We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This is a beautiful house.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Garden House

Sitting room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting room
Sitting room Luxury Kitchen with built in appliances
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Sitting room
Sitting room
Luxury Kitchen with built in appliances
Dining room leading to patio area ideal for todays living
The Garden House
Garden House
The Garden House
Luxury Pocket Sprung Matresses - Twin/Super king Bedroom
Pocket Sprung Mattresses - Twin/ Superking size bedroom
En-suite Wet Room with Great Pressured Showers
Double Bedroom with Luxury Pocket Sprung Mattress
En-suite to cream double bedroom
Harvest Time
Sheep at lambing
Feeding the Llamas
Feeding the Llamas
Mika and her new baby
Mika and her new baby
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
fergie201...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is a beautiful house.”
Reviewed January 2, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Robert is a charming young man who looked after us very well. The Scones/Chocolate cake he welcomed us with was a lovely touch. You do require transport if you want to leave the house as it is quite isolated. Beautiful area to go for a wall and would be absolutely amazing in the Summer.
The only downside for us was the living quarters are upstairs and we had travelled with two ladies in their 80's and they found stairs quite a struggle.

Date of stay: December 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Living quarters upstairs
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 2, 2015
Thank-you for the review. I only wish you had have looked at the details of the property as it clearly states that the living room is on the first floor, and on my own website which you booked through there is a very detailed floor plan showing this. Whilst it may not have suited your requirements most people enjoy the elevated room and the tourist board inspector who visited on the morning of your arrival commented what a bonus it was to see the panamoric view. The dining room area also has seating facilities with an open fire had the stairs proved a difficulty. I assumed when you booked that you realised from the address details and website that we where on a working farm outside Berwick and I was unware until the week of your arrival that you where using public transport.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion E
Chorley
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The Garden House and Robert........the perfect combination”
Reviewed October 4, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was our first visit to The Garden House.....but it most certainly won't be our last! From the moment we arrived we knew we had made a great choice...Robert welcomed us with freshly baked scones, butter, jam and home made chocolate cake!!
The house itself is perfectly appointed....a real fire, wonderful kitchen , beautiful bedrooms and a lounge to settle down in for a cosy evening with fab views. It had every single thing we needed......how do you manage to do this Robert??
We used this location as a base to travel , with ease , to Edinburgh, Holy Island, Bambugh. Alnwick as well as walking the stunning coastline.......St Abbs Head is a walkers paradise!!
Whenever we needed advice about the area Robert was on hand with support and delivered it with humour ! Thank you for a wonderful week......you really deserve to do well!!

Date of stay: September 2014
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris g
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Something different - something excellent”
Reviewed September 2, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Booked based on reviews and stayed for 2 nights. If you want the feeling of sumptuous elegance at a very reasonable price then this is the place to try. Robert, the owner, looks after you very well indeed; spotless rooms, perfect decor, and ideal breakfasts. And tea with home made cake on arrival was a pleasant surprise.
This is not your normal B&B and you won't be disappointed. We would certainly book again.

Date of stay: August 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather03...
Preswick
2 reviews
“Excellent stay and accommodation”
Reviewed May 13, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Well another fantastic week enjoyed at The Garden House. Have lost count on the amount of times we've stayed at various of the West Longridge Cottages over the past 13 years. Each one is spectacular and not once have we been disappointed. The 5 star standard has never wavered and they seem to get better every time.
The rooms, cleanliness and efficiency of the Garden House deserves the 5star rating and more. The scones with jam and cream and chocolate cake on arrival is just one if the many personal touches you'll find throughout your stay.
Robert is a very attentive host and even down to finding us a footstool and some new mugs this time shows the personal aim to please. We also witnessed a live lama being born from our window.
Book up as soon as, you won't regret it!

Date of stay: April 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreAndr...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Luxurious and cosy”
Reviewed January 25, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We absolutely loved staying at the Garden House and as other people have stated, Robert was so welcoming and we felt at home instantly. Robert had lit the fire, laid out scones, cakes, cream and jam and as we arrived, even put the kettle on for us. He quickly showed us round then left us to it. That was a really nice touch and not what you usually get at other places. I feel the standard of accommodation in comparison to others is excellent value for money and so much care and attention to detail has been made throughout the property. We had a short break in January and the weather was not so good, however sitting in front of the open log fire of an evening was lovely. Outside the property were panoramic views and beautiful starry skies at night, helped by the fact it is in an elevated position. We do hope to come back, especially in the warmer months to fully appreciate the gorgeous views. We highly recommend it!

Date of stay: January 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfortable furnishings
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia...
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Property with an Outstanding Host”
Reviewed January 6, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

This was our 4th stay at the Garden House and it never fails to provide an excellent standard of accommodation. The property is equipped to a very high standard and maintained in excellent decorative order. Robert is without doubt an outstanding host and his welcome cakes and scones add that extra touch of luxury. A well deserved 5 star and I cannot recommend it highly enough. Thank you Robert for another relaxing and enjoyable stay.

Date of stay: December 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high standard of accomodation and cleanliness
Liked least: Nohing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine...
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Our fourth fabulous stay!”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 for a stay in December 2013

Just returned from another fabulous stay in Garden House, at West Longridge, this time a real treat spending Christmas there.

As usual from the minute we arrived Robert had pulled out all the stops. Afternoon tea laid out for us, coal fire burning in the sitting room, lovely twinkling Christmas tree and a festive extra, a beautifully decorated Christmas cake.

The house is luxuriously furnished throughout to ensure the height of comfort for guests. The beds are so comfortable, you don't want to get out of them. The kitchen is stocked with every piece of equipment you could possibly need, which made it easy to cook a three course Christmas lunch without any problems. I baked cakes for my sons with ease, as Robert has provided everything you could need apart from the actual ingredients, he even found cupcake cases for me!

The location is ideal for any family holiday - Berwick, Alnwick Castle & Gardens, Bamburgh Castle, Holy Island and Lindesfarne Castle all only a short drive. Scotland is literally minutes away, with the seaside town of Eyemouth and Edinburgh is under 60 miles by car and even easier trip by train from Berwick, so lots to see and do in the area.

If you are looking for exceptional quality in self catering accommodation, look no further than the accommodation provided by Robert Whitten at West Longridge, or if you're looking for 5* B & B he does that too.

Thanks again Robert, we'll be back again soon.

Date of stay: December 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the property and exceptional and friendly service.
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing