We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget break”
Review of YHA Berwick

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
YHA Berwick
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great budget break”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Two friends had seperately recommended Berwick YHA so the high standard was no surprise. I booked a twin en suite room for 3 nights at a total cost of £75. What not to like! You have to make your own bed but linen is supplied. You need to take your own towel. The room was clean, warm and comfortable; more basic than some hotels but in much better condition than many.

We booked breakfast for the first morning at a cost of £4.95 per person. It was OK but nothing special and we chose to use the excellent kitchen facilities for the remaining mornings. We also self catered dinner one night whilst eating out at local restaurants other nights.

The hostel has an excellent cafe which served the best vegetarian paninni I have ever had and made a good cup of coffee. The cakes looked good too though I didn't get round to trying them. The cafe seemed very popular with locals, which always bodes well.

The hostel is ideally situated for exploring Berwick and a wider area. For us its close proximity to the A1 and a short drive to Lindisfarne made it perfect for a birdwatching break. We will be heading back there in spring.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Hilary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHABerwick, Manager at YHA Berwick, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Hi,

Thanks very much for your postive feedback, it's very much appreciated. Come back again soon!!

Sion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    45
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
43
30
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
nottm
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

A relatively new conversion of an old Granary, near to the centre of town (good pubs etc). Very very reasonably priced (as a YHA member it cost me £7 for a bed in a Dorm). Only downside was a lady snoring very loudly all night !! (not the hostel's fault). I might consider paying slightly more for a room on my own!

Check in is from 2pm, although you can leave bags etc behind recxeption, which is open most of the day.

I am happy - and like to - cook my own breakfast and eve meal in their self-catering kitchen. Nice cafe on ground floor if you don't wish to self-cater. Art Gallery (free) on another floor.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed here during the Berwick film festival and would highly recommend it. The building itself is gorgeous and right in the heart of the town. The cafe serves excellent coffee, the staff are very friendly and the shared kitchen was huge and very well equipped. There is even an art gallery within the building itself! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

I am really impressed with this conversion of the old granary at Berwick. It has great food, excellent self catering kitchen and lounge, a central location near good pubs and shops. However there is a but...it advertises itself as a place for outdoors people like walkers but there is nowhere to wash muddy boots and I ended up having to use the bathroom sink and then take the flack when it blocked even though I had asked them on my return whether they had an outdoor tap. Anyway Personally I could have done with slightly less boutique-ness and more real facilities like an outdoor tap but otherwise lovely.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DesignerWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Have stayed in a few YHAs and this is up there with the best of them. The front desk were very friendly and helpful, pointing out a great pub (the barrell) nearby and a good indian. The rooms were light and well insulated and the bathroom spotless. It has real character and the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHABerwick, Manager at YHA Berwick, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to post such a great review, it's really appreciated by all the staff here! Hopefully you'll be back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

An old converted granary is the perfect setting for this wonderful YHA. The staff are super friendly and obliging. Rooms where large and very clean and had all the necessary comforts. The shared kitchen is well equipped and clean. The only tiny complaint would be no free WIFI available.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHABerwick, Manager at YHA Berwick, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thanks for your comments.

We're glad you had a good time. We're always reviewing our policies and take on board what you've said about the WI-FI...

In the meantime....feel free to tell your friends about us !!

Regards
Sion Gates - manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

This was an amazing place to settle into in the magical town of Berwick-upon-Tweed. Even though it was pouring rain the day I arrived, I felt warmly welcomed in the Berwick Youth Hostel. The building is a really interesting place to explore, tucked right into the medieval heart of the city, with easy access to the old walls and the shoreline. The staff, especially Sion, were very friendly and made me feel welcome in this blustery yet beautiful corner of the country.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allancc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berwick upon Tweed hotels
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
#3 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
295 reviews
0.0 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#1 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
409 reviews
2.7 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Rob Roy Restaurant
The Rob Roy Restaurant
#10 of 46 in Berwick upon Tweed
93 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Walls Bed and Breakfast
The Walls Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 46 in Berwick upon Tweed
568 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kings Arms Hotel
Kings Arms Hotel
#24 of 46 in Berwick upon Tweed
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Berwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Berwick

Property: YHA Berwick
Address: Granary Dewars Lane, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 1HJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick upon Tweed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Berwick upon Tweed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Berwick 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YHA Berwick opened in 2011 and provides a state of the art hostelling experience. Set in a 240 year former granary, we offer budget accomodation for individuals, families, cyclists and walkers of all ages.Set on the ground floor we also have a contemporary bistro/cafe, open to everybody, offering a wide selection of tasty snacks and meals and hot and cold drinks. We're open for breakfast at 7:30 and serve food until 20:00.We also offer meeting and conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your YHA Berwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing