We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice clean B&B”

Friendly Hound Cottage
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berwick upon Tweed
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Friendly Hound Cottage
New Holland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A nice clean B&B”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

A nice clean place with good food a bit out in the sticks but once again 2 dogs! what about allergys? The location means you have to travel by car to reach a pub to have an evening meal :-(
I would choose a B&B nearer Holy Island or on the Island.

Room Tip: An excellent place but poorly located choose another 1 nearer holy Island
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigjohnthecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed at the friendly hound for two nights our second visit and it was once again perfect. The room was spacious and so comfortable and Gale and Nick could not have done more. The bed and breakfast is perfect for seeing Northumberland. Its only about 20 minutes from Berwick and within 20 minutes of Holy Island. Wonderful

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterBeadnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK, Midlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2010

This was just what I wanted as a solo traveller looking to do my own thing and prepared to cover considerable miles to see as much as I could in the time available to me. Everything about the place is A* as far as I am concerned and I would have no problem staying again or recommending others to. The location is quiet and makes for long days touring the area (everything you could want to see is near to hand), eating out lunchtime or early evening at one of the vast selection of village inns you will come across as you wander round Northumberland - and then heading back to the cottage for a bit of peace and tranquility before a easonably early night in prepration for the next days foray. I have not slept so soundly for a long time, Nick and Gail are wonderful hosts and the excellent Breakfast sets you up for big days out. Loved it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artfuldodgeruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2009

Our few days stop was made even better for the warm welcome at this really well kept B&B. Our questions on what to see and where to go were answered with enthusiasm.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davalCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2009

This is a great place to stay. We loved it and wished we could stay longer. The couple who run the Friendly Hound were very frindly and helpful. Highly recommened

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RickZ10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2007

We stayed at the Bed and Breakfast for 2 nights as part of our holiday this year. We were welcomed at the door and everything was of the highest standard. The rooms were not on clean, but also very comfortable and they had everything to make our stay very pleasant. If you are staying in the Berwick area, we can highly recommend this B&B.

  • Liked — friendliness and cleanliness
  • Disliked — loved everything
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SueandMarkinScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berwick upon Tweed hotels
8.3 mi away
Caroline House
Caroline House
#2 of 4 in Spittal
68 reviews
11.1 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
462 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Rob Roy Restaurant
The Rob Roy Restaurant
#9 of 46 in Berwick upon Tweed
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Kings Arms Hotel
Kings Arms Hotel
#25 of 46 in Berwick upon Tweed
247 reviews
9.1 mi away
No 11B Boutique
No 11B Boutique
#6 of 46 in Berwick upon Tweed
200 reviews
8.9 mi away
YHA Berwick
YHA Berwick
#3 of 9 in Berwick upon Tweed
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friendly Hound Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friendly Hound Cottage

Property: Friendly Hound Cottage
Address: Ford Common, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 2QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick upon Tweed
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Berwick upon Tweed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing