We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“wonderful”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Backhill Bothy

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

900kated
Thirsk, United Kingdom
1 review
“wonderful”
Reviewed August 5, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

had a great stay. lovely welcome. beautiful accommodation. not to be faulted, photos do not do it justice. we will be back

Date of stay: July 2015
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harriett...
1 review
“Wonderful”
Reviewed August 5, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Beautiful accommodation, not to be faulted. The photos do not do it justice. Lovely welcome from the owners. Immaculate place with stunning views. Had a wonderful time. Thank you we will definatley be back.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 15, 2015
... and we will definitely look forward to welcoming you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JarrarPee...
Peeblesshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best of everything”
Reviewed July 9, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed at Backhill Bothy for a special celebration and it more than lived up to expectations. The hosts have thought of everything and more. It was spacious, comfortable and luxurious. The location is perfect for exploring this beautiful area we just wished we could have stayed longer. The bonus is being able to take your dog. The hosts are so friendly and welcoming and couldn't have been more helpful. We have recommended it to many of our friends and cannot wait to return.

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving to come home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2015
We are so pleased your special celebration went well and would be delighted to welcome you back again, when hopefully you can enjoy a longer stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartAnn...
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfection!”
Reviewed July 6, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We can only endorse the comments in the first review. John and Trish have thought of everything to make for a perfect stay. The huge and comfortable bed and the luxury bathroom deserve a special mention.
Trip highlight was a trip to the Farne Islands. ( 50,000 puffins can't be wrong!) Also don't miss the pub at Low Newton for a great pint and a crab sandwich.

Stuart and Anne Moulton.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 7, 2015
Thank you so much for the "perfect" review! We have aimed to provide the level of comfort we look for on holiday so we're very pleased you enjoyed yourselves.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillandSa...
Lincolnshire, England
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely superb - cannot rate it too highly”
Reviewed June 28, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We give this a definite 5 star rating in all respects. The conversion of the bothy has been extremely well thought out and executed with the highest quality, with little added touches that put it well into the top rank of holiday cottages (such as the lead crystal glasses you can use for that romantic evening in, and the binoculars in the top room so you can watch the birds and wildlife from the comfort of the sofa). The raised decking gives wonderful views across the fields to the coast, and is a great place to watch the hares and deer in the early morning. It is very dog-friendly with an off-lead walk right outside the door. The owners live close by and couldn't be friendlier or more helpful, and can supply information on the best places to park so you can walk your dogs along the banks of the Tweed. We found the cottage ideally positioned for two little used beaches near Berwick, anything you would reach via the A1 (on both sides of the border), and places further to the West that we'd never gone to on previous visits to Northumberland. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would strongly recommend it to anyone.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quietly watching the countryside from the top room and raised decking
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 30, 2015
We couldn't have asked for a better review from our first guests in the Bothy - thank you so much. It's great to know that we are providing what is wanted and that you had a wonderful holiday. See you again in the future we hope.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.