We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner and Lunch”
Review of Queens Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Queens Head Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Dinner and Lunch”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We were staying for a week at a self catering cottage with family and the owner recommended eating here so we did...twice! We ate on Easter Monday for dinner, which was very good. The atmosphere is very realxed and the service is very friendly. I wasn;t feeling 100% the evening we visited but the fish pie was very comforting. Husband had belly pork and loved it. Such good service filling up drinks, lots of lovely bread, so we returned in the week with our children for lunch and had a lovely meal, nothing too much trouble everything cooked to order, lovely and fresh.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PodHarrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thanks for your complimentary review & were pleased we made both visits to us a pleasurable one. We appreciate your business & hope your overall experience of Northumberland & the Borders was enjoyable one? Hope to see you all in the future if you decide to return so you all can enjoy some more of our culinary delights. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    92
    16
    8
    3
See reviews for
61
209
10
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I ate at the Queens Head Hotel for 2 nights whilst staying in Berwick for a weekend with my sister. We went there almost by mistake as the wine bar up the road was fully booked but went back again as the food was excellent.
When we went back for the second night we were made to feel very welcome as Gary, the host, remembered us and exactly which wines we'd ordered the previous night.
The food choices are very good and the selections of bread which are served as standard are excellent. (My own personal favourite was cranberry and pumpkin - gorgeous!)
The ambience is also lovely - background music, but not so loud that you can't have a conversation and the lighting is subdued but not too dark.
The service on both nights was very good and I very much look forward to our next visit.
Oh, and we both loved Gary's green trousers and pink polo shirt - sounds a mad combination but was so in keeping with the 'arty' feel of that area of Berwick, Brilliant!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateDSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thanks Kate for your complimentary review. We continually look to improve on our business & strive to be the best in the surrounding area offering locally sourced seasonal produce with professional service in a relaxed atmosphere & we hoped we achieved that with the company you were in. My apologies on my dress too as I do not mean to inflict this upon everyone. Thanks again & hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south yorks
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

This was the second time we have visited the queens head hotel ,the last been two years ago, again we were not dissapointed.The staff are very friendly and competent. The food was excellent, the atmosphere very relaxed. Thank you for a very enjoyable birthday meal.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BOBSouthYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Many thanks for you review Bob & glad to see we ticked all of the boxes again. Although it has been 2 years on your return standards in this economic climate need to be maintained & we are continually looking to improve all of our aspects in our hotel. Hope to maybe see you both in another two years. Many thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milnathort, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Had a fantastic lunch here from their set menu.
Staff lovely and friendly, food very tasty. house wine great. food well presented and very hot.
Will definately visit again when next in Berwick. :-)
Fantastic! Fantastic! Fantastic!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Susan2308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
letsgoawayonholiday, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thanks Susan for your kind words. As mentioned in the previous response our lunchtime set menu is becoming very popular offering good quality food at a reasonable price of £12.95 for two course & £16.50 for three. Thanks again & hope to see you in the future if you decide to return to Northumberland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girvan
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Went in the Queens Head for the first ( but won't be the last ) time, on Easter Monday.
We were looking for somewhere to get a good meal, & not the usual pizzas etc !
We were not dissapointed...a VERY good menu, reasonable prices, & the food was fabulous.
I had the pork belly, it was cooked to perfection, lovely crispy crackling...yummmy !
My husband had the fish, he said it was gorgeous,& the chips were full of flavour.
Fresh veg, brought in a separate dish, were lovely & hot, & they too were cooked just right.
None of your frozen veg here, AND they were in with the cost of the meal.( paying extra, REALLY annoys me )
It's a shame that we don't live close enough to just call in here..we found it by chance,
while visiting the area...but when we are back there, it will be the first place we'll head for.
In fact, I think we might just book ourselves a break at the hotel soon.
As a chef myself, I am over the moon to find somewhere, that puts as much effort into the food as
I do.
Note to landlord...if you read this, double your chefs wages... they deserve it.
Waitress was so nice, I would employ her, & I'm very fussy about staff, she was so happy,
& smiling...loved the whole experience !
WELL DONE
See you VERY soon.
Marion & Tim Robinson

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
letsgoawayonholiday, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thanks Marion for your complimentary review & we are pleased we met your expectations on the lunchtime you visited us. Being in the trade you can appreciate how much time is spent preparing & serving quality food. I would like to think that our lunchtime set menu is good value for money & is proving very popular with our customers. We hope to see you in the future if you both decide to return to the surrounding area. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights at the Queens Head over Easter. Garry and his team were absolutely excellent and made us feel so welcome. The team went out of their way to be helpful and friendly and this made our stay all the more enjoyable.

The food was brilliant too - the fish pie was super tasty!! On two nights the restaurant accommodated our party of 11, and in the second night with only 20 minutes notice!

I would absolutely recommend staying here. We had a great time and look forward to going back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eshamonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
letsgoawayonholiday, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thanks for your great review Eshamonster. We are pleased we made your stay with us a enjoyable one & a thank you for eating with us on two occasions. My apologies with regards to the cracked sink in the bathroom which has now been rectified, unfortunately we could not replace the sink whilst you were with us as Easter was upon us. All in all though appreciate your review & hope to see you both in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Our room was small but VERY good, excellent quality bed linen and towels, such a comfy bed
and a good strong power shower. Lots of nice little touches in the room. Food was first class and the service was good, even though the restaurant was very full. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel - why stay in a bland chain room when you can stay in this friendly, lovely little hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catcoachyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
letsgoawayonholiday, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Appreciate your kind words & pleased your stay with was a enjoyable one. The little touches matter "jelly beans, water & fruit" but its paramount that a hotel provides a relaxed, pleasant & personal atmosphere. Priority in the accommodation is cleanliness, good power showers & comfortable beds which in all honesty we provide to the best of our capabilities or try to.Thanks again for your kind words & hope to see you both again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berwick upon Tweed
2.7 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
469 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
#3 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
300 reviews
23.6 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,246 reviews
9.4 mi away
Tillmouth Park Country House Hotel
Tillmouth Park Country House Hot...
#1 of 2 in Cornhill on Tweed
340 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kings Arms Hotel
Kings Arms Hotel
#27 of 46 in Berwick upon Tweed
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Head Hotel

Property: Queens Head Hotel
Address: 6 Sandgate, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 1EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick upon Tweed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Berwick upon Tweed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run hotel providing quality accommodation with a contemporary feel whilst retaining old period characteristics. All of our food is locally sourced & seasonal produce is essential. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Queens Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Queens Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing