We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Great Staff”
Review of Queens Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Queens Head Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
cumbria
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great Staff”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

On holiday in Berwick-upon-Tweed and wanted somewhere to go for a nice meal in nice surroundings and I have to say this place ticked all the boxes. The staff were very attentive and the food was well presented and very tasty. Probably one of the more expensive places to eat out in the town and drinks quite expensive but worth it for a special treat. I would definitely eat here again if I found myself back in Berwick-upon-Tweed

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cumbriabreakaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review. We are more than happy we made your evening with us a happy & pleasurable one. Repeat business & to spread the word to family & friends is a powerful & wonderful tool.
I can appreciate that we are one of the more expensive restaurants in the town but unfortunately using fresh local produce does come at a price but if any potential customers look at other past reviews either on the hotel site or restaurant site, the majority are more than happy with what the hotel has to offer & everyone has their own perception of 'value for money' which again hopefully ticks all the correct boxes. Hope to see you again if you both decide to visit the surrounding area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    91
    15
    8
    3
See reviews for
60
205
10
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I deliberately waited before writing this review until I had calmed down, but to be honest I'm still a bit peeved. Having booked via the companies own website more than a month before our much awaited, last night away alone before baby number 2 arrives trip, having received e-mail confirmation of that booking, and having driven for 3 hours, to say that we were surprised and disappointed to arrive and be told the hotel was full and there was no room for us would be an understatement. Yes they said sorry and rang round for a room elsewhere (how lucky that there was one available...) but given the magnitude of the cock up (from our point of view - not sure they got it) that wasn't really enough to make us happy. We had taken time researching our trip and choosing somewhere we wanted to go for a romantic night away, for the last night away from the children we will be able to have for nearly a year, and were being shunted to somewhere we had no control over. (Luckily it was very nice, its the Parade School Guest house if anyone's interested). Now we both work in service industries and understand mistakes happen, and appreciate that there was nothing that anyone could have done once we got there to completely make it right, however, for future reference Queens Head, this is what you might have tried to make me slightly less cross:

1)Take some responsibility. How about 'We are so sorry, this really shouldn't have happened' Trying to blame the website (the hotels own website....) and showing me a book of fully booked rooms is not going to help. The fact that your book is full is neither here nor there to me, I didn't think you were lying, I just couldn't quite believe that you were really telling me at this stage that we had been double booked.

2)Don't repeatedly ask 'Is that alright?' When clearly there is no way it can be. Of course the answer is no. Why would it possibly be alright? The fact that you have found a room for us to sleep in is stopping me from shouting and making a scene, it isn't making me want to ring all my friends and recommend you to them.

3)Saying 'Its just a 6 minute walk' when the walk is up hill and I am 7 and a half months pregnant is not 'alright' either. How about 'Do you need us to arrange transport?'. Personally I would have gone for 'I can give you a lift' but ringing a taxi would have been a start. Luckily, we did have a car, but I had to volunteer that.

4)The room will be ready an hour after we expected to be able to check in (because the lovely lady at the Parade School guest house wasn't really open that night and had gone out of her way to fit us in). Rather than 'Is that alright?' - again, clearly it's not, how about 'I'll get her to give us a bell when its ready, would you like a drink here in the meantime?'. Would a cup of tea really have cost the earth in exchange for our good will?

5)And finally, how about 'I see you were booked in for dinner tonight, we are pretty busy but if you would still like to dine here I can ask if the chef can squeeze you in?' We had been hoping for a romantic meal and Berwick isn't overrun with nice places to eat - we were contemplating Wetherspoons at one point, nothing against the chain but it wasn't quite what we had planned for the evening. As it was, found Foxtons which was perfect so worked out well, and by the time we left we didn't really want to give you a penny of our hard earned cash to be honest, but would have been nice to be asked.

Don't think I've had worse service in this country, didn't get our special night off to a good start. Don't need to add we won't be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Gracie7475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Gracie please accept our apologies & the inconvenience caused on the confusion of the booking with us & I accept full responsibility in saying it was entirely our fault.
I have sent a direct e-mail to you on receiving this review but as of yet not had any correspondence from you. We take complaints very seriously & to avoid any negative comments on sites like trip advisor which can be detrimental to any future business.
However I do feel as if I need to make some comments for our own integrity. We all make mistakes & for some reason our hosting site on the website pushed your booking into spam hence no initial booking with no deposit taken. A 30% deposit is taken on booking through our site & an automated e-mail is sent to confirm this but this is not a direct e-mail from our own site. The reservation of dinner is also through that system & again this is why we had no recollection of a dinner booking. We found alternative accommodation on checking-in & there seems to be a contradiction in your review with you saying the member not apologising initially. As mentioned the damage is done & everyone has their own perception on how to deal with a complaint, the last we want to do is rub the salt in the wounds!
As mentioned please accept our apologies & I have sent a direct e-mail & hope to have some contact with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Highly recommend having a meal at this establishment. We had two evening meals here whilst visiting the area and everything was delicious, nicely presented and the staff very attentive. Would eat here again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teddy-on-the-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottish borders
Level Contributor
125 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My wife and I live just over the Borders in Paxton and think nothing of the travel into Berwick to The Queens Head as it is to us the best place for consistently good food and service, the quality of locally sourced food is superb

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glorian2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Appreciate your kind words & comments. Consistency is everything in this business from the food, service & atmosphere & its nice to know that locals continue to support us, which in all honesty are our bread n butter in the winter.
Seriously though we are pro-active & hope to continue to stay ahead of our competitors & provide what our customers expect from either dining or residing with us. Loyalty cards are in operation now so while we are receiving continued support we are not taking our regulars for granted & showing by giving something back to them as a form of appreciation. Long may it continue & hope to see you both soon. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemingford Grey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed one night on our way to Scotland for a week's holiday. Warm welcome, comfortable twin room - very clean - albeit with a slightly sloping floor which was a bit strange after a glass of wine or two!! Location is excellent, right in town centre, and ideal for a walk of the city walls. Ate an extremely good dinner in their restaurant - food was really very well cooked and presented. Breakfast also was a delight. If you are going to be in or near this very lovely border town, this is a super place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roamingroto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
A big thanks for your kind words & were pleased your over night stay was a happy & pleasurable one. With being a listed period building we certainly do have some characteristics & hotels would be monotonous if they were the same. lol
Also nice to know you enjoyed your evening meal with us the service your received reached your expectation. Freshly prepared & cooked breakfasts make a difference from the usual big conglomerations with breakfasts sitting on a hot plate cooking. Hope to see you again in the future all being well. Appreciate your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We needed a nice place to spend night on way to Edinburgh, in a location that would give us town facilities together with interesting & quiet location. This fitted the bill. Its' location near the town walls and waterfront enable us to have a super walk, it is in a quiet road, and has a very good restaurant. The bedroom was not the most luxurious we've ever stayed at, but was clean, and fine for one night.
All staff we dealt with were super.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Many thanks for your constructive review Chris & here is hoping you will return in the future as a stop over point!
Its nice to know you enjoyed your evening meal with us & I agree that Berwick is a hidden gem waiting to hopefully raise its profile through repeat business & best for of advertising 'word of mouth'. Our rooms are clearly advertised on our web-site with pictures etc. Transparency is everything these days.
We are due a re-furbishment in the new year in our rooms to bring more contemporary feel but retaining some of the characteristics of a period building. Hope to see you both again if your passing through.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2013

An excellent small hotel who’s staff are extremely welcoming and demonstrate a friendly can do approach to making your stay enjoyable. The food is excellent and the service at meals is very attentive. The accommodation (rooms) though limited in numbers, is clean, well kept and extremely comfortable. Jen and I enjoy this hotel so much that we have stayed on several occasions and make the Queens Head our first choice whenever staying in Berwick-Upon-Tweed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
I appreciate your kinds words Maurice & its nice to know you keep coming back for punishment! On a serious side though we can only but thank you for your continued support & we will endeavour to provide the best of our capabilities. We will be under going a re-furbishment in our rooms from early January, so watch this space & hope to see you soon Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berwick upon Tweed
2.7 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
454 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
#3 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
290 reviews
23.6 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kings Arms Hotel
Kings Arms Hotel
#22 of 45 in Berwick upon Tweed
242 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Walls Bed and Breakfast
The Walls Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 45 in Berwick upon Tweed
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Head Hotel

Property: Queens Head Hotel
Address: 6 Sandgate, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 1EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick upon Tweed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Berwick upon Tweed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run hotel providing quality accommodation with a contemporary feel whilst retaining old period characteristics. All of our food is locally sourced & seasonal produce is essential. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Queens Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Queens Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing