We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B with welcoming hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Walls Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 9, 2008

We were doing the Coast and Castles cycle route and very nearly didn't end up staying in Berwick at all. Most places wanted us to stay two nights, which is difficult when cycling from place to place. However, after visiting TripAdvisor, we tried The Walls, which were happy to offer us a nights stay, and better still could lock our bikes away in their basement.

We had a great welcome from Suzanne and were taken to our room, Swan, which was huge with great views over the Tweed. The room was immaculately decorated with a huge sleigh bed, LCD TV with all the channels you could wish for (not a great pull for me but I'm sure there are people out there who would love that), bathrobes, a very clean and spacious bathroom all in a beautifully appointed grade II listed house.

Breakfast was cooked by Suzanne and served by Eric, and there is plenty of it - cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts, juice and a cooked breakfast. We don't eat meat or fish, but this didn't stop Suzanne who cooked us potato pancakes - excellent food.

In terms of eating out all I would like to say is don't eat at the Magna Tandoori on Bridge Street - get recommendations from Suzanne and Eric, which unfortunately we didn't do until the morning we were leaving!!! The Barrels pub round the corner from The Walls is great though. Alternatively you could sit in the front room and help yourself to drinks / snacks from the honesty bar (not something you find in England very often, but a great touch).

Hopefully soon Suzanne will open out her front room as a little tea / coffee shop, which she was telling us about. I think this would be an excellent idea and be a great addition to the town of Berwick... the location for this would be ideal as The Walls sits right on Quay Walls, part of the Rampart Walk.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Samkirk9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (609)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

595 - 601 of 609 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2008

This is one of those places that you just can't fault. From the warm greeting by one of the hosts Suzanne to the very large and comfortable rooms where all considerations are taken care of. There are lots of nice touches around the place as well. For example, free wi-fi, honesty bar (where there is a huge choice of wines, beers and snacks) through to bath robes and Sky TV in all the rooms with all the channels to choose from.

The location is excellent as well with views from the rooms over looking the nearby river and rail and train bridges. The rooms are very large with ornate fireplaces, huge beds and chairs to relax in. All are very well furnished and decorated to a high standard. The bathroom like every where else in the building is of a high spec with a great shower.

We arrived on bike and were able to store them in the cellar below which gives you some peace of mind about their security. Breakfast was also very good. Lots of fresh fruits and yoghurts, cereals and toast and home made potato pancakes for the vegetarians. All this was served with nice crockery and cutlery with Radio 4 being heard in the background.

For pubs nearby I would recommend The Barrels. This pub has lots of real ales, good lively atmosphere and is just round the corner from The Walls. One thing I would definitely advise against is a visit to the Magna Tandoori Indian restaurant. The food here was very poor. Frozen vegetables in non-tasting curry sauce. Suzanne and Eric will be able to advise on much better restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TravelPad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2008

Visited the Walls for one evening on Saturday 15 March 2008. Hosts were very welcoming and helpful with restaurant recommendations etc. Stayed in the Tweed Room which was lovely, clean and spacious. The room (in fact the entire property) was beautifully furnished with some fab art deco lighting. Bathroom was spotless with Crabtree and Evelyn toiletries.

Breakfast was very good with fresh fruit, cereals and a choice of fish or full english. All in all an excellent find for a peaceful weekend away.

We visited the Villa Spice (at the recommendation of The Walls) for dinner on the Saturday evening. Food and service was excellent. However we could not say the same for the Queen's Head (on Sandgate). We booked in advance for sunday lunch. Unless you are a regular expect to be pretty much ignored. We sat for 20 minutes with our coats on without having been given a menu whilst two other parties (both of whom knew the staff) who came in after us and had their coats hung up, orders taken and moved to their table in the restaurant before we were even spoken to. Food was average.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmafTyneandWear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2007

This ex-Sea Captian's house has been completely refurbished and turned into a top quality B&B (opened June/July 2007 I think). The Swan room has a huge 6ft wide bed, and has been furnished to a high standard. Excellent linen and towels are used, and the bathroom is very good.

Breakfast was also very good, and served in a small dining room (3 tables) which was more in keeping with a good hotel (as opposed to the bric-a-brac laden room you might imagine in a B&B).

The Barrels pub around the corner is highly recommended too.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swannell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2007

The Walls B&B is a really superb place to stay. Suzanne made us feel really welcome, with home made fishcakes for breakfast, which were delicious & are highly recommended. We stayed in The Swan room which was done up to a very high standard with exceptional attention to detail, a huge sleigh bed (which was extremely comfortable) , LCD TV & full Sky TV. We stayed for 2 nights & the first night we ate in a lovely little Italian restaurant called Verdi, which was real value for money. The second Night we ate in the Queens Head, which was really lovely, the food excellent. We recommend you have a few drinks at a pub called The Barrels, which we went in both nights, the 2nd night Suzanne, Eric & Gemma were in and called us over to sit with them, which we thought was really nice of them & again made us feel welcome. We visited Lindisfarne and St. Abbs, which was recommended by Eric & Suzanne,which was a lovely place & would advise anyone to go on the coastal walk for absolutley stunning views. We will definately come back to The Walls in Spring/Summertime as most of the attractions are closed for the Winter, such as the castles etc, but don't let that put you off, as there is plenty other places to visit.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ssbuko1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2007

I had a wonderful stay at The Walls. The B&B is newly refurbished, and sits directly on the wall surrounding Berwick. Eric and Suzanne were very attentive and kind. The room was very clean and comfortable, and breakfast was delicious. I look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sk2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2007

We stayed for 3 nights at the Walls and had a great time. The room we were allocated was huge and beautifully furnished with a lovely ensuite shower room. Breakfast was also very good - a choice of fresh fruit salads and cereals and full english fry up or kippers.

Suzanne and family have clearly put a great deal of thought into doing up this elegant old building and it shows. Suzanne was a great host, welcoming and friendly and gave us excellent suggestions for eating out and things to do locally. Its a great place to base yourself if you want to explore the northumberland coast. For a B and B its extremely good value for money. This place sets a standard that most other providers can only aspire to.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Wombat1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berwick upon Tweed hotels
2.7 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#1 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
488 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
426 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
#3 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
No 11B Boutique
No 11B Boutique
#6 of 45 in Berwick upon Tweed
215 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parade School Guest House
Parade School Guest House
#7 of 45 in Berwick upon Tweed
152 reviews
3.5 mi away
West Longridge Manor
West Longridge Manor
#3 of 45 in Berwick upon Tweed
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Walls Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Walls Bed and Breakfast

Address: 8 Quay Walls, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 1HB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick upon Tweed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Berwick upon Tweed
Price Range: $106 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Walls Bed and Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Walls is a beautiful and elegant period townhouse overlooking the Tweed Estuary, right on the Elizabethan Walls and in the tranquil heart of the old town of Berwick. Recently restored to its former Georgian splendour. The Walls offers luxurious comfort but with modern conveniences such as free Wi-Fi internet access and full Sky TV on large flat-screen TVs. We also have secure storage for bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Walls Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing