We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent little restaurant”
Review of Oswald's - CLOSED

Oswald's
Restaurant details
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,850 reviews
1,060 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 605 helpful votes
“Excellent little restaurant”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Oswalds is a really good 'local' restaurant which serves a variety of sandwiches and lunch dishes which are very good indeed in quality, plus good coffee and cakes. The staff are very helpful and will modify any order to suit needs. The restaurant also has an evening menu of more elaborate meals which I have not yet tried but if the quality is the same as the lunch dishes, they will be very good. I thoroughly recommend the cafe/restaurant as an excellent place for a casual meal. It is reasonably priced and compares extremely favourably with other cafes where the quality is no where near as good.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank profjoypc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    6
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Little Cafe”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Excellent sandwiches, tea and cake. Quality ingredients makes for a great tasting lunch. Some great combinations and choice. Recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amartinwebster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing cake”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Found this place by accident while on a walk around town and so glad we did. Only had coffee and cake but the chocolate fudge cake was the best i've ever had absolutely superb, fresh made and so soft it was excellent. Coffee was strong full of flavour and served good and hot. Service was great,friendly and welcoming. If you get the chance give oswald's a go,you won't regret it

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adam b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food, Unfriendly staff ”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

I visited to get takeaway food for my lunch and the food was lovely but I think it is a bit expensive for what it is.

The lady that served me was miserable and unfriendly and seemed to have no interest in being there.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sara381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
78 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely new cafe”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Found this by chance today and so glad. Lovely ambience and decor. Fabulous sandwich with great ingredients. Fast service. Excellent jam with scone. Friendly and efficient service. Will be back soon. Coffee nice but not particularly hot.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hippoScottishBorders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oswald's also viewed

Tweedmouth, Berwick upon Tweed
Spittal, Berwick upon Tweed
 
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing