We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worth a visit”
Review of Queens Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Queens Head Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed here on new years eve, and had a wonderful evening in Berwick. Lovely little hotel and restaurant, with bags of character. We were in room 5 and were very impressed with the lovely little touches, fruit, sweets, water, and a great assortment of teas, coffee etc. Comfy beds and a seating area. Toiletries in the bathroom, and nice BIG bath towels! We had a super night in Berwick, the barrels around the corner worth a visit, as was Foxtons up on the same side as the Queens. The food looked lovely at the Queens, although we did not dine, as we were meeting friends. At breakfast there was a good choice, and could have had the kippers, smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, but went for the full english, to set us up for the day, and very glad we did! Beautifully cooked and presented, and we were served by the very friendly owner! We will certainly return to this great little find, they have got the recipe right, and I will recommend to anyone!

Room Tip: Room 5 overlooking main street, large enough to take double and single bed, did not see other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karentimmins53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thanks Karen for your review & pleased you enjoyed your evening in Berwick. Although Berwick is suffering in the economic climate (the High St & retail shops) the natives of the town continue to be positive & network together to hopefully raise the profile of the town & for all of our tourists to leave happy & content to either 'spread the word' or hopefully return.
There is not a lot of job prosperity in Berwick or the surrounding area so tourism must be one of the ways forward generating income & securing jobs.
We are more than happy your room was more than acceptable & you appreciating the little extra touches in the room We are a listed building so although there are lots of restrictions to what we can do within our premises, we continue to be pro-active & are constantly looking on how to improve our business & our concept. We are under going a re-furbishment in end of February in the hotel thus retaining some of the characteristics of a period building but looking to incorporate a contemporary feel(like mixing the old with the new).
Lets hope if you decide to stay with us next time you dine with us so you can sample some of our culinary delights.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    89
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
60
196
10
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed for three nights between xmas and new year.the staff were friendly,helpfull and welcoming. Had a great nights sleep in one of the most comfortable beds ive slept in.Breakfast was plentiful and of good quality. The choice on the lunch and dinner menu was varied and great value. Room had all you needed and more. Great central location. Will definatley stay again

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citybreakers46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Appreciate your kind words Citybreakers & pleased we exceeded your expectations.
Compliments when you say that the bed was one of the most comfortable you have slept in. All of our beds are orthopaedic individually 1200 pocket sprung. But if I am truthful that's only part of the correct answer as peace & quiet play a big part.
We can all relate to when staying in a big hotel, other guests walking past our rooms talking & creaking floorboards, thankfully being a small hotel this does limit that form of disturbance. Traffic is also limited outside the hotel, so as mentioned comfortable beds are an important part to the overall picture but it is what guests most remember a decent nights sleep'.
A good selection of breakfast sets you up to do the site seeing & Berwick is an ideal location for any potential customers to do this.
Let's hope we see you both in the future & again appreciate your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed at the Queens Head on traveling up to Scotland. The food and service were both superb and the family room suited us well. I'm sure we will stay again and would recommend it. Free wifi, good a TV and lots of snacks provided.

Room Tip: Plenty of room for 4 in the family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
A big thanks Sue for your kind review & were pleased the family had an enjoyable evening with us. Although we are a grade 2 listed building, we try to utilize the space as best as we can with thought & consideration being taken into what goes into the concept of all of our bedrooms.
We are having a re-furbishment in all of our rooms at the end of February using a reputable National company who have prepared floor plans & bespoke furniture to maximise what limited space we have in our rooms. I personally think they have succeed in this but guessing only time will tell & feedback from our customers.
The little touches matter in the rooms like free jelly beans, fruit & water &' in this day & age' free wi-fi is expected. As previously mentioned power showers & a good comfortable bed are absolutely paramount irrespective if on holiday or business.
Your review mentioned that all of you were more than happy with the food & service, fingers crossed if you decide to return to this area we can hopefully replicate ticking all the correct boxes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

The Queens Head is a great comfy welcoming hotel in a ideal setting to visit Berwick. The welcome was warm friendly and informative, the room was clean,fresh very comfy excellently presented for evening meal which was wonderful, and stylishly furnished. We ate in the restaurant in the evening,Gary was a wonderful host and even offered us things that weren't on the menu.The food was excellent and the setting superb. Breakfast was as good as expected and the service excellent, overall we'd highly recommend the Queen's Head Hotel and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: only got 6 rooms so all are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adam b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Appreciate your kind words Adam. All the boxes seemed to be ticked in the right places. In all honesty though its the whole package ie. customer service, hospitality, good bedrooms (a power shower & comfortable bed a must) free wi-fi , & fresh locally sourced food..
Hopefully if all the boxes are ticked customers generally return or 'spread the word'. Recommendation is a powerful tool.
Your review also mentioned stylish furniture which we are due to have a re-furbishment of all the rooms at the end of February 2014. As previously mentioned you have to stay ahead of your competitors & if residing guests think the rooms are tired the damage is already done.
With regards to the evening meal again our aim is to ensure everyone is happy & content. Our menus, which change regularly may not be to everyone's taste but using fresh produce we can diversify the menu upon request. Freshly prepared & cooked breakfasts although take time make a massive difference & I think customers appreciate that.
In all many thanks again for your kind review & hope to see you both in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely 4 night stay. The hotel is very comfortable and the staff are really friendly and helpful. The food is excellent. Couldn't ask for more. I definitely recommend it. Good wi-fi as well. A good base for doing Berwick.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugh909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Many thanks for your kind words Hugh & pleased your 4 day stay with us was an enjoyable one. Its a fine line as tourist season drops off considerably when the main attractions are closed at the end of October. I can appreciate that main attractions need to carry out re-furbishments & maintenance but if advertising was done correctly attractions could alternate on opening, therefore tourists would still come to this part of Northumberland in the closed season & continue to generate income throughout the year.
Some people do prefer peace & quiet or re-charge their batteries in the off season. There are an abundance of sites to see free of charge in Northumberland & the Borders, that's what makes Berwick an ideal location with accessibility & public transport ready available if required.
We are having our own re-furbishment at the end of February in the bedrooms with all new furniture being installed in the rooms.
In all honesty you have to stay ahead of the competition & if the guests think a place is looking tired, the damage is already done.
Here's hoping we see you both in the future all being well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddleworth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

A lovely, small family-run hotel right in the middle of Berwick. We found the service to be very friendly, the food excellent - (we dined in each night. Such was the qualityand range of choices that we saw no reason to trudge around the town looking for anywhere else in the short time
we were there) - and the accomodation comfortable and very clean.
Gary, the owner, and his staff were all cheery and friendly and added to the extremely freindly and relaxed atmosphere that characterised the hotel.
Its not surprising that many locals appear to eat there too and there is something quite reassuring when one sees whilst eating breakfast each morning the local Eyemouth fisherman walk in with a selection of the day's catch for the kitchen to prepare and serve that day.
Have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to any other traveller or tourist

Room Tip: Only have knowledge of rooms 5 & 6, but both were very good and although at the front of the hou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Many thanks for your kind words Michael. Thanks for supporting us through your 3 night stay & its all reassuring from our perspective that you decided to dine with us each night.
With us running the hotel for the last 13 years, we have built up a reputable reputation in the surrounding area & fingers crossed will continue to do so. I agree from a visitors point of view that its reassuring to see locals dining in the restaurant because ' word of mouth' in a small is the best form of advertising.
With using locally sourced seasonal produce we are fortunate to have such great suppliers who can deliver on a daily basis(including a Sunday) to ensure fresh produce is always available & to have no excuse to using anything else. Long may that continue!
Here's hoping we see you all in the future all being well?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

A comfortable hotel, right next to the town walls and a great base for exploring Berwick.On street parking is £1 for two hours, from 9am-5.30pm, so if you time your visit well, you can park outside the hotel for just two £1 tickets. The room was comfortable, the wifi was good but the main selling points were the lovely staff and the outstanding evening meal menu - much more sophisticated and tasty than pub grub. We'll be back, whenever we next visit Northumberland and the Scottish Borders.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JournalistLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Many thanks for your kind words. Berwick is an ideal base to visit the attractions & historic buildings surrounding the area. Accessibility through the main A1 or main line on British rail is good too. Parking is also good value but from March 2014 is going to be free of charge, which in return will hopefully increase the footfall through Berwick in the future, lets hope so anyway.
The hotel provides free wi-fi but in all honesty that should be standard practice these days? You were both complimentary on the service & evening meals,as the old saying goes 'you are only as good your last meal' certainly bares some truth'. Here's hoping we see you both in the future. Thanks again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berwick upon Tweed
2.7 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
21.2 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
23.6 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kings Arms Hotel
Kings Arms Hotel
#23 of 45 in Berwick upon Tweed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Walls Bed and Breakfast
The Walls Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 45 in Berwick upon Tweed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Head Hotel

Property: Queens Head Hotel
Address: 6 Sandgate, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 1EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick upon Tweed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Berwick upon Tweed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run hotel providing quality accommodation with a contemporary feel whilst retaining old period characteristics. All of our food is locally sourced & seasonal produce is essential. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Queens Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Queens Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing