We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (825)
Filter reviews
825 results
Traveler rating
808
17
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
808
17
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swan room honesty bar fish cakes overlooking the river guest lounge sky tv coffee machine b and b beautiful room northumbrian breakfast attention to detail great hosts smoked haddock fresh fruit georgian house warm welcome superb breakfast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
805 - 810 of 825 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2008

I have read all the other reviews of "The Walls" and I have to agree with a the extremely positive remarks made. This was one of, if not the, best rooms I have ever stayed in and we have travelled a fair bit. Suzanne and Eric have done a fantastic job on the building which they told was in a very bad state little over a year ago when they moved in. We had the Swan room with a fantastic shower ( I love a good shower) and all the usual nice bathroom touches. Snuggly bath robes. Huge bed with lovely linen. great wall mounted TV with Sky. Free WiFi. Thats a great touch now as more and more places are offering WiFi but not often free. Little wooden chest of drawers with tea/coffee/sugar/milk/choc sachets and last but not least..biscuits. House Beautiful magazine, And the view!!!
Breakfast was as good as we expected, full English one day with a Scottish touch, according to Eric (slice of Haggis) Good local sausages and bacon. 2nd day we had undyed smoked haddock with poached eggs and stottie from the local bakery (arrived in a paper bag while we were still on the fresh fruit) strawbs / rasp / kiwi / pineapple / banana. Honesty bar was a nice touch. We had a decent bottle of red (cant remember what type) for £7.50
have to apologise for the random order of my comments as things keep popping into my head. Would love to stay again and as we live in Nottingham and our daughter is at Edinburgh university for another 3 years, its quite a distinct possibility. See you again Suzanne and Eric and well done to Gemma (daughter) for her choice of stunning light fittings

Date of stay: May 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ddickinscoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2008

fantastic setting on the quayside at Berwick where the Tweed joins the sea lots of seabirds and swans

Beautifully decorated rooms to a high standard with lovely guest lounge

Breakfast varied with high quality fresh ingredients we were asked what we would like poached haddock, fish cakes, porridge as well as usual bacon egg sausage fresh fruit and organic yoghurts.

Eric and Suzanne excellent hosts couldn't do enough for us and gave very helpful advice for days out.

Lovely countryside and coastal walks
very good base for visiting Alnwick castle and gardens a must with lovely fountains, rills a giant tree house as well as a Harry Potter Castle. So a good place for children

Also Holy Island, walks round St Abb's head boat rides out to see the birds on the farne islands and not too far from Scotland and Hadrian's Wall

We had good evening meals at Foxton's in the town and The Cross Inn at Paxton. Doesn't look much outside but food is good.

Date of stay: May 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJSOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2008

We had a great four day stay in this beautiful house and part of the country. The house, lounge and bedroom were luxurious, the breakfasts delicious and abundant and our hosts delightful. We promised ourselves a return visit.

Date of stay: April 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Holidaymakers66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2008

We were doing the Coast and Castles cycle route and very nearly didn't end up staying in Berwick at all. Most places wanted us to stay two nights, which is difficult when cycling from place to place. However, after visiting TripAdvisor, we tried The Walls, which were happy to offer us a nights stay, and better still could lock our bikes away in their basement.

We had a great welcome from Suzanne and were taken to our room, Swan, which was huge with great views over the Tweed. The room was immaculately decorated with a huge sleigh bed, LCD TV with all the channels you could wish for (not a great pull for me but I'm sure there are people out there who would love that), bathrobes, a very clean and spacious bathroom all in a beautifully appointed grade II listed house.

Breakfast was cooked by Suzanne and served by Eric, and there is plenty of it - cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts, juice and a cooked breakfast. We don't eat meat or fish, but this didn't stop Suzanne who cooked us potato pancakes - excellent food.

In terms of eating out all I would like to say is don't eat at the Magna Tandoori on Bridge Street - get recommendations from Suzanne and Eric, which unfortunately we didn't do until the morning we were leaving!!! The Barrels pub round the corner from The Walls is great though. Alternatively you could sit in the front room and help yourself to drinks / snacks from the honesty bar (not something you find in England very often, but a great touch).

Hopefully soon Suzanne will open out her front room as a little tea / coffee shop, which she was telling us about. I think this would be an excellent idea and be a great addition to the town of Berwick... the location for this would be ideal as The Walls sits right on Quay Walls, part of the Rampart Walk.

Date of stay: May 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Samkirk9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2008

This is one of those places that you just can't fault. From the warm greeting by one of the hosts Suzanne to the very large and comfortable rooms where all considerations are taken care of. There are lots of nice touches around the place as well. For example, free wi-fi, honesty bar (where there is a huge choice of wines, beers and snacks) through to bath robes and Sky TV in all the rooms with all the channels to choose from.

The location is excellent as well with views from the rooms over looking the nearby river and rail and train bridges. The rooms are very large with ornate fireplaces, huge beds and chairs to relax in. All are very well furnished and decorated to a high standard. The bathroom like every where else in the building is of a high spec with a great shower.

We arrived on bike and were able to store them in the cellar below which gives you some peace of mind about their security. Breakfast was also very good. Lots of fresh fruits and yoghurts, cereals and toast and home made potato pancakes for the vegetarians. All this was served with nice crockery and cutlery with Radio 4 being heard in the background.

For pubs nearby I would recommend The Barrels. This pub has lots of real ales, good lively atmosphere and is just round the corner from The Walls. One thing I would definitely advise against is a visit to the Magna Tandoori Indian restaurant. The food here was very poor. Frozen vegetables in non-tasting curry sauce. Suzanne and Eric will be able to advise on much better restaurants in the area.

Date of stay: May 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TravelPad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews