We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Enjoyed by all of us plus dog!!!”
other travelers have booked this property
40 Ravensdowne, a Georgian grade two listed family town house, Berwick upon Tweed,a stroll to beach.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
40 Ravensdowne, a Georgian grade two listed family town house, Berwick upon Tweed,a stroll to beach.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
40 Ravensdowne, a Georgian grade two listed family town house, Berwick upon Tweed,a stroll to beach.
Walk along Berwick's pier
Rear of Ravensdowne, leading to golf course, tennis courts, the beach, the ramparts.
Berwick ramparts
Walk the town walls
A short stroll to the beach
Walk the Elizabethan ramparts
One of Berwick's three bridges. Riverside walks. Seals can often be spotted in estuary.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jenny M
Aviemore, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Enjoyed by all of us plus dog!!!”
Reviewed August 7, 2018 for a stay in July 2018
2
people found this review helpful

Five ensuite bedrooms, good sized sitting room, plenty seating in dining room, small patio and a kitchen. Kitchen is small but has all you need. Don't expect modern luxury...this house is old and comfortable and has a lot of facinating history as do the ramparts behind it and the city.
We visited beaches, Berwick Castle ruins, Paxton House and the fairy trail, Lindisfarne , museum in the Town Hall and Alnwick Castle. All fantastic.
Response from our host was quick and helpful. Lots of games and information in the house.

Date of stay: July 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Date of stay: April 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 6, 2018
Many thanks, much appreciated. Really pleased you can return
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
David R
1 review
“Great accommodation in centre of Berwick”
Reviewed April 17, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

It had everything we needed as a family with young grandchildren for a good holiday. Large rooms and comfortable beds. On road parking not always guaranteed but large free carpark only 5 minutes away

Date of stay: April 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 29, 2018
Many thanks David, very much appreciated. Thank you for looking after the house.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrDaveWhi...
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great house in great location”
Reviewed December 30, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

We were looking for a large house to accommodate two families over Christmas. Set in the heart of historic Berwick-Upon-Tweed and brimming over with character, this rental ticked ever box. Apart from one day at Holy Island / Lindisfarne and one day trip to Bamburgh, our entire stay focused on Berwick with it's array of quaint shops, bars and restaurants and countless short walks with stunning vistas.

The owner couldn't have been more courteous and helpful - enabling us to make the most of our midwinter break.

Recommended *****

Date of stay: December 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJJ0606
Reigate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic base for a holiday in the North East”
Reviewed November 25, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

A group of 8 of us stayed here for a week at the end of October, and it was absolutely perfect. The location is amazing, being sited within the old town walls and everything Berwick has to offer within walking distance. The living space in the house was wonderful, it's a real tardis! And the fact that everyone had their own bathroom was a luxury and made life in the mornings much easier. Edinburgh is only 45 mins away on the train, and a short drive away are the Farne Islands, the impressive Bamburgh Castle and the lovely town of Seahouses. A Treasure Trail helped us explore Berwick to the full. All in all a great holiday, that I would thoroughly recommend and love to repeat!

Date of stay: October 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 27, 2017
That is very kind and much appreciated. A pleasure having you to stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hya2cynth
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another fabulous stay”
Reviewed October 16, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We have returned for the first time to a property and it was well worth it. This property is superb for the larger parties as it has 5 beds all en suite and a ground floor loo. The location is excellent for local access and for a little further afield. It is a little quirky yet homely and comfortable. If you are wondering about renting it, I thoroughly recommend you do.

Date of stay: October 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heckmondw...
Colleyville, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful residence for a large group to explore the Scottish Borders”
Reviewed August 30, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Two years ago, we started planning a family reunion in Berwick for a week. So, 15 months ago, we found the only rental property in Berwick that sleeps 10 and we made the reservation. The owner, Chris Allen, although he lives 140 miles away from Berwick, was most responsive. We were concerned that there was only one hairdryer for 5 females in the group, so he added a couple more. One night when a circuit breaker tripped, within minutes Chris replied to my text and I was able to locate and reset the breaker (in an old house -there are several well-hidden breakers!!).
 The bedrooms were ideal, especially the attic bedroom which was immediately claimed by our two granddaughters who loved the private staircase to their room. The huge dining room table was also a hit seating 10.
One of our party is a professional chef who was easily able to cater a 3-course meal for 6, including wine finding plenty of cooking pots and pans and an abundance of glassware, plates and cutlery.  
The location is superb and the athletic members of the group would run around the historic walls and out along the pier for their pre-breakfast exercise. Fords, the local bakery, is just a few yards away and opens at 7am so you can purchase traditional Scottish bread rolls. There is a good old-fashioned butcher nearby where we bought excellent lamb.
Berwick is an ideal center for exploring the many stately mansions in the Borders, Alnwick Castle of Harry Potter fame is 40 mins drive away, Edinburgh is 58 miles away with high speed train service available if you want to avoid the parking hassle! The grandkids enjoyed the simple pleasures of building sandcastles at Spittal beach or catching crabs at Cocklawburn beach. The Berwickshire Coastal path goes through Berwick and the pretty Scottish towns of Eyemouth and St Abbs are only 8 miles away.
There is a comprehensive folder of local attractions and restaurant recommendations and we found the Queen's Head pub within easy walking distance to be an excellent choice for evening meals.
This is a beautifully kept property and ideal for a large group visiting the Borders.

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 2, 2017
Thank you very much. Greatly appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing