We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Friendly and ideal for a short break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton
1 review
“Relaxing Friendly and ideal for a short break”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We spent 3 days here and thoroughly enjoyed every minute. This is a lovely hotel and ideal for a short break as it is so comfortable and quiet it is easy to forget everything else going on. We stayed in room 7 which was very comfortable having been recently refurbished. The food was excellent and served in a friendly manner, promptly delivered, hot and tasty. Ollie & Bruce looked after us and did so royally. The bar was warm and cosy with good beers and wines on offer.
We had an afternoon of sun and I spent a pleasant time sitting outside on the peaceful patio using the free wifi on offer - sadly not common in many hotels.
David, the owner, has made great strides in taking this hotel forward over the last year. He took a lot of time out to make us feel welcome and give a history of the hotel and his ambitions for it over the next few years. I wish him well in achieving these high standards.
We walked the coastal path which was lovely despite the weather. The golf courses David arranges are excellent value for money - I particularly enjoyed Eyemouth though there is a bit of climbing on the second 9!
All in all a fine few days and good value for money. Rest assured we will be back David

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerwickDavid, Owner at Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Glad you enjoyed the break. The back 9 at Eyemouth are pretty steep but the views are stunning. See you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    134
    34
    14
    11
See reviews for
62
255
9
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Paris, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

we stayed here for one night and due to a family bereavement had booked five rooms , the hotel has the olde world feel and is in very tranquil surroundings, booking in was very easy we arrived at about 1730, because the weather was awful decided that we would eat in the restaurant all thirteen of us , they couldnt fit us all in one sitting so they opened the function room upstairs to accomodate us which was very impressive.the rooms varied in opulence one room had a four poster bed in others were twins and doubles but were clean and tidy , only complaint was the room we had no 11 was hot and stuffy and the tv was miniscule
The food was a la carte and was served quickly and was hot every one of the thirteen in our party enjoyed the entire 3 courses , a special mention must be made about the young waiter Olly the amount of times he went up and down the three flights of stairs catering to our every whim was incredible , being a foodie at heart breakfast was delicious taking in local produce , Haggis , Black Pudding and local sausages it was an excellent start to the day , at this time everyone was regailed in their funeral attire , i unfortunately had left my black tie at home and again Olly came to the rescue and lent me his without a thought, what a lifesaver!
In summary everyone would stay here again , the food was excellent ,the prices were reasonable room facilities maybe need upgrading a little, its tranquil and calm , staff very friendly and attentive , keep up the standards guys .

Room Tip: get the room with the four poster
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerwickDavid, Owner at Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
So pleased to hear your excellent feedback on the food, the team and Ollie in particular. We aim to give 100% commitment to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We booked this hotel chosed from reviews on Trip Advisor and we weren't disappointed. This was only a one night booking en route to Scotland but would have been happy to stay longer. Spacious room although curiously the bed didn't have a headboard. Spacious well equipped bathroom. Good dinner in the evening and excellent Eggs benedict for breakfast the following morning. Take a stroll to the nearby cliff or on to the Scottish border if the weather is kind to you. See attached photos of nearby horses and the cliffs. Hotel manager and staff very pleasant would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AuntyC22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I stayed here with my wife, in July, and had a great time.
We paid a reasonable price for the accomodation, for what we received.

The hotel is a traditional northern country house, in really nice grounds. Unfortunately the weather was awful, so we didn't get time to look around them, but they looked well manicured, with some good places to sit to while away a few hours.
Inside is "old school" grand - wood panelling and high ceilings. It's slightly worn, but very clean, the same story in our above average sized room - which was absolutely gleaming.

We had dinner on the first night, which was well cooked British fair - a cut above the usual, but nothing amazingly special. It's a bit expensive, but we got a deal for dinner the first night, and paid £8 to upgrade to a nicer menu. We enjoyed it though, and it was obvious it was home cooked.
The bar was a nice place to be, quite and homely, and this is where the hotel's major selling point became apparent - hospitality.
We are not the types to chat all night with strangers in hotels, like some do, but the owner, David, and his two members of staff were great. David is an eccentric, and great fun to talk to. On both nights he 'accidently' poured a red wine instead of a white for my wife, meaning he just HAD to drink it. On the second night, we were waiting in the bar for a taxi to a local resturant, told David where we were going, and he jokingly remarked "Well, I'll save you a doggy bag for when you get back hungry" These kind of things make my stay at places much more personal.
The staff are not overly 'in your face' about chatting, but they are there and extreemly good company if you want to.

I think the hotel needs some investment, but they're working it exactly the right way - get the basics right first - food, cleanlyness, friendlyness, then the customers will come and the investment will be easier.

The only realy downside for me was the fact that you cannot really walk to the pub or another restuarant. The A1 (which the hotel is near, but you feel away from it - it's not especially busy anyway, hardly anyone lives here!) would be very difficult to walk down to the local pub, but the taxi's are good value and helpful, so it's not a great issue.

We went in the Birds of Prey sanctuary near Lindisfarne for something to eat at night - they turn it into a bistro type thing, and the food there was a little cheaper, but if you're drinking, the taxi is about £15 each way.

Lindisfarne is a great place to visit in the day, a lovely island and castle, but check the tides, as you need to get there as the tide turns away from the causeway, to give yourself a few hours there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulJM1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

This place is trying very hard bit still has a little way to go.

Unquestionably, the staff were all lovely – very welcoming and friendly. Every time you went past reception you got a smile and a brief chat (if you wanted it!).

Breakfast was very very good (superb scrambled eggs) and The Haggis was enjoyed!
As other reviews have pointed out, the rooms could do with a refurb (we understand this is underway) as they were fairly worn. Our bathroom, in particular, was very outdated and the bath was pigmy sized!!

The building was stunning and the grounds are lovely, very peaceful and you can walk to Scotland from the hotel – which is novel! The bar and lounge were very nice and comfy with a friendly atmosphere – we also loved the resident cat.

We would certainly return but we would bring our own pillows – ours were like concrete. If we would offer one tip to the owners it would be to replace the pillows!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jemtee77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2012

just spent a fantastic weekend here with my partner. Staff were fantastic and nothing was a problem they were so helpful Bruce and Oli were fab making sure all your needs were catered for and David was an excellent host. Evening meals were delicious due to the hard work of both Marshall Meadows chefs Andy & William ! House keeping to notch keep up the good work Joan.. We have booked our wedding for next year here as we were so impressed.
A huge thanks to all !!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We spent our weekend at Marshall Meadows hotel and had a wonderful time on the Jubilee package. Dinner was fantastic and staff could not do enough for you. We loved the scenery and the house itself was really lovely. We plan to come back for our anniversary and finish a chess tournament we started.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rebecca1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berwick upon Tweed
2.7 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#1 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
404 reviews
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
#3 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
290 reviews
23.9 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Tillmouth Park Country House Hotel
Tillmouth Park Country House Hot...
#1 of 2 in Cornhill on Tweed
329 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bamburgh
198 reviews
19.0 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel

Property: Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Address: Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel Marshall Meadows, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 1UT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick upon Tweed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Berwick upon Tweed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marshall Meadows is an authentic Georgian, 3 star country house Hotel, standing in around 15 acres of peaceful grounds with sea views. It is uniquely situated just outside the historic town of Berwick-Upon-Tweed only a stone's throw away from the A1 crossing point of the Scottish Border. It is, therefore, both the first and last hotel in England depending upon one's point of view. The hotel is believed to date from the mid 18th century and provides the perfect setting for a relaxing break, discovering the attractions of border country or for the more adventurous numerous coastal and inland walks and cycle routes, great golf courses and fishing on the river Tweed. The hotel comprise 19 letting rooms, in addition to a main bar, residents' lounge, restaurant, large function area and music room, conservatory and terrace overlooking a large well manicured front lawn. Entrance to the grounds is via a tree-lined driveway flanking a wooded stream. The rear of the hotel overlooks a farmyard, paddock and walled garden. The location allows easy access to the main town, Northumberland Coastal attractions such as Holy Island and Alnwick Castle, National Parkland and the Scottish Border Regions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall Meadows Country Hotel
Hotel Marshall Meadows Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing