We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dinner”
Review of Queens Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Queens Head Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dinner”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our second visit for dinner. Our Meal was excellent, lovely choice on the menu . Staff are very friendly & efficient without being in the least intrusive. The hotel had a lovely atmosphere, somewhere you'd enjoy spending time in. We will certainly be back in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank val13357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
A big thanks for your kind words Val. We appreciate you supporting us on both nights & for you to come back for more punishment! Only joking. On a serious note though restaurants can be to formal these days & its our aim to try to keep the restaurant informal & provide a professional service without being too intrusive. Our menu changes on a regular basis, to incorporate local seasonal produce. Hopefully we achieve this for all our new guests & the 'regulars' who in honesty expect this. Here's hoping we see you in the future & thanks again for spending your time writing this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    89
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
60
196
10
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had dinner here on Sunday evening. We were only staying in Berwick a couple of nights and could not find anywhere decent to eat until we found The Queens Head. We saw the dinner menu and thought we`d give it a go. Hoorah, what a find. The starter menu looked lovely but we thought we would opt for a main and dessert. I had monkfish with chorizo and my husband had sticky duck breast, with a side of assorted vegetables. It was delicious, Gary and his staff were very attentive and Gary helped us choose a lovely bottle of rose. We would definately recomend a visit. Tracy and Richard, York.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasmineYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thanks Tracey for your kind words. Its nice to know you both left the Queens Head happy & content on the Sunday evening you ate with us. The monkfish is seeming to be a very popular dish at this present time & to think not so long ago this fish was classed as a poor man's scampi! How times have changed. We appreciate being called the diamond of Berwick but in all honesty were just trying to provide a professional but informal atmosphere with culinary cuisine for all of our guests to enjoy. hope to see you both i the future. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We had a very good lunch, starter and main course, two pints of excellent local beer and coffee, £38. The food was excellent, local produce simply but excellently cooked, with some very nice touches - such as the almond crisp on the salmon which was very good. Super fish and chips. Excellent pheasant pate starter and the wild mushroom brioche was also excellent. Very nice traditional dining room, excellent and friendly service. We shall go again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thanks Diane for your complimentary review. We think we offer a good selection of dishes on our lunch time set menu with a price of £12.95 for two courses or £16.50 for three which from our customers & their feedback is great value for money considering the dishes offered. The menu changes on a regular basis as we have a considerable following from the local area & using seasonal local produce this helps with their demand & expectations. We sincerely hope to see you in the future if you are back up in the surrounding area as I know this is a fair distance from south Wales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

It was our second stay at The Queens Head as we had so enjoyed everything about our last visit. A business trip to Berwick but we made a weekend of it and stayed over the night before our meeting Monday morning. The welcome was warm, room was comfy and the food was excellent. I would recomend this to anyone, a real home from home

Room Tip: I loved room 6 as there was a bath and a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane209939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you Jane for your kind words & pleased your return visit with us was as enjoyable as your first visit. Repeat business is of paramount importance to anyone & building a rapport with your customers shows that you take your business seriously & professionally. As mentioned in other management responses hygiene & cleanliness is a necessity with comfortable beds, power showers & free wi-fi a basic requirement these days. We hope to see you both in the not too distant future either up here for business again or purely pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

stayed here while working nearby for 2 nights last week. First of all its in a good location, right in the town centre.

Really nice atmosphere about this place the bar area is very cosy and relaxing. All the staff are really friendly and polite. We didn't eat here but it was packed both nights we were there so must be good.

The rooms are really welcoming with nice little touches such as a fruit bowl and packets of haribo, only small things but nice. The bed was comfy with plenty of pillows and cushions. Shower was really powerful.

At breakfast there was a good selection of fruits and cereals. Really tasty little bottles of juice and yoghurts. The coffee was the real deal and the cooked breakfast was spot on.

Overall i was really impressed with this place, would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thanks for your complimentary review James while you were residing with on business in the area. Good accommodation is paramount with comfortable beds & power showers a necessity these days & its what the customer expects. The little personal touches do matter ie. jelly beans etc & strangely its what the residents remember. We hope to see you again in the future if business decides to bring you back in the area .Many thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We were staying for a week at a self catering cottage with family and the owner recommended eating here so we did...twice! We ate on Easter Monday for dinner, which was very good. The atmosphere is very realxed and the service is very friendly. I wasn;t feeling 100% the evening we visited but the fish pie was very comforting. Husband had belly pork and loved it. Such good service filling up drinks, lots of lovely bread, so we returned in the week with our children for lunch and had a lovely meal, nothing too much trouble everything cooked to order, lovely and fresh.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PodHarrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thanks for your complimentary review & were pleased we made both visits to us a pleasurable one. We appreciate your business & hope your overall experience of Northumberland & the Borders was enjoyable one? Hope to see you all in the future if you decide to return so you all can enjoy some more of our culinary delights. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I ate at the Queens Head Hotel for 2 nights whilst staying in Berwick for a weekend with my sister. We went there almost by mistake as the wine bar up the road was fully booked but went back again as the food was excellent.
When we went back for the second night we were made to feel very welcome as Gary, the host, remembered us and exactly which wines we'd ordered the previous night.
The food choices are very good and the selections of bread which are served as standard are excellent. (My own personal favourite was cranberry and pumpkin - gorgeous!)
The ambience is also lovely - background music, but not so loud that you can't have a conversation and the lighting is subdued but not too dark.
The service on both nights was very good and I very much look forward to our next visit.
Oh, and we both loved Gary's green trousers and pink polo shirt - sounds a mad combination but was so in keeping with the 'arty' feel of that area of Berwick, Brilliant!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateDSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thanks Kate for your complimentary review. We continually look to improve on our business & strive to be the best in the surrounding area offering locally sourced seasonal produce with professional service in a relaxed atmosphere & we hoped we achieved that with the company you were in. My apologies on my dress too as I do not mean to inflict this upon everyone. Thanks again & hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berwick upon Tweed
2.7 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
21.2 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
23.6 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kings Arms Hotel
Kings Arms Hotel
#23 of 45 in Berwick upon Tweed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Walls Bed and Breakfast
The Walls Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 45 in Berwick upon Tweed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Head Hotel

Property: Queens Head Hotel
Address: 6 Sandgate, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 1EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick upon Tweed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Berwick upon Tweed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run hotel providing quality accommodation with a contemporary feel whilst retaining old period characteristics. All of our food is locally sourced & seasonal produce is essential. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Queens Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Queens Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing