We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantasic-Gourmet Food!”
Review of Oswald's - CLOSED

Oswald's
Restaurant details
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantasic-Gourmet Food!”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This little gem is well worth seeking out. Fantastic service and the food is to die for-you will have no idea what to pick!
Best sandwiches I've tasted in a long time lovingly made and not expensive, well worth it take away or sit in (be quick for sit in). You can only hope that these two ladies get bigger premises in the future as it would FOR SURE be packed.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank jools419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    6
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“NEW AND INVITING”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I was pleased to come across this cafe, it had been a deli which I hadn't been inspired to go into for some time, so I was pleased to see something new in its place. It is tiny, with a handful of tables and takeaway counter, but friendly, busy, a good range of inviting cakes, scones etc., a decent menu range and tasty light bites or bigger lunches. I had the goats cheese and beetroot salad and it was lovely, a very nice dressing; I saw my neighbour having fishcakes with curly fries and that looked good. Waitress was serving behin the counter as well as attending to orders and she was flat out busy. I suspect another staff member is needed, to free up someone to concentrate on tables while the other deals with counter customers, to avoid people waiting too long and a stressed waitress! But they are coping. All in all, I liked it very much and would go back on a regular basis. Cheery, good food and very unlike the clutch of dross cafes around town. Well done, new owners, keep the standards up!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank sterckx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I visited Oswalds a couple of times now nice sandwiches and cakes, I believe it is also open for evening meals on Friday and Saturday nights well worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stevenp33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food and Friendly”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Excellent cosy little place with a warm and friendly atmosphere.
I have visted for take away sandwiches and cakes and found it excellent value for money the sandwichs were really fresh and tasty and the cakes were huge and to die for. I have also been back for a meal at night I think they are open most Fridays and Saturdays. The food was lovely I couldnt fault it, the staff were very helpful and friendly and was an all round good night would definitely recommed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Goozel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Wholesome, hearty home cooking”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Reasonably priced with a nice friendly atmosphere. Have visited a few times now and quality is consistently good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Baobab1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oswald's also viewed

Tweedmouth, Berwick upon Tweed
Spittal, Berwick upon Tweed
 
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing