We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great house in great location”
other travelers have booked this property
40 Ravensdowne, a Georgian grade two listed family town house, Berwick upon Tweed,a stroll to beach.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
40 Ravensdowne, a Georgian grade two listed family town house, Berwick upon Tweed,a stroll to beach.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
40 Ravensdowne, a Georgian grade two listed family town house, Berwick upon Tweed,a stroll to beach.
Walk along Berwick's pier
Rear of Ravensdowne, leading to golf course, tennis courts, the beach, the ramparts.
Berwick ramparts
Walk the town walls
A short stroll to the beach
Walk the Elizabethan ramparts
One of Berwick's three bridges. Riverside walks. Seals can often be spotted in estuary.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MrDaveWhi...
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great house in great location”
Reviewed December 30, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

We were looking for a large house to accommodate two families over Christmas. Set in the heart of historic Berwick-Upon-Tweed and brimming over with character, this rental ticked ever box. Apart from one day at Holy Island / Lindisfarne and one day trip to Bamburgh, our entire stay focused on Berwick with it's array of quaint shops, bars and restaurants and countless short walks with stunning vistas.

The owner couldn't have been more courteous and helpful - enabling us to make the most of our midwinter break.

Recommended *****

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJJ0606
Reigate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic base for a holiday in the North East”
Reviewed November 25, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

A group of 8 of us stayed here for a week at the end of October, and it was absolutely perfect. The location is amazing, being sited within the old town walls and everything Berwick has to offer within walking distance. The living space in the house was wonderful, it's a real tardis! And the fact that everyone had their own bathroom was a luxury and made life in the mornings much easier. Edinburgh is only 45 mins away on the train, and a short drive away are the Farne Islands, the impressive Bamburgh Castle and the lovely town of Seahouses. A Treasure Trail helped us explore Berwick to the full. All in all a great holiday, that I would thoroughly recommend and love to repeat!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 27, 2017
That is very kind and much appreciated. A pleasure having you to stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hya2cynth
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another fabulous stay”
Reviewed October 16, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We have returned for the first time to a property and it was well worth it. This property is superb for the larger parties as it has 5 beds all en suite and a ground floor loo. The location is excellent for local access and for a little further afield. It is a little quirky yet homely and comfortable. If you are wondering about renting it, I thoroughly recommend you do.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heckmondw...
North Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful residence for a large group to explore the Scottish Borders”
Reviewed August 30, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Two years ago, we started planning a family reunion in Berwick for a week. So, 15 months ago, we found the only rental property in Berwick that sleeps 10 and we made the reservation. The owner, Chris Allen, although he lives 140 miles away from Berwick, was most responsive. We were concerned that there was only one hairdryer for 5 females in the group, so he added a couple more. One night when a circuit breaker tripped, within minutes Chris replied to my text and I was able to locate and reset the breaker (in an old house -there are several well-hidden breakers!!).
 The bedrooms were ideal, especially the attic bedroom which was immediately claimed by our two granddaughters who loved the private staircase to their room. The huge dining room table was also a hit seating 10.
One of our party is a professional chef who was easily able to cater a 3-course meal for 6, including wine finding plenty of cooking pots and pans and an abundance of glassware, plates and cutlery.  
The location is superb and the athletic members of the group would run around the historic walls and out along the pier for their pre-breakfast exercise. Fords, the local bakery, is just a few yards away and opens at 7am so you can purchase traditional Scottish bread rolls. There is a good old-fashioned butcher nearby where we bought excellent lamb.
Berwick is an ideal center for exploring the many stately mansions in the Borders, Alnwick Castle of Harry Potter fame is 40 mins drive away, Edinburgh is 58 miles away with high speed train service available if you want to avoid the parking hassle! The grandkids enjoyed the simple pleasures of building sandcastles at Spittal beach or catching crabs at Cocklawburn beach. The Berwickshire Coastal path goes through Berwick and the pretty Scottish towns of Eyemouth and St Abbs are only 8 miles away.
There is a comprehensive folder of local attractions and restaurant recommendations and we found the Queen's Head pub within easy walking distance to be an excellent choice for evening meals.
This is a beautifully kept property and ideal for a large group visiting the Borders.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 2, 2017
Thank you very much. Greatly appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessAckro...
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fantastic house for a large group”
Reviewed July 13, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This lovely property is in a perfect location. The road is very quiet at night and the town, beach and train station are all a short walk away. Berwick itself has some great restaurants. We were also able to visit both Edinburgh and Newcastle by train as they were about 45 minutes away (book in advance if you go).

There is free parking in all car parks in Berwick as well as on street parking with the provided permit for one car. Be aware that the street is very narrow particularly at the top when it's only wide enough for one car.

There was plenty of room for everyone to sit in the living and dining rooms (there were 8 adults) and all of the bedrooms were lovely, although a couple were missing wardrobes and the back room couldn't get a WiFi signal. En-suite bathrooms were great for such a large group of us.

The kitchen was really well equipped so we were able to cook large group meals on several nights.

There was a great selection of board games in one of the bedrooms and DVDs in the living room that we took advantage of.

The house was very homely and comfortable. I would definitely recommend this property to anyone.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2017
That's very kind. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hya2cynth
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Location location location!”
Reviewed April 7, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Beautiful period property, in a street full of diverse period properties, in a town brimming over with history, a short walk from the beach, the shops and the said history. If its necessary to leave then a short drive will lead you to several other activities. It really is in a perfect location. This property ticked all our boxes, the only downside really being lack of outside space, but again a short walk leads you to the ample grassed walls of Berwick and then the rockpools, so not a problem really.
We all would like to return as a week was not really long enough, and in 24yrs we have never returned anywhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 10, 2017
That is a very kind review thank you. It was a pleasure having you to stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabithaPe...
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a Gem!”
Reviewed October 24, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

A fabulous spacious house in a great location. The five en-suite bathrooms were just the ticket for a large group. We brought two families together for a wedding and the large dining room was fantastic as everyone could get round the table together to eat. The décor is very high standard and is homely and relaxing. The house is very well equipped, especially the kitchen. We enjoyed the games that were there, and flew the kite from the shed on the beach. Our dog loved the beach and led us there every day! The beach, restaurants and shops are just on the doorstep. I would thoroughly recommend this lovely property to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: 5 en-suites and the big dining table, and we could bring our dog.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing