having taken my equipment was able to do pilates in the sun room in the morning looking out over the fields which was very calming. We also enjoyed our breakfast in the sun room each morning and chilled out there in the evening, watching the sunset. The bed was large and comfortable and the shower was powerful. The standard of everything was high and it was very clean. Everything you could possibly want was provided. It was lovely to watch the hares in the field and it was interesting to watch the farmer ploughing the field. It was so quiet there which was just what we wanted. It was only a short drive to Berwick where we had some nice meals and the nearby beaches provided some lovely walks. I would definitely like to go back to Backhill Bothy one day. It is a great place to unwind and relax. Thank you Trish and John!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peacefulness, particularly sitting in the sun room. And the comfortable bed.
Liked least: Having to leave to come home.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 9, 2015
Now you know you can chill out here, we hope to see you again in the future. Thanks for the lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lex H
Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely views, brilliant walks.”
Reviewed October 3, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Lovely relaxing holiday. This pet friendly cottage exceeded all expectations. Catered for all our needs a home from home. Trish and John made us very welcome. Beautiful views, loads of country and shore walks for our 5 border terriers. Recommend the Neptune chippy at Seahouses. Will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage catered for all our needs. Very high standard.
Liked least: Would have liked a contained garden for the dogs but it wasn't a huge problem
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 9, 2015
We're very pleased your wee dogs enjoyed their holiday!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan P
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Welcoming, Relaxing, Tranquil - Outstanding!”
Reviewed September 12, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Arriving at the Bothy, you are immediately in relaxing mode - really peaceful, fantastic views of the surrounding farmland and the coast. Berwick upon Tweed is only a few miles away. John and Trish have really put some thought and care into the furnishing of the cottage - we thought that most things if not everything which we required had been catered for - even down to a starter pack of tea, coffee, sugar etc. and a very nice bottle of wine.
We had a really relaxing week, taking advantage of the sun room every day - the views are exceptional.
There are plenty of opportunities for walking in the local area, however if you wish the local beaches are tremendous - long golden sands and they are empty for the most part.
We would recommend driving the coastal route, stopping at the various picturesque fishing villages especially Sea Houses (Fish and Chips are great).

To sum up our visit - we had a really relaxing time, John and Trish are really welcoming hosts who have built a truly exceptional rental cottage. We will certainly be back and can thoroughly recommend Backhill Bothy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquillity
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 16, 2015
That's exactly what we had hoped to provide - a relaxing and comfortable home-from-home - we're very glad we met your expectations.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah T
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Top cottage to celebrate our Silver Wedding Anniversary”
Reviewed September 2, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The best cottage we have ever stayed in ! And we have stayed in many over the last 30 years
The Bothy was very spacious and we enjoyed sitting on the decking in very comfortable deck chairs .
The kitchen was superbly equipped with all the utensils you would need
And the picnic hamper was a added bonus
The views are stunning and it is so peaceful as well
It is very close to all places we wanted to visit .
We even drove to Scotland
We will be back :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The enormous shower and super king bed
Liked least: Leaving
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 16, 2015
What a fantastic review - thank you so much. Glad the weather was good enough to use the deck chairs! Don't wait for your next big anniversary before coming back to see us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing