We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“All rooms en-suite makes this the best house...”
other travelers have booked this property
40 Ravensdowne, a Georgian grade two listed family town house, Berwick upon Tweed,a stroll to beach.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
40 Ravensdowne, a Georgian grade two listed family town house, Berwick upon Tweed,a stroll to beach.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
40 Ravensdowne, a Georgian grade two listed family town house, Berwick upon Tweed,a stroll to beach.
Walk along Berwick's pier
Rear of Ravensdowne, leading to golf course, tennis courts, the beach, the ramparts.
Berwick ramparts
Walk the town walls
A short stroll to the beach
Walk the Elizabethan ramparts
One of Berwick's three bridges. Riverside walks. Seals can often be spotted in estuary.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
khepher
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
“All rooms en-suite makes this the best house we've stayed in.”
Reviewed October 18, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

What a wonderful find this house was. So spacious, comfortable and well equipped for all our needs. Beds were so comfy with lovely soft linen and towels, en-suite showers fab and the street was very peaceful at night. We had a very enjoyable time in Berwick itself, walking the walls, the river and beaches, sampling the beers in the Barrel Ale House and a free open wkend allowed us to see some of the heritage sites which would normally not be open to the public, very interesting. Had a day trip to Edinburgh on the train (booked tickets in advance only cost £5.60 return in Virgin sale) most enjoyable. We had good weather but in any weather we would have had just as good a holiday as there was so much to do and see. Couldn't do all we wanted so a return visit is definitely on the cards. Thanks so much to Chris the owner for letting us stay in his beautiful house (it is a credit to you), his help with booking direct (saving agents fees) and his advice on things to do and see in area. Also many thanks for the welcome gifts, very kind and thoughtful of you and much appreciated by our party. Will recommend to family & friends without a doubt and return ourselves in the future. We all had an Ace holiday at 40 Ravensdowne and in Berwick on Tweed, it was a 5*+ stay !! Try it for yourself - you won't be disappointed

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: All bedrooms were en-suite.
Liked least: Nothing at all - it was faultless.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 20, 2016
Well, thanks Keith, absolute pleasure to have you stay. What a nice review, really cheered up my day. Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Heating difficult to figure out for Canadians.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 9, 2016
Many thanks Mr Minors. It was great to meet you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ole L
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic stay in Berwick-Upon-Tweed”
Reviewed September 15, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We have had a fantastisk holiday in a beautiful house. It is spacious and well equipped. We have been 3 families together and here are room enough for even more. We enjoyed staying in such wonderful surroundings and wish to come back.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry R
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Accommodation in a central location”
Reviewed September 15, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Excellent place, and we really enjoyed our weeks stay. All bedrooms are en suite, so no queuing for the bathroom! The House is well equipped and only a couple of minutes from the centre of Town, so easy access to numerous eating and drinking establishments.

The owner Chis couldn't have been more helpful, and we hope to make another trip here in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2016
Thanks! It was great to have you stay. You would be very welcome
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to come together”
Reviewed January 2, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We got (almost!) the whole family together for Christmas in 40 Ravensdowne. It was a fantastic rental for us, with great, spacious rooms and a fantastic location. There is access to the Elizabethan ramparts just a few meters down the road from the house, and there always seemed to be someone out walking off that "just one more" mince pie!

The owners were fantastic, just the right amount of communication before our stay, checking whether there was anything special we needed for our stay over Christmas; they even provided a tree, decorations, and crackers. We didn't need any assistance during the holiday, but from when I did talk with them beforehand, I felt confident that we'd have gotten a quick response had there been anything we needed.

The kitchen is medium sized and very well equipped. Comfortable for two to cook together, and we did a roast goose and turkey and all the trimmings without running out of roasting trays, pans, or implements. There were several options for your morning tea or coffee, a filter machine and a couple of cafetieres, and a good sized teapot. The fridge and freezer are separate full height units, and there's plenty of cupboard space for dry goods.

We had a great time, and would recommend the house strongly.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigerbug
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home”
Reviewed December 3, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Stayed with three teenagers(one fairly unwilling) and two dogs. Even the unwilling one admitted he'd enjoyed it afterwards!. Easy access to city walls and beach and lots of fun for the dogs. House is well-equipped and comfortable with the added bonus of every room being en suite. Quick walk to the shops/pubs /restaurants in the town of which there is a good variety. Only drawback was the poor TV reception and lack of wi-fi. The owner couldn't have been more helpful and informed me that there will be wi-fi in future.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 4, 2014
Many thanks for your kind comments. Very much appreciated. Apologies for the poor TV reception. Just today we fitted a new aerial and amplifier. 200 channels perfect reception. Sorry that is too late for you. We had not realised there was a problem. WiFi ordered for next year. Thanks again. Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete W
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a great place to stay!”
Reviewed September 15, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed here in August this year with another family and had an absolutely brilliant time.

The property is comfortable and spacious with plenty of room for two families. Downstairs there is a large lounge with good kitchen and a good sized dining room. Upstairs the bedrooms are all very spacious with ensuite toilet and showers. It is very clean, bright and tidy, having obviously had a very recent refurb.

The real selling point of this property is it superb location. Ravensdowne is the smartest street in Berwick being close to the town walls, shops, beach and golf club. We stayed there a week and only used the car a couple of times; there is so much to do within walking distance. We always used to stay in Alnwick, but Berwick has so much more to offer. We will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing