We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Captain's Quarters
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Interesting experience”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The staff here were friendly and helpful and the quality of the food was first class. The room was clean and comfortable and has been decorated with quality items. We thought it strange that the owner did not greet us at any point during our 3 days although she was clearly there. Someone suggested that we did not to try to get close to her lovely looking dog which was wandering around, as we were told that apparently it had bitten people in the past.. it only barked at us fortunately! We didn't mind particularly being asked to pay for the room in cash in advance, but it is not usual and is likely to put some people off.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    43
    17
    25
    60
See reviews for
33
140
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Well...where to start. Our experiance at the 1 sallyport hotel was a total waste of money and time. The owner was effectivly the devil in carnate. We where visting a dear family friend and decided to give this a go, on the outside it could of been the Ritz, however as we soon found out it was actually hell itself disguised as an upmarket 'Botique' Hotel. We arrived at the 'Hotel' early sunday morning to find out we could not check in until three in the afternoon! on top of that we were not even allowed to leave our cases. Which were three extremly heavy bags. We were eventually taken to our room which don't get me wrong was pleasent enough, the staff do an extremly good job, aside from the owner who repeatedly snapped at us and made us feel very unwelcome. On to the meal. Well. Although the quality of our meals were top standard. We had both deicded to order the fish. When mine eventually arrived everything seemed to be lovely. But when my husband's meal arrived his had a very funny smell that didn't seem to be right. We asked the waitress to take his back into the kitchen. She replied "we will make you another meal, sir", all my husband done was touch her on her arm and replied "it's alright, I'll order something else". The next thing we knew the crazy woman came flying over to our table, trying to accuse my husband of abusing her staff, and dialed for the police. When the police had arrived they told us that the woman had problems, and asked us kindly to leave. Which for us was no problem at all ! We had to argue for our refund on the evening's stay as we deicded to leave and stay with out relatives instead. Which was a much more enjoyful experience.
So... overall whatever you do please, please, please don't stay at 1 Sallyport.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
159 Thank Suzie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Berwick upon Tweed hotels

Oxhill, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in Low Bells, beautifully decorated room with great attention to detail and a very comfy bed and powerful shower. Restaurant was equally well decorated with exceptionally good food both in the evening and breakfast with staff being very friendly during both services. The welcome at arrival could have been more friendly and no available parking and only cash being taken (no cards) frustrated a little, but would definitely visit again. If on the menu the lobster is a must have!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMD70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

What a let down.

We went expecting the unforgettable experience - the evil owner, the useless staff, the dirty rooms and Berwick's very own Hound of the Baskervilles .. what did we get? Nothing of the sort!

The young girl on reception welcoming us was bright, cheery and helpful, despite being asked lots of questions. A very nice man took our bags up to the room, which itself was clean and tidy. Even the bathroom was spotless, dammit. Flung the windows open and waited, but not so much as a sniff of an onion bhaji. Was this really 1, Sallyport?

Coming downstairs, we were just too depressed and confused to offer more than a glance at the spectacular display of homemade cakes on offer. No dog in sight. Hung around in reception hoping to be abused by the owner, but nothing. Just the charming receptionist answering all questions with a smile.

Breakfast the day after was piping hot, massive and wonderful. All in all, excellent value for money and a very pleasant experience. As I say, a real blow.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
13 Thank Nilsatisnisi0ptimum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Very friendly and welcoming. The rooms are through the restaurant and upstairs and first impressions was that it was bit chaotic however this doesn't detract from the charm. We had the room at the top of the house which was very light and airy, the only problem being the lack of black out blinds on the velux windows. We also ate in the restaurant which was very good. Sallyport is in a great location on a quiet street only minutes from the town walls

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoMarshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We attempted to stay at 1 Sallyport at the end of March 2012. Our £300 payment for a two-night stay was taken in full before our arrival, which we thought a little off since it was not a special offer. At our arrival, when we dropped off our bags, we were greeted by a hurried cafe staff member who slapped down the terms and conditions of our stay, and asked us to sign. Part of the reason for booking was the 12noon Sunday departure time clearly advertised on the website, so we were surprised to see a checkout time of 10am (particularly as the clocks were going forward that weekend!). Inquiring about this, we were met with a brusque "maybe we can extend the time for 20 minutes or so" from the owner - not the kind of response you might expect from a boutique establishment charging top prices.

We retired to a cafe elsewhere in town and checked the website again to confirm the checkout time - 12noon. Ringing to ask about this, I was met with a tirade from the owner, who argued with curious logic that "you are trying to stay forever in my home!", and asked us to come and collect our bags and leave. This was fine by us - we would not want to stay in such a unwelcoming place - but the matter of the £300 was still to deal with (we had finally looked at the tripadvisor reviews - why didn't we before?!) Despite repeated requests, the hotel staff refused to give us a guarantee of a refund for 45 minutes, arguing that "our accountant deals with these things" until, exasperated, I managed to ask the male staff member to sign a compliment slip promising the refund. We never got to see our room. It may well have been lovely, but the attitude and rudeness of the owner destroys the potential of this place.

We took our custom to an amazing B&B on Holy Island that evening. What a contrast - people who were glad to see you, warm and welcoming. We would recommend that anyone considering staying at 1 Sallyport have a good luck at the reviews on this site, and judge accordingly.

Room Tip: Choose a different B&B
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
135 Thank placekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2012

This was our second visit to 1 Sallyport. We had a different room this time but again we were very satisfied. The room had a real fire with plenty of logs available, lots of interesting books to read and a few DVD's. The decor in the rooms is very tastefully done with lots of individual pieces.
Dinner was very good and the breakfast was exceptional particularly if you like kippers.
The owner went out of her way to make sure we had everything we needed and even went to a local bookshop to get us to get us a couple of books we had talked about over dinner the previous evening. We highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: All of the rooms are different so ask to view when checking in
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berwick upon Tweed hotels
0.1 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#1 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
409 reviews
2.6 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
462 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kings Arms Hotel
Kings Arms Hotel
#24 of 46 in Berwick upon Tweed
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Walls Bed and Breakfast
The Walls Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 46 in Berwick upon Tweed
568 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parade School Guest House
Parade School Guest House
#7 of 46 in Berwick upon Tweed
143 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Old School House
The Old School House
#25 of 46 in Berwick upon Tweed
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Captain's Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Captain's Quarters

Property: The Captain's Quarters
Address: 1 Sallyport | Off Bridge Street, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 1EZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick upon Tweed
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Berwick upon Tweed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Singled out as one of The 50 Best British Hotels by The Independent - 6th Jan 2007. The Times had this to say: "Bed and breakfast doesn't come much better than 1 Sallyport." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Captain's Quarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Sallyport Hotel Berwick Upon Tweed

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing