We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yha berwick”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of YHA Berwick

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
YHA Berwick
Certificate of Excellence
West yorkshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yha berwick”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Superb high standard hostel , spotless throughout , great breakfast, Barrels is a cracking pub too just round the corner. Consider eating in the hostel or bringing your own to cook as eating out in berwick is hit and miss. Free parking adjacent to hostel from 4pm till 8pm make sure you have a parking disc

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank AdiWestyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    39
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
29
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

went here with my daughter and 3 young children, they loved it, my sister had a twin room with her friend, she is disabled and this place was perfect for her, nothing too far away and she loved the cafe.
My eldest grandson was interested in history of castle so we did berwick castle wall walk then holy island and ended at alnwick which all 3 loved as big harry potter fans.
We had gorgeous weather too.
only stayed the one night but will visit again next year as handy with coming from scottish borders.
P.S don,t forget to bring towels...you can hire for £2 though.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheffieldScotsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I booked a room for three walkers here, in a five bunk room, prior to our St. Oswald's way long distance path. It was really outstanding value for money, being both clean and warm and lashings of hot water. Don't bother with the optional £4.50 breakfast though, it isn't value for money and there are some good cafés near by.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluewalrus750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wildwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
451 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Completely delighted with our stay here. Rooms and bathrooms were spotless (see photos of the lime-colored rooms). 4th floor kitchen was huge with plenty of storage, 3 microwaves and 3-4 refrigerators. Location was great. The outer wall of the stairwell is actually part of the Berwick city wall. Step outside and you are at the wall. The eating area on the ground floor was very convenient and had two rentable computers with internet access for 1 pound for 15 min. Staff were very helpful. And there are a few private rooms if you prefer not to share. We highly recommend. The only imperfect part was that the elevator was nonfunctional one day we were there and we had to walk up to the 3rd floor.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank movieglue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here on a recent cycling trip. This place is def more like a hotel than a hostel. Really airy modern spaces, great 'bistro' on the ground floor which serves beer (much needed after a days cycling), secure bike storage and spotlessly clean. The food choice is pretty good as well.

The rooms were spacious, beds really comfy and private with indvidual lights/plug sockets and shower/wet room in the rooms are great. Staff were really friendly and helpful.

Only minor negative is that we ordered breakfast and booked in for it at specific time but when we sat down for it the guy had only just gone out to buy some eggs! Not a problem if you aren't trying to get out for the day though I suppose and the breakfast was very tasty when we did get it.

Another tip: don't rely on the drying room to dry clothes - it does not do this! Although we were soaked through.

Good pub just 2mins round the corner as well - I think it was called the Barrels?

Would highly recommend this YHA to anyone. Great value for money and will be staying again if I am ever in Berwick.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millymilner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Visited this YHA twice in August, we were so impressed by the staff attitude to customer service that we just had to write this review. The staff are friendly, courteous, helpful & efficient.

We've eaten at the hostel on two occasions and can wholeheartedly recommend the Northumbrian Rarebit!!

Visit & enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alfiew1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHABerwick, Manager at YHA Berwick, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thanks for your kind words and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay! Spread the word and we'll hopefully see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed just or 1 night during the week in a family room with 14 mth baby. Room clean, comfortable and surprisingly quiet. Wet room shower warm with good pressure. Very good value for money. Staff couldn't do enough to help. Breakfast very good value for money too. Thank you!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sozbounces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berwick upon Tweed hotels
0.0 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#1 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
379 reviews
2.7 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
437 reviews
0.3 mi away
No 11B Boutique
No 11B Boutique
#5 of 51 in Berwick upon Tweed
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Walls Bed and Breakfast
The Walls Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 51 in Berwick upon Tweed
522 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rob Roy Restaurant
The Rob Roy Restaurant
#8 of 51 in Berwick upon Tweed
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kings Arms Hotel
Kings Arms Hotel
#23 of 51 in Berwick upon Tweed
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Berwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Berwick

Property: YHA Berwick
Address: Granary Dewars Lane, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 1HJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick upon Tweed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Berwick upon Tweed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Berwick 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YHA Berwick opened in 2011 and provides a state of the art hostelling experience. Set in a 240 year former granary, we offer budget accomodation for individuals, families, cyclists and walkers of all ages.Set on the ground floor we also have a contemporary bistro/cafe, open to everybody, offering a wide selection of tasty snacks and meals and hot and cold drinks. We're open for breakfast at 7:30 and serve food until 20:00.We also offer meeting and conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your YHA Berwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing