We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always stop here”

Oxford Farm Shop and Tea Room
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Washington
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Always stop here”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

My friends and I have got into the routine of calling here on our way North. Yes its a little old fashioned but the cheerful waitress makes up for this. Amazingly good and well priced food. Super scones, chutney, cake etc. Great cake, chutney scones etc also on sale to take away. Will definitely return, my friends insist on this

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElaineWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    19
    8
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fife
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Incredible value for money - good home cooked food.”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

As a former Berwick resident, always make a point of visiting when in the area as remember this starting up. Stopped recently and had the fruit platter for £2.55. Fruit scone (with lots of nice juicy sultanas), home made jam, portion of lemon drizzle cake and a pot of tea. With a pot of hot water. Hurrah! How few cafes in the UK seem to manage this - the correct way to serve a pot of tea - unless asked. Yes - maybe it is a little bit of a time warp when it comes to decor. But I'd rather have low prices and good food. Personal choice. Will most definitely go back. Thank you.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank meg_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stopped at this Farm Shop and Cafe to take a break for a light lunch en route to Newcastle. Sadly we did not find the delightful venue described by other reviewers.
The whole place was stuck in a time warp and in very great need of an upgrade. This in itself would not be a problem were it not for the frankly poor standard of cleanliness. Everywhere could have benefited from a good scrub with detergent! Even the waitress needed a bit of TLC and a clean apron.
Oh Dear, we shan't be back anytime soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaDunx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Home Coooked Food!”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We visited here recently with friends for Sunday Lunch. There was a choice of 3 starters, two main courses and 3 deserts. Staff friendly and food was good, but I would say keep room for the deserts, the meringue was huge! (Didn't notice a vegetarian main course option though).

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great value, service with a smile and the best cakes”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My partner and I have recently spent a few days in Berwick Upon Tweed and I saw great reviews of this tea shop on trip advisor. We made a point of taking a trip here and I'm so glad we did. We both opted for their 'small' afternoon tea, which consisted of a scone: I had cheese one and my other half fruit one. They came with homemade jam and homemade chutney. We also got a slice of lemon drizzle cake and unlimited coffee, all of this for £2.55 each. The value is fantastic and is well worth a visit, even if you're not strictly in the area. I would highly recommend this gem to anyone

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lornie1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oxford Farm Shop and Tea Room also viewed

Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
Belford, Northumberland
 

Been to Oxford Farm Shop and Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing