We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We arrived to a warm and friendly welcome, always good after a long hot drive. Location - just off the A1, outside Berwick Upon Tweed and easy to find. Very peaceful - didn't hear any road noise as Hotel is shielded by mature trees. I understand that there are redecoration plans under way and the room we stayed in is on the list, but it was fine, everything you need. We had a lovely dinner especially as they managed to squeeze us in. The coastal paths are very close and you can either walk into Scotland (as we did after dinner) or into Berwick. The service is great, staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (482)
There are newer reviews for Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

368 - 374 of 482 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

As if time has stood still for a couple of decades... We came here on a driving holiday through Borders/Hadrian's Wall in June 2013. We had a large comfortable room on the first floor. The room had all the services needed (but the tv was VERY small). Plus for a comfortable bathtub and excellent wifi! And the atmosphere is very country house. Drawbacks? Well, it is very close to the sea, but you don't get the views because of lots of trees and bushes. The rooms could do with a lick of paint and some new carpets....

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markus_sterky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerwickDavid, Owner at Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

So glad you enjoyed your step back in time. We are currently re-painting/decorationg the rooms in the terrace wing and will get to the room you stayed in before very much longer.Hopefully then we will merit 5 stars. Thanks for staying and your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Had a pleasant overnight stay. Excellent Sunday evening dinner with good service.
Hotel's public rooms are in need of a sparkle clean. I felt some areas in the hotel were a bit grubby (not dirty). Our bathroom was nice, but had 2 broken floor tiles that could be easily fixed.
The overall package was good.
I know it takes time when you take over a business and I wish the new owners well.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicola s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerwickDavid, Owner at Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Nicola, thanks for the review and I will have the tiles repaired in the room that you stayed in straight away. As new owners we are still working our way around the hotel with refurbishments. Having refreshed the dining room we are currently updating bedrooms (there are 19 to get through). Next stop is the reception area and lounge scheduled for when we are a little quieter later in the year. So glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Attended a celebration here the first thing is the horrendous smell that hits you as soon as you walk in the main entrance. We don't mind tired but the place was filthy, cakes were laid out in the lounge but the glass tables were disgusting in the event room there was chewing gum stuck to the dance floor which had been there for some time! The food was cold and nothing special
The location is convenient and the grounds are nice but that's it

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Climber141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerwickDavid, Owner at Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

This person should not have been in the main hotel at all! They were a guest at a private function being held on our terrace and self contained function suite.I have no idea how they came to be inside the hotel and even less idea why they would wish to post such negative comments about it. Not one of more than thirty paying hotel guests on Saturday reported any smell whatsoever let alone a horrendous one.
I do, of course, take on board your comments regarding the wedding that you attended. The suite was thoroughly cleaned at 7.30 that morning including the dancefloor, so I am pretty certain that any chewing gum would have been deposited there by one of your fellow guests. We should have spotted it nevertheless.It is possible when over 60 people are being served a three course meal that some dishes take longer to reach the table than others. If yours was not hot enough please accept my apologies but also know that if we had known we would have offered to replace it with another hotter one. All staff have been briefed to keep a keen eye on the state of the glass tabletops along the tarrace which I guess are the ones you were sitting at. Given that we had so many guests drinking at them during the function it is quite possible that you sat at one that had not yet been wiped. Not acceptable I fully accept. I had very favourable feedback from the bride and groom. We aim to please every guest and obviously are sorry that you were disappointed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We booked this hotel as part of a gift from our children and were not disappointed.

We were arriving late but phoned in advance to be offered a late meal or sandwiches but decided in the end to eat en-route instead.

When we arrived we were greeted by a very friendly and obliging owner who quickly checked us in and directed us to our room. The room was excellent with a very comfortable double bed and en-suite but it was big enough to include a settee and pouffe. We decided to have a few drinks in the bar after a long journey and was pleasantly surprised at the variety on display particularly the range of single malts! The drinks were not cheap but certainly not a rip-off by any means.

Breakfast was a real treat with toast, tea/coffee, cereal, fruit, juices and a choice of fry-up, kippers or eggs Benedict. All of which we enjoyed. The staff were all friendly and helpful and eager to please.

As it is right on the coast we decided to go for a walk up to Eyemouth along the coastal path, crossing the border into Scotland and did a bit of Dolphin Watching :-) . The views were stunning and well worth the effort and there is a bus at ten past the hour from Eyemouth that has a stop outside the hotel and continues on to Berwick.

On the Saturday evening there was a wedding party so we decided not to eat there in the evening but this didn't make too much noise or disturb our sleep.On the Sunday we had a wonderful meal in the hotel.

Ideally located for The Farne Islands, Holy Island, Berwick, Alnwick Castle, Bamburgh Castle and much more this hotel takes a lot of beating for location. Highly Recommended. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Room 7 was wonderful with settee and pouffe to relax after a long walk.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simtek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerwickDavid, Owner at Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay and tok the opportunity to see so many of the things this beautiful coastline has to offer. Equally delighted that you did eventually get to sample one of our dinners and enjoyed it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

A rating of 4.5 would be fairer for this very enjoyable overnight stay. The service was close to excellent - dinner couldn't be faulted but breakfast could have been done better - very slight niggle. The food was first class except what appeared to be shop bread served for breakfast without choice of white or brown or possibly wholemeal!

The public rooms and our bedroom were excellent, but the bathroom was a wee bit "tired", but still far better than the average for a 3 star hotel.

The overall package was excellent value for money - to be fair, for the price, one could not quibble. But, given the quality of the hotel itself and its location it sets an expectation based on the feel of the place as opposed to the price.

Would I stay again - most definitely.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RyedaleRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerwickDavid, Owner at Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Obviously good to get such positive feedback.Many thanks. We did trial getting loaves - wholemeal, bloomers etc - all freshly baked and displayed on the breakfast table, however the majority of guests ignored them preferring sliced breads as toast so reverted to these. Crusty wholemeal bread is offered on the tables with dinner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This country house hotel is set just off the A1 about 3 miles north of Berwick. It is comfortable, welcoming and the food is good both at breakfast and dinner. It also has the advantage of being stately but unpretentious and only a few minutes walk form the coastal path which joins Scotland to the town of Berwick-on-Tweed. It is family run and has a pleasant "easy" atmosphere.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonz53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berwick upon Tweed
23.9 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,266 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
#3 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
306 reviews
2.7 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Tillmouth Park Country House Hotel
Tillmouth Park Country House Hot...
#1 of 2 in Cornhill on Tweed
345 reviews
19.0 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
390 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kings Arms Hotel
Kings Arms Hotel
#35 of 45 in Berwick upon Tweed
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel

Address: Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel Marshall Meadows, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 1UT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick upon Tweed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Berwick upon Tweed
Price Range: $110 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marshall Meadows is an authentic Georgian, 3 star country house Hotel, standing in around 15 acres of peaceful grounds with sea views. It is uniquely situated just outside the historic town of Berwick-Upon-Tweed only a stone's throw away from the A1 crossing point of the Scottish Border. It is, therefore, both the first and last hotel in England depending upon one's point of view. The hotel is believed to date from the mid 18th century and provides the perfect setting for a relaxing break, discovering the attractions of border country or for the more adventurous numerous coastal and inland walks and cycle routes, great golf courses and fishing on the river Tweed. The hotel comprise 19 letting rooms, in addition to a main bar, residents' lounge, restaurant, large function area and music room, conservatory and terrace overlooking a large well manicured front lawn. Entrance to the grounds is via a tree-lined driveway flanking a wooded stream. The rear of the hotel overlooks a farmyard, paddock and walled garden. The location allows easy access to the main town, Northumberland Coastal attractions such as Holy Island and Alnwick Castle, National Parkland and the Scottish Border Regions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall Meadows Country Hotel
Hotel Marshall Meadows Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing