We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Wonderful Hotel. Ideally located on the Border of Scotland & England”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Hotel. Ideally located on the Border of Scotland & England”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We booked this hotel as part of a gift from our children and were not disappointed.

We were arriving late but phoned in advance to be offered a late meal or sandwiches but decided in the end to eat en-route instead.

When we arrived we were greeted by a very friendly and obliging owner who quickly checked us in and directed us to our room. The room was excellent with a very comfortable double bed and en-suite but it was big enough to include a settee and pouffe. We decided to have a few drinks in the bar after a long journey and was pleasantly surprised at the variety on display particularly the range of single malts! The drinks were not cheap but certainly not a rip-off by any means.

Breakfast was a real treat with toast, tea/coffee, cereal, fruit, juices and a choice of fry-up, kippers or eggs Benedict. All of which we enjoyed. The staff were all friendly and helpful and eager to please.

As it is right on the coast we decided to go for a walk up to Eyemouth along the coastal path, crossing the border into Scotland and did a bit of Dolphin Watching :-) . The views were stunning and well worth the effort and there is a bus at ten past the hour from Eyemouth that has a stop outside the hotel and continues on to Berwick.

On the Saturday evening there was a wedding party so we decided not to eat there in the evening but this didn't make too much noise or disturb our sleep.On the Sunday we had a wonderful meal in the hotel.

Ideally located for The Farne Islands, Holy Island, Berwick, Alnwick Castle, Bamburgh Castle and much more this hotel takes a lot of beating for location. Highly Recommended. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Room 7 was wonderful with settee and pouffe to relax after a long walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simtek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerwickDavid, Owner at Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay and tok the opportunity to see so many of the things this beautiful coastline has to offer. Equally delighted that you did eventually get to sample one of our dinners and enjoyed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    132
    33
    14
    11
See reviews for
60
249
9
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

A rating of 4.5 would be fairer for this very enjoyable overnight stay. The service was close to excellent - dinner couldn't be faulted but breakfast could have been done better - very slight niggle. The food was first class except what appeared to be shop bread served for breakfast without choice of white or brown or possibly wholemeal!

The public rooms and our bedroom were excellent, but the bathroom was a wee bit "tired", but still far better than the average for a 3 star hotel.

The overall package was excellent value for money - to be fair, for the price, one could not quibble. But, given the quality of the hotel itself and its location it sets an expectation based on the feel of the place as opposed to the price.

Would I stay again - most definitely.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RyedaleRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerwickDavid, Owner at Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Obviously good to get such positive feedback.Many thanks. We did trial getting loaves - wholemeal, bloomers etc - all freshly baked and displayed on the breakfast table, however the majority of guests ignored them preferring sliced breads as toast so reverted to these. Crusty wholemeal bread is offered on the tables with dinner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This country house hotel is set just off the A1 about 3 miles north of Berwick. It is comfortable, welcoming and the food is good both at breakfast and dinner. It also has the advantage of being stately but unpretentious and only a few minutes walk form the coastal path which joins Scotland to the town of Berwick-on-Tweed. It is family run and has a pleasant "easy" atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonz53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Firstly this was an unsolicited booking without reading any reviews....I simply needed to be somewhere North of Alnwick and South of Edinburgh for business reasons and timings, so found the Marshall Meadows by default.

Long day and many miles I arrived at the hotel, lovely polite greeting, impressive grounds and a simply beautiful country house hotel in the Georgian style. I was given room 11, large spotlessly clean pleasant room that put a smile on your face to enter, flatscreen TV, tea/coffee etc, nice fragrance diffusers, large wardrobe, amazingly powerful, wonderful shower.....this place was getting better and better....

Booked restaurant for 19:45 told "not an exact science!" by the wonderful and worldwise owner.....I was a rather captive audience as not many alternatives to walk to.....was I going to be "ripped off"?......Hell no! food choices were ideal and quality fantastic.....truly great food....at the time of press, typical starters sub £4 mains circa £18 and a glass of wine £3.95 quality was worth it for sure....

After dinner, warm evening....so decided to walk the coast path that is right outside in pastureland......nobody at all else here for miles....so peaceful and a beautiful coast....sad to be alone really and wished my wife could share the beauty...remember this was a work night away at a hotel of convenience!!!!!!
hence the title of my review......I walked to the "Scottish Border" looking all the while at the ink blue sea and far away views of Holy Island and Bamborough castle....God if only work was like this daily!

Anyway before I wax too lyrical, the hotel is family owned having been bought a couple of years ago by the most lovely people. They have a mantra "Do something delightful" each day.....the night's sleep was great Wifi free, though I actually purposely left work alone that evening to get a "holiday" feeling and did....Breakfast, quality and choices....civilised and pleasant, staff lovely....checkout as expected and even lovely chats with gardener on way to car and another round of the rat race to come! Albeit this day with the broadest of smiles......

Proof of pudding, it was that good I will return with my wife and we will see Alnwick, the coast, Berwick and Edinburgh but stay here as our base! feel free to ask me further questions, but do book...you will enjoy!

Room Tip: I had room 11 however peeping at others as I passed to reception in the morning being cleaned they a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianAnnManchesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I have just returned from a week end stay with David and Robert Hester at Marshall Country House Hotel. They are the owners of the hotel, and the key to this wonderful place is that you feel at home. There is a warm and relaxed feel about the place; that makes you comfortable enough to kick off your shoes, curl your feet under you on the sofa with a book in the guest lounge. From the moment we arrived we felt relaxed and welcome; the staff were so helpful and on hand; without being intrusive. The grounds were gorgeous and well maintained; a previous review had mentioned that the place was a bit worn and could do with some redecorating; but this is part of the charm. If you want perfect and pristine then don't go to a place which is over a 100 years old!
We stayed for 2 nights bed and breakfast; and had one dinner; breakfast was plentiful with locally sourced sausages etc as well as offering all the healthy options. Dinner was delicious, excellent quality of meat and beautifully presented. The shortbread literally melted in your mouth.
The hotel has a couple of bars, but the main one was cosy and again welcoming and relaxing. We spoke to other guests who all said the same thing; it is such a friendly and homely place.
The absolute core to this hotel is its staff; they are exemplary in everyway and I hope David and Robert appreciate the gems they have got. I have been lucky enough to stay in a couple of 5 star hotels where the staff have not come close to the warmth and standard at Marshall Meadows. It is the little details, such as looking online, with out being asked, to find the best deals on tickets for a local attraction. Nothing was too much trouble; and this started before the stay. I had a couple of small requests to make my partners stay a little more special; and my emails were answered promptly and nothing was any trouble.
As you can read I cannot praise this hotel highly enough; it is not perfect but it is as close as to it. I am looking forward to my next visit in hopefully the not too distant future.

Room Tip: .rooms overlooking garden are lovely and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkiegirlAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverurie
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

We had looked at various options in the area for our wedding, some with allegedly better pedigree but also an associated aura of snootiness... Once we visited and met David and the team the choice of Marshall Meadows was straightforward. As we live 200 miles away the help and attention we were afforded in planning things were invaluable and helped to make a perfect wedding day.

The staff here truly are superb and couldn't do more to make us and our guests welcome, even some of the more enthusiastic ones from up North... The catering was excellent and superbly presented, our guests are full of praise for the whole experience.

The place has charm and character throughout, as someone who is unfortunate enough to see many hotels worldwide with acres of chrome and plastic I'd happily exchange Marshall Meadows for any of them.

If you're considering Marshall Meadows for a get away or a function I'll happily give it my recommendation.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank IanH42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Was here for a family wedding. Great choice from the bride and groom. From the moment we arrived we were well looked after by all the staff. A special mention to Dave who had to put up with rather boisterous Scottish celebrations! Room was clean and comfortable. Great view from our window of a peaceful setting of the gardens. Evening meal on the first night was faultless as was breakfast. Lots of choice.
Wedding day/night again faultless.. Beautifully decorated conservatory where ceremony was held and function hall equally gorgeous Meal lovely and glasses were never empty due to the attentive staff.. As a guest first class choice for a wedding venue.
Also lovely coastal walks and views.Would definitely consider going back here for another stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enicol25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berwick upon Tweed
2.7 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#1 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
23.9 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bamburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Tillmouth Park Country House Hotel
Tillmouth Park Country House Hot...
#1 of 2 in Cornhill on Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
19.0 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
5.9 mi away
Chirnside Hall Hotel
Chirnside Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chirnside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel

Property: Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Address: Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel Marshall Meadows, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 1UT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick upon Tweed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Berwick upon Tweed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marshall Meadows is an authentic Georgian, 3 star country house Hotel, standing in around 15 acres of peaceful grounds with sea views. It is uniquely situated just outside the historic town of Berwick-Upon-Tweed only a stone's throw away from the A1 crossing point of the Scottish Border. It is, therefore, both the first and last hotel in England depending upon one's point of view. The hotel is believed to date from the mid 18th century and provides the perfect setting for a relaxing break, discovering the attractions of border country or for the more adventurous numerous coastal and inland walks and cycle routes, great golf courses and fishing on the river Tweed. The hotel comprise 19 letting rooms, in addition to a main bar, residents' lounge, restaurant, large function area and music room, conservatory and terrace overlooking a large well manicured front lawn. Entrance to the grounds is via a tree-lined driveway flanking a wooded stream. The rear of the hotel overlooks a farmyard, paddock and walled garden. The location allows easy access to the main town, Northumberland Coastal attractions such as Holy Island and Alnwick Castle, National Parkland and the Scottish Border Regions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall Meadows Country Hotel
Hotel Marshall Meadows Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing